We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“annabel,australia”
Review of Ackselhaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ackselhaus
Ranked #101 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“annabel,australia”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We spent 8 nights at Ackselhaus and Blue Home in the middle of June. We had already been travelling in Europe for 3 weeks so this was the perfect place for us to stay. The staff happy, nothing worse than being greeted by surly staff after a long train trip, and always ready with advice on restaurants ect. I had contacted them before we left Australia looking for a private guide and they put us intouch with Jean-Pierre at Premium Berlin Tours for which we are very grateful as he really opened our eyes to the rich history of Berlin. The Restaurants they Suggested were Katz Orange,Pauly Saar,Paulette francoise, all in walking distance and great food.
Now for Ackselhaus, what a find, We stayed in New York, very quirky and fun and had everything we needed for a long stay, large bed, plenty of storage and hanging space, a must , separate table and chairs, for husbands computer, a small refrigator, tea and coffee area,bathroom with shower and bath and separate area for me and my makeup but best of all the lavatory was in its own room with a wash basin. The breakfast in the Blue Home so good that we often didn't have lunch and the waitress after 2 days remembered when we liked our tea and coffee served! Thats service. The garden at both Ackselhaus and Blue home are lovely and we enjoyed being able to have a quiet drink at night after a long day sightseeing. There is so much to see and do in Berlin that we didn't have time to explore the immediate neighbourhood which I wish we had made the time to do so but next time we shall and will definitely be staying at Ackselhaus!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annabel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    41
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
143
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The Ackselhaus Blue Home in Berlin is located in the center of the city and is very close to Alexanderplatz and major attractions in Berlin. I had lived in the city when it was divided and so we chose to stay in an area that had been in East Berlin. We were given the Afrika room - decorated in an Africa theme - fun, clean and roomy. Staff was very nice and very helpful. The street car to get to Alexanderplatz was just at the end of our street and we purchased all day transportation passes for all public transit systems at the hotel desk. We had a car and parking was not a problem - we parked on the street in front of the hotel using a pass they provided.
Berlin is a huge city. I would recommend seeing the central sites and then visiting one of the city's suburbs like Schlactensee in Zehlendorf or Koepenick.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed in the Summer House which is absolutely stunning. I loved the decor, the private rooftop pool, and the view of Berlin. It was better than the photos on the website. The staff, especially Francisca, were extremely friendly and helpful. Our adult children stayed in the Ocean apartment which did not have the views, but was nicely decorated and had plenty of space for two couples. The breakfast was delicious. The neighborhood was beautiful; lots of classic old apartment buildings on wide tree lined streets dotted with sidewalk cafes. A perfect place to stay in Berlin.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

If you like places with character and charm you'll love this hotel. We moved here from a modern boutique style place in the business part of the Mitte which we found a bit soulless and were delighted with what we found here - a huge and beautifully kitted out room (#8 Cairo), with friendly and helpful staff. Best of all it's on a lovely street in a cool, peaceful and upmarket neighbourhood full of small cafés, restaurants and independent shops. Only downside was no air con and it's boiling here at the moment - but not too bad with fans and well worth it in any case. Also excellent value (booked last minute on booking.com)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mrdwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in a lovely neighbourhood. We had room 103 which was light and airy, high ceiling, big sofa, fab four poster and a funky sink made from an enormous piece of stone.

Loads of storage space, massive jacuzzi bath and overhead shower.

Breakfast was lovely and we had the luxury of sitting outside on three gorgeous warm mornings. Even better they serve til a civilised late time at weekends.

Great friendly people as well!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank obefee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at the Cairo room, a huge and nicely decorated room on the third floor.
The hotel staff was friendly and helpful in every way. Breakfast is tasty, and the honesty bar is available all day long. The only strange thing is that you have to pay for the stay in cash. For Norwegians this is unusual. On the other hand, it seems quite normal i Berlin.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonekb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

stayed 2 nights in the room called Burton Holmes. Fascinating and extremely comfortable room. Very quiet too.excellent power shower.great location and friendly staff. payment was cash only.Nice breakfast.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rippleog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#71 of 634 in Berlin
243 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Oderberger
Hotel Oderberger
#226 of 634 in Berlin
116 reviews
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#6 of 634 in Berlin
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
Victor's Residenz Hotel Berlin
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,700 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
#249 of 634 in Berlin
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ackselhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ackselhaus

Property: Ackselhaus
Address: Belforter Str. 21, 10405 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#51 Family Hotel in Berlin
#76 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#147 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ackselhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great boutique hotel with 37 rooms located in the atmospheric district Prenzlauer Berg, bustling with cafes, bars and restaurants. Only a stone's throw away from Berlin's trendiest attractions. All studios, apartments, and suites are equipped with wooden parquet floors, high ceilings and antique period pieces which go hand in hand with modern furnishings. The variety of decoration takes in modern, classical, oriental and chic. Every room is also utterly unique - no two are the same. Two lovely Mediterranean gardens invite you to chill out. Enjoy a great breakfast buffet in our "oceanic" restaurant "Club del Mar". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ackselhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ackselhaus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing