We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Novalis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novalis Hotel
Ranked #350 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Obviously, it's not a RItz Carlton. It's a budget hotel, which offers a good value for the money you pay. It's within an easy walking distance from 2 metro stations, at a quiet street. Our room was not too big and quite dated, but clean and cozy. Beds could have been more comfortable, but again not too bad. Wifi worked well. The windows were quite old and let some cold in, but overall the temperature in the room was all right (beginning of November).
The owners (a Ukrainian couple) are very friendly and helpful. They speak German, Russian (or Ukrainian, I cannot tell), some Polish and English. Breakfast normally starts at 8:30, but we asked for it to be earlier and they prepared it for us at 8 with no complaints. Breakfast is not included, it's 6 EUR, but it's certainly worth the price. Particularly if you're from Eastern Europe you'll find it delicious, home-like, and with a really good choice of food. If you're from the UK or US, though, and you cannot imagine your morning without fried eggs, sausages and bacon, you should better go elsewhere. It's just a different style.
Child bed is for free, and we could keep our child wagon at the reception, which was very convenient.
Parking is for free (you get a vignette) in the street, although you need to find your own place, the hotel owns none. We were lucky and parked right at the door.
The downside is that the reception is closed during the night, so make sure you call or write them upfront, if you plan to arrive after 20. When you're already a guest, it's not a problem, as you get the key to the front door.
Overall, I liked the place, it had a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aleksandra_Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

Great friendly family run hotel - arrived about 9pm and the owner was waiting for us (we had emailed her to let her know when we would arrive) room spacious with good WIFI signal and cleaned every day if you want. Fab location - no complaints whatsoever

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niciwaine123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights and we sure made the right decision! The staff was very friendly and in the reception they spoke english. The wifi worked well in our room. The breakfast was great, but it didn´t include in the hotel price which is inconvenient. We arrived late in the evening, when it was already dark and got lost in the area. But luckily, there were some friendly people who helped us. The hotel "sign" is not so big and it may be hard to find. Don´t judge the hotel based on the entrance, once you get inside it´s very different than what you would think. The room had a good bathroom and it was spacious. This hotel has a good value.

Room Tip: The rooms on the "street" side are not noisy, because there are not many cars driving, mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed here one night and really enjoyed the spacious double room overlooking the street. The value of this hotel is great, and the friendly service made it a really nice stay. The owner helped us find places to go in Berlin and the breakfast was very nice. A great value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foliasmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

There is something about staying in a family run hotel, that if done well, is a more satisfactory experience than spending a great deal of money on an 'international' hotel. Novalis was such a place...Be warned it looks down at heel from outside, but bearing in mind all the positive Trip advisor reports we had read before hand, we didn't let its exterior deter us. We had a family room, with plenty of room, exceptionally clean, colourfully decorated. It was such fun to have flowery duvet coves and coloured towels instead of bland whites or neutrals. I am not a lace curtain or shiny bed covering person at home, but on a break in a foreign city it just added to the atmosphere. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or kind. We were even given a totally free car parking pass...this saved us 30Euros in total. The breakfast was only 6 euros each and was an abundant array of fruit, cereal, bread, cold meats and cheeses and excellent coffee. Bacon and hot sausage was provided for those who wanted it..91 Euros per night including breakfast...We will be back and would happily stay here for longer.

Room Tip: Book a family room if you would like a little more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

My partner and I spent 118 Euros for two nights at this hotel.

The room was quite small but it was clean and good enough for our short stay.

Location is quite good, and isn't far from Metro if you wanted to get around quicker.

Breakfast wasn't included which was a shame as there aren't many restaurants or coffee shops near by.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank lily r
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel Berlin Markischer Hof am Tacheles
Mitte
Zarenhof Berlin Mitte
Zarenhof Berlin Mitte
#326 of 634 in Berlin
156 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Berlin Mitte by Campanile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
H+ Hotel Berlin Mitte
H+ Hotel Berlin Mitte
#180 of 634 in Berlin
587 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Augustinenhof
Hotel Augustinenhof
#278 of 634 in Berlin
218 reviews
Mitte
Mikon Eastgate Hotel
Mikon Eastgate Hotel
#335 of 634 in Berlin
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novalis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novalis Hotel

Address: Novalisstr. 5, 10115 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #350 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £52 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novalis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novalis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novalis Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing