We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, poor food options”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Berlin
Ranked #123 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was simply the best European hotel I've stayed in for comfort. The beds were comfortable, the room was large, and the shower, towels, toiletries, hairdryer, and so on were clean and in good working order. The furnishings and bathroom seemed quite new, and the air conditioning keep the room cool.

The breakfast was amazing. The food was good, and there was a large variety. I especially appreciated the fresh fruit.

The location was nice in some ways. It was a nice walk to the Tiergarten, and Postdamer Platz was 15 min walk away. The problem was the food offerings in the hotel for lunch and dinner were very limited, and I often only had 1 hour break for meals. I did not like the food at the hotel.

I do not know if I would recommend this hotel for a tourist stay in Berlin. I was there for a meeting and it was nice to have the comfortable room--and as I wasn't doing much sight seeing the distance from the sights wasn't too bad (and Berlin has an excellent subway system, so it was easy to get places, but the nearest stop was more than 10 minutes away).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lisaandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for visiting us and giving your evaluation here. With much pleasure we have read your very kind comments regarding the room facilities, the breakfast and the location.

The more we regret, that our food offer does not meet your expectations. We have an á la carte restaurant with a selection of international dishes with a pinch of Berlin added. The menu changes from time to time. At our Le Bar we offer usually typical small dishes, like salads, Currywurst, Clubsandwich etc. During the Football World Cup we had an extra menu there. Of course, our kitchen tries to accomplish also special wishes of our guests at any time. We apologize for the inconvenience caused.

In fact, the next U-Bahn station is a bit far away, but there are different bus stations near the hotel, that offers good transport connections.

We hope, nevertheless, we can welcome you back as a guest in our hotel occasionally.

With kind regards
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Arrived at this hotel for 3 night stay as part of a tour group. Had 2 evening meals there which were very nice, freshly cooked but very slow service, plenty of time to let each course go down. The buffet breakfasts were fantastic, didn't know where to start, plenty of choice for all tastes. A lovely big room, huge wet room, unfortunately it was a smoking room even though our tour group was supposed to have all non-smoking rooms. Unable to change as hotel fully booked. Very clean hotel, toiletries provided. No tea making facilities in room. Aircon worked a treat. Conveniently situated, walking distance of Brandenburg Gate, Holocaust Memorial, Tiergarten, Potsdammer Platz and Museum Island. Very enjoyable stay apart from the cigarette smell!

Room Tip: Don't believe there are any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear guests,

With much pleasure we have taken note of your kind feedback and are delighted, that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We are very sorry, that we were not able to give you a non-smoking room during your stay. Of course 80% of our rooms are non-smoking rooms, but if the hotel is fully booked, it is unfortunately not always possible to give each guest the prefered room. We apologize formally for the inconvenience caused.

In the hope, that you will visit us again, if your travels brings you to Berlin, we send kindest regards

MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable rooms with a good size. The hotel staff were efficient and nice. They have a fabulous breakfast buffet because of wide range of food and delicious bread. Hotel is near Patsdamer Platz. It is right near a walking path along a river.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank RecheleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear guest,

We appreciated your visit and your positive review regarding your stay at our hotel and thank you very much for it.

It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back on any future visits in Berlin.

Kindest regards
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

By virtue of Berlin's geography, no matter where you stay it will be too far from somewhere you want to go - hence the great variance on reviewer's thoughts on location. For me the location was fine - a few hundred metres and you were in the Tiergarten and within 10 -15 minutes or so walk you could be in Potsdamer Strasse or Potsdamer Platz, at The Holocaust Memorial or the Brandenberg Gate and the Reichstag.
My room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable - OK no free water, ridiculously expensive mini-bar, no kettle, no flat screen TV but most of this is par for the course at a 5 star hotel and what would they do with the wonderful piece of furniture that housed the old TV if they put in a modern one?
Our tour party had a set three course dinner on arrival which was very well served and presented, totally adequate and to the standard you would expect. For me the star was breakfast - a huge buffet selection of excellent quality and constantly replenished. Waiting staff were helpful and friendly, readily cleared away and very quickly re-laid tables as people finished. I breakfasted at different times on each of my three days and at no time was it anything other than a smooth, enjoyable, unhurried experience.
The bar was also very friendly and efficient but at 6.50 Euros for a half litre of pilsner needed to be and is probably best used for just your last drink of the evening.
Back to location - out of hotel, turn right and then right again into Tiergarten Str. and you are on your way to the Brandenberg Gate, etc. (veer off right again via Ben Gurion Str for the Sony Centre and Potsdamer Str.) Out of the hotel and across the road is the former Wermracht HQ where the Hitler assassination attempt conspirators led by Von Stauffenberg (Tom Cruise) were taken and shot in the courtyard. Part of the building is now a free museum devoted to those Germans who fought against National Socialism. Out of the hotel and turn left and then left again at the canal (which side of the canal you follow doesn't matter) and you will be in Potsdamer Str. turn right and you will find a number of small restraunts. WARNING (or tip !) If you go over the canal and walk another block before turning left for Potsdamer Str. as I did quite unknowingly, you will slowly become aware that both sides of the road are patrolled at intervals of about 30 metres by young ladies obviously there for a very specific purpose.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Big-G66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear guest,

Your evaluation was great and we were very glad to read about your impressions regarding the hotel and the location. In particular, because you have commented on some recurring criticisms, such as the location and the TV, very understandingly. Sincere thanks therefor and for the time you have taken for this detailed feedback.

Unfortunately, you are already the second guest who was apparently not informed about our minibar promotion. Since June until further notice we give 50% off all minibar prices. Corresponding information signs are actually located in the rooms. We are very sorry, that this was seemingly not recognizable for you.

Tea and coffee making facilities are not part of the standard equipment of our rooms, but they are of course available on request at our reception.

Thanking you once more and hoping, that we can welcome you back as a guest in our hotel very soon, we send our best regards

MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel is near the Tiergarten and is a beautiful hotel with standard business amenities. I am staying here for a conference and although it is beautiful, I would prefer to be closer to restaurants and sightseeing. It is at least a 10 minute walk from the touristy Potsdamer Platz (no, I didn't come to Germany for Pizza Hut) or 10 minutes to a busy neighborhood full of cheap Doner restaurants (one can only eat so much doner each day). You are 20 minutes from Brandenburg Gate and things like Museum Island are even further. The nearest UBahn is at Potsdamer.

The proximity to restaurants is what caused me to knock them a star. I'll also add to the others who say that there is still old school TVs in the room....but there is only one English channel, so it doesn't matter. Otherwise, here are all the great things:

-breakfast is amazing! Full of hot items (bacon, sausage, eggs), multiple yogurts, tons of different fruits, juices, breads. You can even go back in again for more food.
- bathroom amenities such as body lotion included (a rarity in hotels I've been staying at)
- feather pillows and feather comforter
- air conditioning (although it's not very powerful or cold)
- great shower with hot water and great water pressure (note that water spills under the glass and gets all over the ground...a common occurrence in European hotels)
- WIFI works great! No problems using Facetime.
- pleasant check-in experience and staff helpful

Other notes:
- self-service laundry about 15 minutes away
- nearest drug store/pharmacy is also 10 minutes away (near the Doner restaurants)
- no gift shop/vending machines for water. There is a mini bar but a soda/water is 3.60. A little pricey
- there is room service. 14.50 for a burger and 3.60 for a water/soda plus 3 euro service charge (work is paying, so I don't care right now!)
- bar downstairs to watch World Cup games
- no plugs near the bed :(
- apparently there is a pool. And massage services.
- no English newspapers (New York Times would be great!)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time for your detailed review and description of our hotel. It was a great appreciation for us to read your list of the "great things" and we are very delighted, that you have enjoyed your stay.

Of course, we have also taken note of your critical comments and apologise for the trouble caused.

As mentioned sometimes before here, we will purchase new TV sets, as soon as the still existing contract expires and hope to be able then, to offer more English TV channels too.

Regarding the minibar prices we gladly inform you, that we have a promotion since June until further notice where we offer a discount of 50% off all minibar prices. Appropriate information signs are located in the rooms. We are sorry, if this was not recognizable for you.

As an English newspaper we offer daily the International New York Times for free at our Reception. Please ask for it on eventual next stays.

We thank you again and hope, that you will visit us again soon.

Sincerely yours,

MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Very nice hotel, rooms were very comfy and the whole hotel was clean and tidy. Very well located and only a short walk into the centre of Berlin. Only complaint would be not enough tables at breakfast which was a bit hurried and messy. Otherwise good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0013001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear guest,

With pleasure we have read you kind feedback about your stay at our hotel. Thank you! Unfortunately, you were not completely satisfied with the situation at breakfast. Please be assured that this is not the usual situation. When the hotel is fully booked and almost all guests arrive simultaneously at breakfast it can come to such situations, but this is rarely the case. We apologize for the inconvenience caused.

In the hope, that we can welcome you back as a guest when you visit Berlin again, we send our best regards

MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Very good service rooms nice but no water to drink unless you pay for it television very poor unless you pay for satellite very opulent in appearance but not very friendly very business orientated bar staff extremely helpful and very obliging.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_BER, Manager at Maritim Hotel Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your visit and your overall positive review. We are sorry, that you have missed free water and were not satisfied with the TV offer. One of our priorities is a changeover of our old TV's as soon as the still existing contract has expired. Then we will hopefully be able to offer more English TV channels for free. Please accept our apology for the trouble caused.

We would be very pleased, if you will visit us nevertheless again occasionally in the future.

With kind regards
MARITIM Hotel Berlin
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Maritim proArte Hotel
Maritim proArte Hotel
#171 of 635 in Berlin
1,103 reviews
Charlottenburg
Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade
Charlottenburg
Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
#44 of 635 in Berlin
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#116 of 635 in Berlin
2,984 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#19 of 635 in Berlin
3,223 reviews
Charlottenburg
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Berlin

Address: Stauffenbergstr. 26, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Berlin
#38 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#63 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#82 Business Hotel in Berlin
#92 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £49 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Berlin 4*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritim Hotel Berlin is located in the heart of Germany's capital, between Ku'Damm and Brandenburg Gate. From here you can easily go for sightseeing or shopping. Many sights and shopping malls are within walking distance. The nearby Tiergarten offers best conditions for sportsmen. Whether for jogging, cycling or just walking - on approximately 2.1 hectares pure nature awaits you in the middle of the city. Only a few meters away is the Kulturforum with the world-famous Philharmonic Berlin, the New National Gallery, the Gemäldegalerie and the Kupferstichkabinett. Potsdamer Platz or about 8 minutes walk. Highlights include: Sony Center, Leogoland, Stage Musical Theater, Mall of Berlin, Potsdamer Platz Arcades, Espionage Museum, Museum of Film and Television, Martin Gropius Building and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maritim Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Maritim Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing