We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and easy to find”
Review of Gasteiner Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gasteiner Hof
Ranked #400 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 17 January 2011

I stayed in Gasteiner Hof for three nights 4 years ago~ and will be back there this month since the good quality and nice service. that's easy to find the supermarkets and shops nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaoChingLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2010

We stayed at the Gasteiner Hof for four nights in September 2010. It was the first city on a train journey through central Europe, when we also visited Prague, Vienna and Budapest.

The hotel has directions on its website. We landed at Schoenfeld airport, to the southeast of Berlin. From there we took a 171 bus to Rudow U-bahn station (10 minutes) where underground Line 7 goes without change to Blissestrasse (30 minutes). The hotel lies in a side road 100 metres to the north of the station and, after one false start, we found it without undue difficulty.

Our room (two floors above ground) was spacious, bright and clean. The shower / wc was cramped but adequate, with plenty of towels and hot water. The glazing was sufficient to eliminate street noise, though there was some audible sounds from other rooms. Though the mattresses were a little thin, the beds were comfortable and we slept well. The room was well maintained and supplied during our stay. There is no elevator and no nighttime reception. I was able to settle my bill with a debit card.

The buffet breakfasts were on the generous side of adequate, with cereal, cold meats, cheese, eggs, bread, yogurt and fruit, with unlimited tea, coffee and toast. Getting to and from the buffet table can be awkward in the smallish breakfast room.

The area is not oversupplied with quality restaurants, although we had a fair value meal at the nearby Badenscher Hof jazz club on a Friday night (it’s beer rather than wine here, as the latter is wildly overpriced). Otherwise, you can risk a local Imbiss (Berlin fast food takeaway / restaurant) or go uptown. There is a very handy and good 24 hour supermarket nearby on Berliner Strasse.

Getting around means using Berlin public transport: tube, bus and tram. The system is fairly intuitive, and a day ticket for the AB zone was a reasonable €6.10. Though German transport has a fine reputation, our final days were bedevilled with ticket machine issues, and service failures due to engineering works, demonstrations and mechanical breakdown; so allow sufficient time for your journey.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmcateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Stayed there while in Berlin for a sports event taking place in the Wilmersdorf area. Booked a triple bedroom with private WC, paid €83 per room/night breakfast included.

+ Clean and spacious room and bathroom
+ Good breakfast selection
+ Nice and helpfull staff
+ Close to train/underground station
+ Banks and restaurants nearby

- Not near the citycenter (convenient if you are going to Wilmersdorf area)
- Doesn't accept credit cards
- No elevator
- Car parking around is difficult and paid for in that area

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turistando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

Clean, simple rooms. Paid 72 euros for a double (room 23 w/WC+shower). Breakfast OK. Conveniently located, close to metro, Internet café, restaurants, supermarket, Badenscher Hof jazz club, etc.
Only genuine nuisance was to be asked for cash payment - "there are lots of banks around here". Took some time to find one, and German ATMs don't always recognize non-German credit cards.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Troubadour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2008

The hotel is located in a small living street close to the city center West (Kurfuerstendamm). It has only few rooms (approx. 20), it provides a really nice familiar ambience. The rooms are big, bright and well equipped. The hotel is very clean, the continental breakfast is good and the staff is very friendly!

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank trotterBremen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2007

We booked a quad-room via email. The Hotel is nestled in a older building in a residential area. The streets were narrow but managable and there were always a few parking places nearby. Half a block to the subway and a wonderful array of restaurants close by. Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly woman who was helpful and informative. The room was clean with ample room for the four of us. The bedding was changed daily! A small modern shower was retrofitted in a small room off to the side in the room. The breakfasts were the usual continental style with a nice selection of meats, cheeses, yogurt, rolls, etc. The desk is staffed from 8am to 10pm and are always eager to assist. It isn't a shiny new hotel, but it is clean and comfortable and very affordable. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mr.fixit2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2006

Stayed here for 3 nights in Sept 2006. Noticed on the first two nights that the walls were a bit thin between the rooms as we could hear the neighbours' TV in the middle of the night but it wasn't a big problem. On the third night, a large group of university students checked in and took up our entire floor. We got back to the hotel a bit after 10pm (which is when the reception desk closes) and when we entered our room we were gobsmacked by the noise from the next room. It seemed that all of the students were partying in the room next to ours. As the hours went by and no doubt more and more alcohol was consumed, the noise became worse. It sounded like they were jumping off furniture and tackling each other, banging into our wall, yelling and screaming like they were in a frenzy. They eventually went out at around 3am and came back at around 5am. When we checked out the following morning we complained about the noise and said we didn't think we should have to pay for that night (or at least not the full amount). The person on the desk disagreed and said we will have to pay the full amount as it is their policy and they're not responsible for the behaviour of their guests. So we received no compensation for our night of hell in this hotel. Aside from this incident the hotel itself is OK, location is fine, food is OK but their lack of concern regarding our complaint was disgusting. If you value your sleep or if you want half decent customer service DO NOT STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Ibis Berlin City West
#198 of 633 in Berlin
595 reviews
Schoneberg
Novum Hotel City B Berlin Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#119 of 633 in Berlin
771 reviews
Kreuzberg
ibis budget Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasteiner Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasteiner Hof

Address: Gasteiner Str. 8, 10717 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #400 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £40 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasteiner Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Gasteiner Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasteiner Hof Berlin
Gasteiner Hof Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing