We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have spent more time here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of German Museum of Technology Berlin (Deutsches Technikmuseum Berlin)

German Museum of Technology Berlin (Deutsches Technikmuseum Berlin)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$108.22*
and up
Berlin Pass Including Entry to More Than 50 Attractions
Ranked #26 of 798 things to do in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The museum presents a broad spectrum of old and new technology. Permanent exhibits include rail transport, navigation, writing and printing, aerospace, film technology, telecommunications, textile and road traffic.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Could have spent more time here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

The front of the museum has a twin engined American Dakota aircraft suspended high above the street level, but the entrance itself is around the side.
As we were a little strapped for time, we decided to concentrate on the maritime and aeronautical sections. There was something for everyone. Full sized sailing craft and steam boats, down to the most exquisite models of all types of craft, all displayed in interesting circular, illuminated cabinets. Very effective.
A level up. was the aeronautical section. Modern aircraft, engines, older aircraft, wrecked aircraft (from the war), It was all there. My only criticism was that it was all a bit crowded and muddled. I took several photos, but the backdrops behind some of the exhibits were so 'busy', it was hard to distinguish the subject you were pointing the camera at. When we return to Berlin, I could be tempted to revisit, as there was a lot more to see than what we had time for, this time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigglesMGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    950
    407
    122
    28
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
323 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Amazing array of exhibits!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

A very interesting museum,we got the audio guide which gave us general information. Some of the smaller exhibits were only in German. The technical section on the development of the Computer was really excellent! There are lockers to store your coats and a coffee shop for a nice break.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KillineyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Technically astounding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is a fantastic attraction for boys young and old - with something guaranteed to keep you interested!

The entrance is on the sidestreet, you might have a little trouble finding it - go down the right hand side as you look towards the DC-3 at the top of the building.

The staff here are super friendly, I was given a student discount despite not having any ID to prove it. There is a free wifi hotspot here as well, should you need to browse for a little while.

I came mainly for the selection of aircraft, and I wasn't disappointed. While it doesn't have anywhere near the number of planes as the RAF Museum in Hendon, London, what it lacks in quantity, it certainly compensates in quality. There is a shot down Lancaster, and the sheer scale of this magnificent beast is mighty impressive. The DC3 that is suspended outside is also one of the major features of this museum.

This is certainly somewhere you can spend a few pleasant hours in Berlin, especially if you are coming with kids - they won't run out of things to look at until they are practically falling asleep standing up!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeskiRamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“I visit every time in Berlin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Too much to see in one visit, but this is my favorite museaum, bar none.
I travel to Berlin often and alwasy, alwasy, make a stop here.
Do yourself a favor - poke your head in for a few hours and head to the top floor where the aviation exhibit will knock your socks off.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank cordelia11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good museum, plenty to see.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Very impressed, plenty of decent exhibits. Most things had an English translation and you receive a discount if you have a Berlin WelcomeCard.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank confusedexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed German Museum of Technology Berlin (Deutsches Technikmuseum Berlin) also viewed

 

Been to German Museum of Technology Berlin (Deutsches Technikmuseum Berlin)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing