We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please don't go there!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novum Hotel Lichtburg am Kurfuerstendamm
Ranked #416 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here due to reading reasonable reviews on Laterooms.com! However our experience was something completely different!
Upon checking in we were greeted by a very pleasent young woman who spoke English fluently and was very helpful with our questions of navigating the city! However that is where the please tries stopped!

To start, we used the lift to get our bags up to the room (we had already read reviews about this being bad but our bags were very heavy so didn have much choice) and it was terrifying! Never used it again!
When we got to the room at first it didn't look too bad but upon further inspection it was a different story! Around the room was a wood panelling, which from a distance didn't look too bad, however when you went near it if you touched it just a little it came away from the wall and was simply covering old pipes.
The next issue arose when we found a random door in the room which didn't open, upon further inspection it was a door to the next room. This made us feel very unsafe, to the point where we barricaded the door before going to sleep.
The morning after our first sleep there we were woken at 7:30am by work men hammering and drilling on the floor below us. We went downstairs to complain but it seemed the only member of staff who spoke English was the young woman from the check-in and she wasn't working at this time. After spending 15 minutes trying to explain the problem to the man on reception we gave up. We spoke to the woman later that evening to ask if we could be moved up one floor as we didn't want to be woken again and were told they were fully booked >.<
There was also a member of staff who was the creepiest old man I've ever encountered! Upon entering the hotel one night around 1am, he "checked out" my GF staring at her in a very pervy manner and then said "goodnight" in the most sinister way ever!
The next problem was that the whole time there we were unable to shower. The reason for this was because the shower head was so disgustingly covered in limescale!
Staying on topic of the bathroom, every time we flushed the toilet an awful smell of urine would arise from the sink and taint the whole room with this smell for around 20 minutes.
Finally, the main problem was that even though we let the cleaners in every day to clean the beds were covered in bed bugs. I was lucky and only got bit once on my leg however my GF was covered from head to toe in bites (3 on her face, 5 on her neck, 15-20 on her back/chest and around 10 on her legs) to the point where we had to. Is it a hospital to get cream and medication for it.

Only good points about this are the woman from the start and the location wasn't too bad being so close to the U-Bahn and S-Bahn!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamT1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed here as part of Easyjet holiday deal and wanted somewhere cheap to stay in a good location. I really recommend staying here if on a budget! Excellant location, 2min walk to U bahn and near loads of cafe/restaurants. Great for getting around by public transport. Room was lovely, cleaned daily, amazing shower, spacious room with ample storage, huge wardrobe a safe deposit box and free wi-fi if you ask at reception for password.
Had breakfast one day here- usual spread of breads, meats, cheeses, cereal, juice and coffee. Nice enough but a bit pricey at 8 euro pp when you can eat far cheaper outside of hotel. The hotel itself was clearly being renovated at the time so I expect it will be far more modern soon.
The only points that are a bit down is 1- a dodgy lift. Very small and old and creaky- I took the stairs when I did not have luggage. 2- the staff on desk. Do not stay here if you want helpful friendly reception desk staff. We stayed 5 nights and none of the staff over this time were anything but rude to us even when asking simply for a map of area or even the nearest post box!! Having said that though the hotel room itself is the perfect base for exploring Berlin. Buy a day rider pass for 6.30 euro and ride the tube all day!!

Room Tip: Request non smoking if you do not smoke and you will be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed here in December with my boyfriend for 3 nights, to visit the Christmas Markets. The hotel was a bargain at 40 euros per night. It is very basic, with outdated decor, but it was absolutely spotless, which is the most important thing!

The hotel location was absolutely amazing. It is just off Kurfurstendamm, which is great for shopping (any designer you can think of has a shop along there!) and is about 20/30 minute walk to the Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church. It is close to the Adenauerplatz train station, which is just 1 stop along from Charlottenburg Palace. It is also pretty easy to navigate your way around to areas such as the Brandenburg Gate and Museum Island.

Overall, for the price I don't think you can beat it. If you are looking for a hotel you want to relax in and watch TV and eat nice food, this isn't the place for you. But, if like me, and you just need a place for sleeping & getting ready for a day out sightseeing, then it is perfect.

Room Tip: All rooms seem pretty quiet, as the Hotel is on a side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gibs1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I was in Berlin for the ITB Trade Fair. AGON Lichtburg is well located in the city centre, near the Ku'dam. The desk clerk was friendly and helpful, offered to call a taxi when I needed one. The breakfast was nice, with a quite large choice. The room was very basic and could do with some renovations, but at least it was clean. My colleagues had problems with noise, especially the rooms close to the elevator.

When you need a clean place to stay at a affordable price, without any luxury, then this is an option for you.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bvanmaele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Nice warm and clean. Breakfast buffet. Situated in a quiet area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miki_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I booked this hotel for a business trip so I was hoping that it would be very comfortable. When I arrived, I was given a smoking room, which absolutely stank of smoke and the carpet was all stained. On request, I was moved to a non-smoking room, which stank just as bad as the smoking room. The carpets were filthy, towels were dirty and off white. The shower had scum all around it. Not a single cent has been invested in the upkeep of this hotel. The only good thing about it is that it's close to public transport. If you're a non-smoker, don't stay here.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel if you're a non-smoker, or if you like the room to be clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leylaom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We have just returned (yesterday 19 th Nov 2011) from spending two nights at The Agon Lichtburg Hotel in Berlin. We paid an incredible £13.50 per night each on a room only basis-obviously! The hotel is charmin.Yes it IS a little dated,but it's fine.Our room was on the first floor at the front of the hotel,we used the old lift -as we had our cases -but used the stairs the rest of the time.
Our twin room had a long mirror just inside the main entrance door,to the left and opposite this was the bathroom-with a frosted glass door( a tad unusual!) then there was another interior(glass door ) into the bedroom. We had lovely beds with fresh laundry,a wardrobe,two easy chairs and a desk.Also a flat screen tv. If I'd have remembered I would have packed a travel kettle as there were no tea coffee making facilities( but in fairness to the hotel-none are mentioned in the description) The bathroom had a white suite,a smallish bath,with an adequate shower,also toileteries(for men?!) and a hairdryer.
The very neat and quiet,parquet floored lounge area had two comfy settees next to the tv and Internet point.One criticism-I wish the hotel had provided free wifi - we would have stayed in to use our laptops and had a beer or coffee,instead we went out to The Hard Rock cafe(a good 10 min walk away)
The staff were very helpful and quite pleasant. Outside there's a sign saying that the hotel offers bike hire.Turning left out of the hotel and 200 yards up the road,was a supermarket (Netto) turn right and there was a very nice cafe almost next door,we had pastries and coffee here for just under €4 as we were on room only tarrif. €8 for breakfast we thought a tad expensive.
Within a 5 min walk is one of the shopping streets.....be warned....they are all the top brands,with security people on some of the door entrances!! You can catch a tour bus on this street...there are lots to choose from.We bought a €20 ticket from on of the newspaper stands for The Yellow tour bus,which takes approx 2 hrs to get around this very large city and lasts 24hrs.
if we was to return to Berlin,we would stay at this hotel again,but would allow extra spending money for taxi fares or be prepared to hop on the metro to get to more popular areas at night time,as it was quiet in the location of the hotel.
Oh and one last thing,we flew from Manchester with Easyjet into Schonfeld airport-we thought we'd read that we could catch a 109 bus almost to the hotel....we were wrong,the 109 runs from a different airport! As we had arrived on a Friday night after work and at 21.20 we decided to plump for a taxi which cost just over €40 (€35 going back to the airport on Sunday)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Novum Hotel Franke Berlin
#308 of 634 in Berlin
285 reviews
Schoneberg
Novum Hotel City B Berlin Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Happy Go Lucky Hotel
Happy Go Lucky Hotel
#352 of 634 in Berlin
90 reviews
Neukolln
Motel Plus Berlin
Motel Plus Berlin
#256 of 634 in Berlin
186 reviews
Charlottenburg
Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Lichtburg am Kurfuerstendamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Lichtburg am Kurfuerstendamm

Address: Paderborner Strasse 10, 10709 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #416 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £28 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Lichtburg am Kurfuerstendamm 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central location allows both the business and the leisure travelers all areas of Berlin can be reached quickly and easily. The Novum Hotel Lichtenburg am Kurfurstendamm is comfortable and contemporary furnishings. Functional rooms in different categories and free Wi-Fi await every visitor in a recently renovated hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novum Hotel Lichtburg am Kurfuerstendamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agon Lichtburg Hotel Berlin
Agon Lichtburg Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing