We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice small hotel close to the Natural History Museum”
Review of Novalis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novalis Hotel
Ranked #348 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 16 December 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank lily r
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

My boyfriend booked this hotel for a trip to Berlin. The hotel emailed him to see what time we would be arriving as they don't have 24 hour check in- to guarantee someone was there for our arrival.

Location: It cost us approximately 3 euros (ABC ticket) to get from the airport by train and underground to a stop just near to the hotel and about a 5 minute walk down a side street away from the main traffic. There were several choices of near by stations u- Oranienburger Tor/s-Berlin Nordbahnhof, you could even walk from Friedrichstraße if you wanted to. There were lots of cafes, restaurants and bars within a short walk and 3 small shops to buy drink & snacks. It was also very close to the Natural History Museum, Berlin Wall Memorial and most of the other main sights were within walking distance, the TV tower, the Bundestag, holocaust memorial, Berlin wall & Tiergarten (make sure you have comfy shoes!!!))

The Room:On arrival we were greeted by our host, he spoke a little English, and his partner spoke a little Russian and German and they were both very helpful with any questions we had and friendly. The room was situated on the second floor of an apartment building. It was very clean (cleaned everyday). The room was long and thin with an en-suite shower/toilet room. The showers were powerful and hot which was great! There was a small table, two chairs, fridge, basic hairdryer, TV (no English channels) and free WiFi. There were maps and leaflets in the lobbies. The rooms aren't luxury but great for what you pay and were a little hot at night, you could open the window but it was a little noisy - so not sure how they would be at the height of summer and no safe.

Food: Breakfast was optional for 6 Euros, this had a selection of cold meats, pates, cheeses, cereal, fruit, coffee, teas, chocolate milk, breads, a toaster, salads, fruit juices and more! (much better than other continental breakfasts).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SBladex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Staff was pleasant,corteous and helpful.The deal was good,room well appointed and location near the U and S Bahn. We payed 6 euros for breakfast, a very good price for an exelent service.
The lack of air conditioning may be a problem at the summer or hot days. There`s not a elevator[one floor upstair],and also there is not a safe or phone room .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivanfurtado r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed here for one night. I did read some reviews before booking this hotel and I saw that some people had trouble checking in when they arrived late. The hotel actually emailed me asking me what time I would be getting in. I think that was responsible and considerate because they don't have 24hr service so I suspect they wanted to make sure we were okay.

We were greeted by the front desk once we arrived. She was very friendly. She gave us a map and showed us where all the sights and good restaurants are. She walked us to our room. There is NO elevator. You will get 3 keys. One for the very front door which I think probably closes around 7 or 8pm? We got back at 10:30pm that night and everything was locked up already.

We stayed on the 1st floor and there is a door you need to unlock before you get to a corridor of rooms which will require your third key.

Everything is very basic. You do get a hair dryer and a fridge but there isn't anything else. You also get FREE wifi which is great because it's really rare in Europe.

The room has really high ceilings, we got two beds that made up a queen size bed. The room is a decent size and you get a big window.

If you're just looking for a clean place to stay, this may be for you. It takes about 15 to 20 minutes to walk to the TV tower which was the meeting place for our tour group.

The isn't air conditioning so be prepared to have to open your window to sleep at night which is a little noisy with cars and people talking.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank takenforgranted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Looking at the previous review I was concerned about having booked the Hotel Novalis. I am delighted to say that the Hotel was much better than expected. We had a large, clean, spacious room. Breakfast was available at 6 euros, but as we were only in Berlin for 3 days we ate on our travels. The owner is very welcoming, and was more than happy to look after our cases after check out until 6pm as we had a late flight back to the UK. For anyone travelling to Berlin for a couple of days sightseeing I would recommend this hotel. It is in a great location and a short walking distance to 2 underground stations. OK, so there is no wifi or english speaking channels on the TV, but with so much to see and do, and great restaurants to eat at nearby, we didn't spend much time at the hotel anyhow. We will certainly be staying here again on our next trip to Berlin

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KHill81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

The hotel is highly disappointing, as none of the previous reviews were describing the current reality of the hotel: no breakfast in the hotel, no reception, no luggage facility, no english spoken, no credit card accepted, only cash.

I was capable to see the lady only at my arrival: despite the fact I asked by mail when reserving if breakfast was included in the price, I did not got any answer, only to discovered at my arrival that breakfast was simply not served, but there were several bakery in the proximity! On the day of the departure we have been asked to leave the room at 10:00 - when I asked to leave the luggage somewhere the answer has been to go to the train station. Definitively a NO

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cicciapiccola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

we stayed 3 nights in Hotel Novalis and we really enjoyed it! Hotel Novalis is directly to the main attractions. But yet in a calm street. The owner is very helpful. The room was big and very clean! We would come again!

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bertaM_nchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel Berlin Markischer Hof am Tacheles
Mitte
Hotel Berlin Mitte by Campanile
Mitte
Zarenhof Berlin Mitte
Zarenhof Berlin Mitte
#327 of 635 in Berlin
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Mikon Eastgate Hotel
Mikon Eastgate Hotel
#336 of 635 in Berlin
231 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Aquino
Hotel Aquino
#258 of 635 in Berlin
96 reviews
Mitte
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#411 of 635 in Berlin
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novalis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novalis Hotel

Address: Novalisstr. 5, 10115 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #348 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £53 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novalis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novalis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novalis Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing