We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Citystay Mitte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citystay Mitte
Ranked #49 of 344 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No complaints. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent hostel. Clean and tidy, helpful staff. Would happily return another time. Breakfast is good, usual continental fare with cheese, salami, toast and cereals. The bar is well stocked too. Location is within walking distance of plenty of places of interest too.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Spoonfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    169
    70
    25
    22
See reviews for
8
82
82
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Not a bad place by any means - If like me you chose to stay in hostels more for the social aspect than anything else then this is probably not the best choice.
Single room was clean and bed was decent enough. Toilet facilities were a good standard.
The problem for me lay with the bar/communal area downstairs, it felt too much like a hotel with no real atmosphere and an almost reception like seating area.
Probably a good choice if your looking for a dorm room in a well located hostel with plenty space, but if your getting your own room at around 50 euros a night id be looking elsewhere

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Location is great and they were very accommodating. Rooms are large and clean but the bathrooms are communal and outside the rooms. Internet is slow and can only be used in the lobby. They only accept cash payments.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed in a double room. Room was nice, staff friendly. Very close to most of the places we wanted to see- managed to walk everywhere. Happy hour from 8-9pm was good, with cheaper drinks, including cocktails. Drawbacks were that you have to pay a 'linen washing fee' and a key deposit. Towel hire for 5 euros deposit (get back on return). Breakfast not included. No wifi in rooms, but available in common areas. Must have cash on you when you arrive, cash only payments.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campo Grande, MS
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

The staff is great, its near the alexander platz which makes it very well located, the rooms are very clean and you can chose how many people do you accept to stay with. The bar downstairs works till very late and is very friendly and warm despite the coldness out there. They also offer a really good breakfast, all-you-can-eat type, what is great when you`re not the richest traveller. Its cheap too, i spent 8euros each night

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank VictorHugoxf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I had my laptop stolen from here. The "locked" luggage room was a joke. It was not only open when I got my stuff out to check in, but when I went to get my things out of the closet later on my checkout day, my backpack was missing from the "locked" closet. It was laying down the hall. The hostel dismissed the idea that this was worth being concerned about. This was not a particularly friendly hostel and it was not conducive to chatting with other travelers. The pillows were very beaten up and the bed lamps had no light bulbs in them. I had to go request them. Because my laptop was stolen in the beginning, there was more discussion about that so when I tried to get the towel that I had paid for, they refused to give it to me saying I hadn't paid.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette-a-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Actual visit: November 2012 First stay at a hostel but it was a good and surprisingly comfortable stay. The staff were friendly, rooms were clean, plenty of bathrooms and showers, and the beds were comfortable. We were a quick walk from catching the train and minutes away from all the "can't miss" sites. The breakfast was included in our fee but I thought it was a very good spread. Would stay here again if I planned to visit Berlin again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 704CarolinaGirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel Alexander Plaza Berlin
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#85 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Mitte
St. Christopher's Inn Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Heart of Gold Hostel
Heart of Gold Hostel
#15 of 344 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Mitte
Hotel ZOE
Hotel ZOE
#8 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Nikolai Residence
Hotel Nikolai Residence
#10 of 187 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citystay Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citystay Mitte

Property: Citystay Mitte
Address: Rosenstr. 16, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 344 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Citystay Mitte 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Who are we? citystay Hostel is Berlin's most central hostel!We’re located in downtown Berlin. From here you can walk to all of the city’s major sightseeing spots. No public transport is needed. And our neighbourhood, Berlin Mitte, is well known for its diverse culture and nightlife!Our modern hostel is set in a heritage buidling dating back to 1894.The spacious rooms feature large windows, oak parquet and high ceilings. We have rooms for up to eight people, some with shared bathrooms and some ensuite. The entire hostel is 100% non-smoking and rooms are cleaned daily.Citystay Hostel Berlin's onsite bar is open 23hrs a day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Citystay Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citystay Mitte Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing