We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monkey Bar & Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
25hours Hotel Bikini Berlin
Ranked #19 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Monkey Bar & Restaurant”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I visited the Monkey Bar on recommendation. It is very trendy and offers views of the zoo. I then ate in the adjacent restaurant. Staff were a little cool and preoccupied, and at first couldn't offer us a table, on saying we were leaving they found one!
The service was quite slow, but I suspect you go there for the views and to be seen.

The food was very nice, although I am not sure the menu descriptions really explained what was included.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
25hoursHotelCompany, Manager at 25hours Hotel Bikini Berlin, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hello Sophonthemove

Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay at our bar and restaurat.

I am sorry to read that our service team seems to be too cool. This is not our style at all and we are constantly working to improve our service quality.

I hope we can welcome you again the next time you visit Berlin.

Best regards

Michael Wuensch
General Manager
25hours Hotel Bikini Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    280
    74
    22
    11
See reviews for
169
495
81
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I love the 25 Hours brand of hotels and this one is no exception. I typically stay in the old eastern side of the city in the Mitte district, but found the revitalization efforts of this area too interesting to pass up.

It's just a short walk from the Zoo Bahnhof and is attached to the newly renovated Bikini shopping center, right across from the Kaiser Wilhelm Church. Rooms are modern, clean and have comfy beds. The shampoos and body washes are the only thing found in every 25 hours hotel and they leave you feeling very clean and refreshed.

The vinyl collection and DJ area would be great for a longer stay, but with just one night it wasn't of interest. Breakfast was outstanding, offering a nice selection of hot and cold options, and the terrace view is fantastic.

Definitely THE place to stay for young, stylish professionals.

Room Tip: I think the rooms overlooking the zoo are quite cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelFotog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Choosing a hotel in Berlin was problematic for me as there is no real centre or old town. I liked the look of the 25hours Bikini from the Tripadvisor reviews (and looking over the zoo clinched it).

The lobby of the hotel was a surprise. A huge space with an old Mini (car) decked out for a picnic and two elevators - but no reception desk? The reception area is on the third floor and unlike any reception we have seen - spectacularly unique.

The passage from the lifts to the rooms is another surprise. The numbering for the rooms makes it seem as if there are mirrors and only a few rooms. A fun optical illusion! The room itself (Jungle L) was another treat. Industrial in design, the mattress on a low platform, a high end bicycle to use, and a hammock stretched across a huge glass window - the funky room captured our imagination!

The breakfasts are great - lots of tasty choices but the room (the restaurant, another lovely space) was a bit full at times. Best to figure out when there will be the least people. The Monkey Bar - on the same floor as the restaurant - is a riot. It is hugely popular with the beautiful people of Berlin (there was a long queue on Friday afternoon), but as a resident, you get in easily. Our margaritas were big and strong.

The location of the hotel was better than I expected. It is close to the shopping streets and public transport.

When next we go to Berlin, we will definitely stay at the 25hours Bikini. In fact, we may go back to Berlin just to stay at the hotel again!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view over the zoo (Jungle rooms). Hear the monkeys call and watch the birds bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimPlusFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel is definitely reflecting the nature of Berlin itself – it is cool, relaxed, eclectic and definitely well-functioning. We’ve spent 4 days in one of the rooms overlooking the street. Although it can be a bit noisy due to the traffic, the air conditioning is great and the windows have an excellent isolation. Our room was in general very quiet and we didn't have any problems with the sounds from surrounding rooms or the corridor. It is kept very clean and although not very spacious, it is gives enough space for the couple. We liked the quirky touch of the interior, actually, didn't even find it so peculiar, more vintage-like, imitating the East-German communist era. The old gramophone and LPs are a nice touch and give a cosy and nostalgic feeling. The bathroom, criticized by many reviewers, was actually very functional, although it is foreseen for partners and close couples. The only two things on the negative side for us (not so big, but as they say „the devil is in the detail“), were the absolute lack of any storage space (drawers, dressers) and the a thick bed cover (filled with feather), which is used only during the winter and in the hot summer days can cause major discomfort during the night, even with the AC on. We completely understand and like the designer’s room concept, but it shouldn't not be driven so far to have the negative effect on the functionality and comfort. One or two drawers would be enough and there is definitely the space for them in the room. Everything else was perfect – the staff is very polite and helpful, the bar on the roof is perfect both for the chilling out in the day or for the evening. The location is superb: if you’re in good shape and like to walk, you can even reach many attractions by foot. If you are not keen on walking – the buses 100 and 200 stop just on the opposite side of the street and take you to almost all important sights, while the U and S-Bahn are 5 minute-walk away. All in all, definitely recommended for everyone who wants a different hotel experience, relaxed and cool atmosphere and a true feeling of this fantastic city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jelena79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Hotel Bikini Berlin was an absolutely great hotel, with fantastic service.

The check in was seamless, with friendly staff, happy to answer questions and point out attractions.
The rooms were extremely comfortable, with a great view (did not opt for the zoo view). Bathroom was awesome. The whole set up was really cool

We rented bikes that were provided for free, to tour berlin (You might want to ask for instructions. Took us a while to figure out how to lock the bikes, but maybe that's us).

The terrace was also great for a drink at sunset! Don't forget to check it out.
The lobby area was really awesome as a hang-out. With google-style work stations and hammocks for everyone to enjoy. It was impossible to not have fun at this hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christiannetan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great hotel for business or pleasure. So laid back its unreal. Almost uncomortably cool. Perfect location. Amazing views. Uber trendy and cool bar and restaraunt on top floor. Food was excellent and great value for money. Rooms were very well equipped, beautifully presented, homely, and unique. Great attention to detail, comfy beds. Great free breakfast. Added bonuses like free bike and car hire just add sheen to an already glossy exterior! Loved every second of my stay. Will definitely go back and will now seek out this brand in other locations.

Room Tip: Ask for a zoo view for the ultimate experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

The 25 Hour Hotel in Berlin is the most amazingly fun and unique hotel I think I have ever stayed at. It is centrally located in the Charlottenburg area of town next door to the Berlin Zoo and the Bikini Berlin Mall. The building, inside and out is a work of art. You owe it to yourself to stay here! The rooms have a thoroughly modern urban design with walk-in rain showers lit by ambient LED lighting. A very comfortable bed and near perfect sound proofing from the city noise outside made our stay here as relaxing as could be. The Monkey Bar and the Neni Berlin Restaurant on the 10th floor offers great food and drinks with a magnificent view of Tiergarten and central Berlin. This hotel also offers free bikes (and even a Mini Cooper) that you can use to explore this bike friendly city. Look no further than the 25 Hour Hotel for a memorable and totally unique Berlin experience.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#6 of 634 in Berlin
1,584 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Q!
Hotel Q!
#10 of 634 in Berlin
1,257 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#12 of 634 in Berlin
2,209 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#33 of 634 in Berlin
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 25hours Hotel Bikini Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 25hours Hotel Bikini Berlin

Property: 25hours Hotel Bikini Berlin
Address: Budapester Strasse 40, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — 25hours Hotel Bikini Berlin 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between the green zoo and the urban jungle, designer Werner Aisslinger and his team have created 25hours Hotel Bikini Berlin. Half of the rooms look out over the ape and elephant enclosure in Berlin Zoo, while the other half enjoy a stunning view of one of Berlin‘s most history-laden landmarks, the Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church. On the tenth floor, enjoying a phenomenal panoramic view, NENI Berlin and the Monkey Bar serve an eclectic mix of world cuisine in collaboration with trendsetting Austrian restaurateur Haya Molcho. 149 rooms • Mini-bar • Safe • UE Boom Bluetooth speaker • free high-speed wifi throughout the building • Free MINI rental • Schindelhauer Bikes for rent • NENI restaurant with 360° views of Berlin and roof terrace • Monkey Bar • Function area for 450 people • Jogging corner • Sauna overlooking the zoo • Woodfire bakery • Design kiosk • Living room with DJ corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 25hours Hotel Bikini Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing