We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ackselhaus
Nearby Hotels
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
i31 Hotel(Berlin)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Melia Berlin(Berlin)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
245
43
8
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
43
8
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue homeprenzlauer bergpicasso roomhot spellantique furniturebuilding next doorcharming hotellarge bedroomgreat restaurants and barsnespresso machinehome away from homeelectric kettlesitting areagreat weekendbeautiful roomfully equipped kitchenhotel room
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

When I travel I like to stay in apartments or apartment-like hotels so that you feel more like you live in a city. My husband, on the other hand, likes the fully-catered feel. This was a perfect marriage of the two. We stayed in the Africa suite (fitting, since it's where we met) and found it to be a really nicely-sized space in Prenzlauer Berg - what we felt was the Brooklyn of Berlin. Lots of good restaurants around, cute little shops, and a family feel. The front desk attendants were really helpful and made all the reservations we requested and pointed us in the direction of great local places to eat. The breakfast at the hotel is also really great with fresh baked bread and a nice fire going during the cold months. We will be sure to stop back in the next time we're in Berlin!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liviarur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed three nights, paying the full whack for the summerhouse at Blue Home, also part of Ackselhaus. It's a magpie of influences and very comfortable. There is no fuss here. Quiet and lovely street in Prenzlauer Berg. The area is despised by the hipsters of other areas. Part of the conundrum of Berlin. Soon the hipsters will cause the same the happen in the new cheaper areas they inhabit. Berlin is having a renaissance and this place is a nice place to experience a very light version of it. Best breakfast I have had in a long time, but then German hotels are the best for this.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I've travelled a great deal and never had a breakfast as good as this hotel: as varied, high quality or luxurious. Or one that goes on so late: 11.30am on weekdays and 12.30 at weekends.
The hotel itself is magical and totally delightful. The communal gardens and conservatory are gorgeous. The staff are friendly and efficient. Prenzlauer Berg itself is wonderful: chic, idiosyncratic and artistic. A fantastic atmosphere. Exactly like the hotel itself. We were very, very happy here and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidnightMoon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ackselhaus for three nights in August. I discovered this hotel after reading a few forums online and it was recommended by someone who said they wouldn't stay anywhere else in Berlin. I visited the website and decided this was exactly where I wanted to be. The Prenzlauer Berg neighborhood that it's located in is an absolute gem and my husband and I both agreed that it was the best area of all of Berlin. It was close to the train, tons of cute bars and restaurants, and the immediate neighborhood is just all-around fabulous. The staff was so helpful and really went above and beyond for us. For example, we had an early flight when we checked out and so we were unable to get to the breakfast room in time before it opened. The girl at the front desk arranged for the restaurant (which always provided an excellent and filling breakfast) to pack us a to-go box for us to take on our cab ride over. We stayed in the Maritime room, which was the only room available at the time of our booking, but it was probably the one I would have chosen anyway. It was incredibly comfortable (air conditioning included!) and the decorations were perfect - it felt like we were in a cottage in Nantucket. The outdoor area was a comfortable and relaxing place to spend time. It even included an outdoor bed! So cool. I cannot say enough about how wonderful it was to stay here. I definitely would recommend it - amazing, amazing hotel!!

Room Tip: Either building is fabulous is in its own right - you can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We spend a week-end in the Ackselhaus and would rate it among the most pleasant hotels we've ever stayed in. Don't miss it if you want to enjoy Berlin at its best!

The things that we enjoyed the most: the interior/exterior design; the trustful atmosphere; and the location.

Re: design
The hotel consists of two buildings in the close proximity. They were clearly designed by a very talented interior architect. The attention to detail is impressive and yet effortless, very much in tune with the artsy and alternative neighborhood. We asked for a quiet room with lots of daylight, an almost impossible combination for a downtown hotel. We got the room called Burton Holmes, that was exactly what we asked for, plus full of quirky and playful design details.

Re: trustful atmosphere
We liked that the hotel treats its guests with a lot of trust - the are no mini bars in the rooms, but in the lobby there is a place, where one can get any drinks or snacs off the shelf and simply sign up for it on a piece of paper. Another example was the parking. We arrived by car and parked it on the street in front of the hotel. The receptionist gave us a resident parking card that reduced the daily parking fee from about 30 Euro per day to 5 and did not charge it for the first night. The charming explanation was that it was too complicated to bother about ...

Re: location
A lot had been said in the other reviews. We would recommend the Italian resturant on the nearby corner (Sapori e...) . Their Linguine with truffles were superb! Also the Saturday open-air food market is great. One more thing - lots of car parking everywhere, in case you decide to come by car.

Things to improve (nothing is ever perfect...): reading lights. We would ask for better reading lights in the bed.

Room Tip: Burton Holmes is quiet and with lots of natural light.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mirek_stachowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews