We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly and value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Messe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Messe
Ranked #508 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very friendly and value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Cheap and friendly.
This hotel is well located, next to Schloss Charlottenburg (which is really worth the trip). The room was big and clean, though a bit noisy. The breakfast was easy but good.
Last, the hotel kept my luggage all day long after the checkout in a safe place (they even checked my room number when I came back to pick it up, which I found really good).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with a street window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gens1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    21
    15
    3
    19
See reviews for
16
13
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torshavn, Faroe Islands
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

Passing through Berlin, I stayed for two nights with my family. We were 5 people in one room with on-suite bathroom, and we had no problems booking the extra bed. We didn´t expect much because it was cheap, and we were a bit apprehensive when we arrived and saw the reception. Fortuneately we were pleseantly surprised. We had a great stay without any problems. One thing though - because it´s an old building you can hear very well through the walls, so bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toskurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olbia, Italy
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

I staid only one night but I found friendly and helpful staff, even if some of them did not speak english at all.
The hotel is ok but nothing special, located in a building shared with few private houses, in the west part of Berlin, and in my opinion, in the best district of Berlin - Charlottenburg. Underground station is nearby, walking distance.
The breakfast is good and with wide choice in terms of what does the room costs.
The room was pretty warm, even without turning on the heating, thing which I appreciated given the averages Berlin temperatures.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fab10lau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

Remaining in this hotel was one of my best experience and I enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShimShim30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

I travelled 6 Europe countries this year with my wife and I have little time for booking a hotel in Berlin. I was confused and despaired of finding a suitable place for stay. I needed a calm, clean, priceless, and with good location. Thank God that I saw this hotel in the website and I choosed it. When we arrived with my wife and my son-in-law; we shocked a little. We thought that we wasted our money. But when we went inside, checked in and arrived at their room, the atmosphere absorbed us and took us to grandmother's memories. Hotel is calm, clean, old stylish and etc. I liked it. It is a little far from City center but have good availability to public transportation. We had good time and memories here.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PePa23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

Well, we were 3 and looking for a cheap place, last minute we found here but we we reched there it was unexpectedly clean, cozy and worth for money.
Breakfast was really good, bathrooms renovated and comfortable beds.
Hotel brought us a nostalgic feeling and reminding granndma home, we really enjoyed it and definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alialexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hashmonaim israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

we knew something was fishy when we walked up the musty staircase. Dark and dingy. The reception person insisted we pay cash -- we need the money, she said.

Very fishy.
I told her I don't carry cash on me, so she said, ok, pay tomorrow. I asked if we can have breakfast earlier, she said no, it would cost her more money. Also, she told us that there was no one at the reception desk in the evenings.. Everything was no. Then we went upstairs to the room; it was hot, depressing and full of kitchy furniture and we said: no way.

We called the Aletto hostel where my kids once stayed, booked a room, and we of course had to pay a cancellation fee to pension messe. For that she was willing to take a credit card, all of a sudden.
We got a great deal at the hostel, small, but clean and airy, great service, 24/7 coffee, basic but good breakfast even at 6:30 am. Friendly and helpful.

That's the way any place, even a basic one, ought to be like.

nettie feldman
nettief@gmail.com

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afternoonschmoozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Seehof Hotel
Seehof Hotel
#321 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Adam
Hotel Adam
#376 of 633 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pension Stuttgarter Eck
Pension Stuttgarter Eck
#558 of 633 in Berlin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Pension Insel Ruegen
#537 of 633 in Berlin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Friedrichshain
Schlafmeile Hostel
Schlafmeile Hostel
#484 of 633 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Charlottenburg
Atrium Charlottenburg Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Messe

Property: Pension Messe
Address: Neue Kantstr. 5, 14057 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #508 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pension Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Messe Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing