We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most tiny hostel in town”

Riverside Lodge Berlin
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Lodge Berlin
Ranked #78 of 356 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We spent two nights in the minidorm. The hostel is in the middle of Berlin Kreuzberg / Neukölln, in the centre of party, clubs, culture, whatever you want. The Paul-Lincke-Ufer is nearby, one of the alternative catwalks of Berlin. If you're looking for a cheap place to stay in Berlin, then this is it. Staff is friendly, rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, free tea, coffee and apples. But if it is completely booked, two bathrooms for 12-15 people are insufficient. And if you're looking for some quiet time and the place is already packed with party people, better look somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteffenMD80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012

This trip to Berlin was a gift for 30th Birthday from my girlfriend who'd looked up Riverside Lodge on sites like this... Good choice I reckon.

On arrival we were greeted by the incredibly friendly and helpful owner. He sat us down with a map and talked through some of the stuff we might like to see while we were in Berlin. He suggested a bunch of great places to eat (including the restaurant next door, where I got an AMAZING steak), less-touristy places to go out drinking and loads of other curious and interesting places dotted around Berlin. He was also pretty clued up on events happening in the area, urging us to go to a local live music event which I would have loved to go to had I not underestimated the strength of German beer and been embarrassingly pissed by 10pm that night.

As we were staying as a couple we opted to stay in a private twin room which was in a 2 bedroom apartment next door to the hostel... As it was off-season we got the whole apartment to ourselves. The bedroom was nice and clean and the bed huuuge. The bathroom was really clean and everything worked and there was also the kitchen which had everything you would hope to find in a kitchen... again, it was really clean and tidy. The owner pointed out that the table was missing from the bedroom when we were first shown in to the apartment, he said he'd nip to Ikea and get a replacement as soon as possible, sure enough, when we got home that night there was a brand new table in the room. Really amazing service.

The area in which the lodge is located is really nice and leafy, located just next to a canal, there is a really good market selling all manner of stuff really cheap most days of the week, the quality of the fresh produce puts fruit and veg markets to shame here in England. There are a bunch of small bars, cafes and bakers all within 2 minutes walk. There are a couple of U-Bahn stations within a few minutes walk too.

Overall, the service and quality of this place was so good I could've easily just stayed there... I really felt like not coming back. Berlin as a city is amazing too, so when I go back i know where i'll be staying. The hostel really added to the trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in the apartment next door... it was nice and quiet and the bed was massive and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

There is not one negative thing I can say about my stay at Riverside. After travelling around Europe and staying in party hostels, Riverside was a breath of fresh air. It was a home-away-from-home in the middle of trendy Kreutzberg. Perfect position. The beds were comfy and the room spacious. I loved only having 10 or so other visitors, we all went out for dinners (on Enrico's amazing advice) and I have made friends for life having stayed there for just 4 days. Enrico, the owner, is helpful beyond belief and an all ground awesome guy!
Would recommend this a thousand times and will definitely be back!
Thanks again Enrico!
Bonnie.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 65Bonnie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

The owner was very helpful, lots of tips and local knowledge. The private room was large, access to a kitchen and bathroom (shared with only one other room). GREAT restaurant on the corner!! The markets next door are also worth looking around.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

What can I say about this place? Never have I been to a less "hostely" hostel than this one. It is basically a small apartment run by one of the nicest and funniest guys you will ever meet, which accomodates less than 15 people.

No reception desk to check in or out (you simply collect your key in a storage box and drop it off when you leave), a little audio cable hanging near the refrigerator so you can plug in your own music in the loungeroom speakers, free tea/coffee/internet, a small kitchen - small enough that mess never accumulates unlike other hostels I've been to (and worked in) where there are so many pots, pans and people that nothing gets cleaned properly - with a convection stovetop, though you will never need to use it with awesome cheap food surrounding you in every direction, including great markets by the river a few times a week.

The larger 6-bed dorm offers a lot of privacy with large curtains surrounding your bed and locker, while the smaller 4-bed is better suited to small groups of friends travelling together. The beds are comfy as hell, the two bathrooms with showers are always immaculately clean, and Enrico (the man in charge) will tell you everything you need to know to eat, drink and party your way through your visit to Berlin. If you're friendly, considerate and you don't snore so loud you wake people up, stay here, if you can book it!

Tom & Karo

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomRudgeHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

it is the perfect place to stay in berlin. the area ia really cool to stay with cafes and shop. the room is very clean abd comfy. just like a home out of your country. the owner of the hostel is very helpful and will let you know the cool things happpening in berlin. especially for a solo traveller . its a very good place to meet people as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickyNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I've stayed at many hostels in Europe, and this is the best ever! It's in perfect location, near the river and the food market and weekend market is just around the corner! You can rent a bike and get around very easily. The place itself is tiny, but I very much like its size, because you get to know everyone who stays there! I stayed in the room with six beds, and the upper beds are king-sized! They are not like the normal two-level bed bunks, the upper bed actually is placed on a "roof" that allows you more room to place stuff and move around, and it's so cool! The owner is friendly, helpful and interesting too, who opens this hostel for 7 months during a year and the rest 5 years he goes on vacation in Thailand. I'm very happy to see the different lifestyles of other people during travelling, maybe I can try that in the future too! :-) Berlin is a very special city, mixing all types of culture and living styles. I would definitely come back, and stay at riverside lodge too!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeyondRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Neukolln
Hotel Prens Berlin
Hotel Prens Berlin
#361 of 635 in Berlin
148 reviews
Kreuzberg
City Hotel Gotland
City Hotel Gotland
#504 of 635 in Berlin
54 reviews
Kreuzberg
Hotel am Hermannplatz
Hotel am Hermannplatz
#395 of 635 in Berlin
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neukolln
Minimal
Minimal
#52 of 356 in Berlin
34 reviews
Kreuzberg
Apartmenthouse Berlin
Apartmenthouse Berlin
#79 of 356 in Berlin
96 reviews
Neukolln
No photo provided
Berlin Style Apartments
#186 of 356 in Berlin
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Lodge Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Lodge Berlin

Address: Hobrechtstrasse 43, 12047 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Neukolln
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 356 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: £19 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 53

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing