We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre
Ranked #160 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Braila, Romania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Comfortable!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The hotel has a very good position in the center of Berlin on Stresemannstrasse; all the public transportation means are just a couple of minutes away. From the hotel to the Charlie Check point you need approx.15 min on foot.
The price was including the breakfast which is served in the restaurant right to the reception.The food is not very varied but for sure you will be able to find something for your taste.
The room itself has around 9-10 sqm plus another 5-6 for the small entrance hall and the bathroom (Standard room type).
The double bed is very comfortable; next to it you have a small couch; in front of the couch there is a small table with a lamp and a small LCD TV; the selection of TV channels is not very attractive.
We were surprised to not find a fridge/cooler in the room.
The window can be opened for getting fresh air. The problem is that if you have view at the inner garden and you want to keep the window open, you might get the noise of the conversation of those enjoying a beer there. But it is not a problem of late hours.
Free wireless internet available in room as well as AC and coffee/tea facilities.
The bathroom has an interesting feature; the door is serving also as door for the shower. So, if you wanna have a shower in privacy and you close the door, the entire bathroom will be exposed at a view from the room. If you close the door at the bathroom you do not have door for the shower. Nice thing! A lot of toiletries are at your disposal in the bathroom.
The cleanliness is present everywhere in the room and allover the hotel.
There is no room service as long there are no restaurant facilities excepting the breakfast. So, supply yourself with whatever you need before going to the room. You have a supermarket just a few hundreds of meters away.
A lobby bar is waiting for you and you can enjoy a good German beer while navigating on internet or in the nice back garden.
And watch out when you exit the hotel as long the bicycle track is running just a meter away of entrance/exit; you do not want to have a contact with a bicycle. Usually, they pay attention but you have to do it also.
The receptionists are very polite and helpful whenever you ask for their advice/support. They can order a taxi for you for a ride in town or to the airport.
As a general opinion, the hotel is nice and the stay is worthy as long you do not need too many facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marian1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear marian1973,

thanks for taking the time to give us a feedback after your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre.
We are glad to hear that you have spent nice days in Berlin and were satisfied with the location of the hotel, the rooms and the friendliness of our staff.
On your next trip to Berlin, we would be pleased to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Center.

Kind regards

Jens Meissner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    667
    256
    53
    31
See reviews for
430
407
74
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

It was most unfortunate that we were given a room, which the air conditioning has broken down. Informed the staff and he said there are no rooms available to switch and will help us get the technician and check for empty rooms the next day. When we return the next day, the air-conditioning was still down and the staff told us that it was too late to change room and there is nothing they can do. Can you imagine having to sleep in a warm, stuffy room for 2 nights straight in a hot summer with a sweltering heat of 31 degrees. Service is simply deplorable. The saving grace, was this puny little fan which the staff gave to us so that we do not die of suffocation. Check your rooms carefully before you set off, if not you will end up having to sleep in an oven ! It was the worst 2 night stay of my trip !

To be fair, the hotel is well placed with bus 100 right across the street, breakfast was adequate,What a pity !

Room Tip: Check your rooms carefully, if the air-condition is working, before you set off, if not you will end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pris4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear pris4,

thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to write this review.
We apologize for the trouble with the air conditioner. We will evaluate the problem with our team.
Please contact me directly so that we can find a balance.
Email: anne.boettcher@berab.hiexpress.com

Kind regards
Anne Böttcher
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natanya, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is very well situated, 5 minute walk [even less] from the S bahn station Anhalter Bahnhoff which is close to Brandenburg gate and Potsdam plaz./ Ther is also a U station but the walk is longer
Across the street there is a Netto [cheap] supermatket, the Lidl is closer to the S station , is a bit more expensive but has a wider and better range of products./ Ther were a few cafes/restaurants also there but we did not check them out.
The hotel offers free WIFI [for 2 devices at the same time so if you have 3 one has to be disconnected] , there are two computers for public use in the lobby, somewhat slowish but i always found an empty spot there.
Also, we had no electric sockets near the bed, an inconvenience.
As far as the room, for a famiily of four it is cramped, no place to move,no clisets either. however if you only come to sleep it's reasonable. Breakfast was real nice and quite varied, certainly for a 3* hotel and the staff was nice, all of them spoke very good English. Watch out, there are "rush" hours [8-9] where finding a table can be difficult. Overall we were quite happy and saw quite a bit of famillies there, this is a good choice for budget oriented famillies [but not cheap]
Word of praise, due to a flight blunder we ariived a day late at noon. They agreed to let us in and did not charge us for the missed night. Veeeery Nice and honest.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eldad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Eldad S,

thanks for taking the time to give us a feedback after your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre.
We are glad to hear that you have spent nice days in Berlin and were satisfied with the location of the hotel, the rooms and the friendliness of our staff.
On your next trip to Berlin, we would be pleased to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Center.

Kind regards

Jens Meissner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Last week we had a family holiday in Berlin for 3 nights, it was wonderful. The hotel staff is extremely courteous, friendly and helpful. Room is nice and clean. Good breakfast. The hotel is very centrally located, 20 min from airport, 10 min from main railway station. It's walking distance to Potsdamer Platz- where you can get into hop on hop off tourist bus. Also well connected with the public transport. Many of the touristic sights are at a walking distance. It's safe to stroll around at night as well. Great stay at great price, value for money definitely.....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear S D,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about our hotel.
I´m happy that you like our rooms, our breakfast, our free wifi and our central location.

On your next trip to Berlin, we would be pleased to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Center.

Best wishes

Jens Meissner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just came back from a 5 night stay here and, overall, I enjoyed my it. The negatives were that there was no space to store clothes, just some hangers and there was no shower door, just a curtain, so if you weren't careful a lot of water would get out; the breakfast area is a little bit small if you go in the main hours;
On the positive, the hotel is very close to some main sites (Checkpoint Charlie is 5 minutes walk away; Brandenburger Tor and Reichstag are 15/20 minutes walk) so it's good if you like to walk, or if you rent/have a bike it's easy. If not, there's a metro station just a few minutes away; The staff was friendly and the breakfast was alright, not so much diversity, but it did the job; Also there was free-wifi in the rooms;
It was my first stay in this hotel chain and I enjoyed it, so will look for them in other destinations.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PT_DSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear PT_DSmith,

thank you for spending your time to give us feedback from your stay.
We appreciate your posive rating and looking forward to welcome you on your next stay in our Hotel.

Kind regards

Jens Meissner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a great hotel I just could not fault it at all. The staff were very friendly and really helpful and nothing was a chore to them . The rooms are spotless the bed linen and towels are immaculate. There were three of us so we used the sofa bed and altho a little small did not impact on our holiday. The breakfast was ample lots to choose from (I would have liked some marmite :) ) The area is central just off the main high street and just along from the zoo and train stations. It was so quiet in the rooms at night so we had a great sleep. I totally recommend this hotel and would certainly come back here again. Thank you to the wonderful staff who made our stay lovely.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are of excellent standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo Eilese F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Jo Eilese F,

thanks for taking the time to give us a feedback after your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre.
We are glad to hear that you have spent nice days in Berlin and were satisfied with the location of the hotel, the rooms and the friendliness of our staff.
On your next trip to Berlin, we would be pleased to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Center.

Best wishes

Jens Meissner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here in April for a few days during a business trip. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and looked new. The internet in the room did not work during our stay. We had a conference call and needed internet access. The staff were friendly enough to find us a quiet area with a good connection. The breakfast was decent though when it got busy during peak times there were not enough staff around to clean up the tables fast enough. Very good location with access to public transport. Good value for money too. We’d come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steff928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSM_HIEX_Berlin_CC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Hhank you very much for choosing our hotel and your nice comment. Now our internet works definately better and WIFI is free of charge in all rooms.

We would be pleased to welcome you back at your next trip to Berlin.

Sincerely
Jens Meissner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West
Kreuzberg
NH Berlin Potsdamer Platz
NH Berlin Potsdamer Platz
#111 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
#105 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Mitte
Holiday Inn Berlin Centre Alexanderplatz
Kreuzberg
Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre
Address: Stresemannstrasse 49, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Family Hotel in Berlin
#141 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay smart! at the Express by Holiday Inn Hotel Berlin City Centre perfectly located at the Tempodrom and just 10 minutes walking distance from the new center of Berlin, the famous Potsdamer Platz and the Sony Center. The beautiful and grand Friedrichstrasse, Unter den Linden, Check Point Charlie and the storied Brandenburg Gate can easily be reached. Also the legendary boulevard Kurfuerstendamm, the well known department store KaDeWe and the Alexanderplatz are easily accessible. Great connections to both fair grounds and the airports Tegel (TXL) and Schoenefeld (SXF).After a good sleep in one of our 256 modern rooms, all with air condition, high speed internet and coffee and tea maker, start with our complimentary buffet breakfast, possibly enjoying our summer terrace. At our Business Corner in the lobby we offer Free WIFI.If on business, make a bargain with our BUSINESS PACKAGE or for leisure, buy tickets for Madame Tussauds, Legoland, Berlin Sightseeing or Concerts (Holiday on Ice, Lionel Richie, Robin Gibb) directly at the reception.Kids Stay Free Policy at the Express by Holiday Inn Hotel Berlin City Centre: Children under 18 years stay free in their parents' room using the sofa bed.Meet Smart! At Express by Holiday Inn Hotel Berlin City Centre meetings and trainings for up to 45 people will be a great success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre Hotel Berlin
Holiday Inn Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing