We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel Ever!”

Riverside Lodge Berlin
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Lodge Berlin
Ranked #93 of 349 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Paris, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Hostel Ever!”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I've stayed at many hostels in Europe, and this is the best ever! It's in perfect location, near the river and the food market and weekend market is just around the corner! You can rent a bike and get around very easily. The place itself is tiny, but I very much like its size, because you get to know everyone who stays there! I stayed in the room with six beds, and the upper beds are king-sized! They are not like the normal two-level bed bunks, the upper bed actually is placed on a "roof" that allows you more room to place stuff and move around, and it's so cool! The owner is friendly, helpful and interesting too, who opens this hostel for 7 months during a year and the rest 5 years he goes on vacation in Thailand. I'm very happy to see the different lifestyles of other people during travelling, maybe I can try that in the future too! :-) Berlin is a very special city, mixing all types of culture and living styles. I would definitely come back, and stay at riverside lodge too!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeyondRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    6
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
8
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Possibly the world's smallest hostel, but that's what makes it so special. I've stayed there twice now, and loved it both times! Enrico, who runs it, could not be more helpful! It has a really friendly atmosphere, and is exceptionally clean! The facilites are great, the rooms are great, everything about this hostel is fantastic, including it's location! Even if I had the money for a hotel, I would probably stay here! Definitely stay here if you are visiting Berlin (so long as there are 12 or less of you!).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danidawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Tiny hostel, only 12 beds but so cute and the space that each person gets is massive! Large lockers, privacy curtain if you get the bottom bunk/room. The owner Enriquo was so helpfull, and gave us a ten minute chat and free map about all the awesome places in Berlin and where to get cheap eats! First impression was not the best, but stick it out and you will be rewarded with a great stay!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Luver_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Easily the most friendly and helpful hostel staff I have ever been in contact with. Very funky and cozy enviroment gave me a sense of home. The beds are very clean, bathrooms as well. Located in central Berlin, you can get to most places by foot or metro (which is super easy.) I would recommend this hostel to anybody traveling to Berlin!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
276 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Nice location, clean and bike friendly. If you don't bring your own bike you can always rent one from the hostel. We stayed in the 2 room apartment and our room was huge with a comfortable double bed and a huge wardrobe.
I really liked the location and I hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Christin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boxford, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We traveled to Berlin in a group of several families, including five children between 8-12 years. The ability to house all of us and allow the kids to sleep together as a group in the bunk beds was great. Because the hostel is small, we occupied most of the space available, so it was like having our own apartment.

The owner was very helpful by suggesting places off the beaten path we might enjoy. The area is very laid back and quiet, with several local playgrounds and small stores. There is a bakery a block away and a grocery two blocks away. The hostel is steps away from the canal with multiple restaurants with outdoor seating, some right along the water's edge, which serve well into the evening. We enjoyed several meals in the area and enjoyed them.

All of the rooms and common areas (including the bathrooms) were kept very clean and were very roomy. There is wi-fi available for a small charge, which made communication with home very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlkDiamondFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2007

We stayed in this nice hostel on our Two week tour of Germany, we had a couple of nights at this place and thought it was great.
I'd just like to point out that next to this hostel is a two room appartment that we stayed in , the hostel owners aquired this and it's a great addition to this place (If your going as a couple with a couple of mates - It's spot on! ).
The rooms bedrooms/bathrooms/kitchen/common area were all spotless.
Right outsite the hostel is a Turkish food and goods market twice a week, so it's a great place to stock up if you are on a budget.
The shops and restuarants in this area are also fantastic , with a great little river bar just up from the Hostel.

Bottom line is - If you dont mind a walk into the tourist areas and want a clean chilled out hostel with very nice owners, then i'd stay here!

  • Liked — The Two room appartment
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCHARDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Neukolln
Hotel Prens Berlin
Hotel Prens Berlin
#320 of 634 in Berlin
136 reviews
Kreuzberg
Hotel am Hermannplatz
Hotel am Hermannplatz
#383 of 634 in Berlin
27 reviews
Kreuzberg
City Hotel Gotland
City Hotel Gotland
#505 of 634 in Berlin
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neukolln
Minimal
Minimal
#53 of 349 in Berlin
32 reviews
Kreuzberg
Cat's Pajamas
Cat's Pajamas
#4 of 349 in Berlin
378 reviews
Kreuzberg
No photo provided
Freiraum Guesthouse
#78 of 349 in Berlin
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Lodge Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Lodge Berlin

Property: Riverside Lodge Berlin
Address: Hobrechtstrasse 43, 12047 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Neukolln
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 349 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 53

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing