We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place I have ever stayed”
Review of Citystay Mitte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Citystay Mitte
Ranked #57 of 358 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed in a private room. The room was spacious enough but the bed was terrible. The pillows felt like that have stuffed 5-6 pairs of socks into a pillow case and tried to pass that off as a pillow. The sound proofing is almost none existent and anyone walking up and down the hallways either on your floor or the floor above sounds like an elephant passing in the hallways. The toilets and showers were dirty. they only got cleaned once a day in the morning and with probably somewhere between 30-40 people on each floor using them, by the evening they were disgusting. I would never stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Clean and modern hostel. Bed was comfortable however I was on a very squeaky bunk. Fairly quiet in dorms but the walls are fairly thin, some noise from a group of school kids running about but nothing bad. Only issue I had was no kitchen or included breakfast. I did not feel the breakfast buffet was worth €5.50 but there is a nice supermarket next to the metro station less than 5 minute walk which has fresh and cheap bakery items. Wifi works very well in reception/bar but does not work in rooms. Great location, very close to train and parks.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda_0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed for two nights in May. The hostel is quiet enough, clean enough and decently run. Not terribly friendly, but not unpleasant, just efficient. Our twin room was cheap, clean and in fairly good shape. The only recommendation I'd make to management is to add a few horizontal surfaces, especially near outlets and sinks!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvdwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Except for once, every time I went to Berlin I stayed at this hostel for various reasons: friendly staff, free wifi (though it does not reach the rooms - or at least all of them), clean and neat rooms and a great breakfast. Organic and local products are not that common to find at your usual hostel breakfast.
The location itself is great, really close to Alexanderplatz and if you don't feel like walking that far you can walk down the street to Hackescher Markt where you have plenty of restaurant and access to the public transport network.
The rooms have individual lockers, for which you can borrow a padlock (or bring one yourself), some have a private shower and the bathroom and common showers are just down each hall.
There's also a quaint private backyard which makes for a pleasant sunny breakfast if weather allows.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Staff are friendly, rooms were clean although oddly set out. Each bed has a power socket which is helpful. Showers are excellent! Toilets and showers are all clean. Breakfast is not worth the €5.50 though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbirchall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Very centrally located near a lot of attractions. Very affordable accommodation. We stayed in a private double room which had a reasonable amount of space and suitable furnishings. The showers and toilets were clean, with plenty of hot water (although the shower pressure could be better). Wifi worked very well in the bar area, but very patchy while in the room. The walls are not very thick as fellow guests could be heard clearly while in the hallways, though this was only briefly as they returned from the bar. Very affordable drinks at the bar and a reasonable all you can eat breakfast for a reasonable price. Staff were friendly and helpful. All up a good experience and would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

It will soon be two years since I've stayed there, but looking back I can not remember one thing, that bothered me while staying there. Me and my friend stayed in a six beds room and then moved to a double room. The bathroom is shared but really big, clean and not crowded at all. The breakfast was very good and the staff was nice. And as mentioned by others, the location is a cherry on top. A very nice hostel, nothing too special, but I have absolutley no complaints. :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ami L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
baxpax downtown Hostel Hotel
Mitte
Singer109 Backpacker Apartment Hostel
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#3 of 358 in Berlin
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Heart of Gold Hostel
Heart of Gold Hostel
#13 of 358 in Berlin
733 reviews
Mitte
St. Christopher's Inn Berlin
Mitte
Cityhostel Berlin
Cityhostel Berlin
#54 of 358 in Berlin
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citystay Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citystay Mitte

Address: Rosenstr. 16, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 358 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: £19 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Citystay Mitte 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Who are we? citystay Hostel is Berlin's most central hostel!We’re located in downtown Berlin. From here you can walk to all of the city’s major sightseeing spots. No public transport is needed. And our neighbourhood, Berlin Mitte, is well known for its diverse culture and nightlife!Our modern hostel is set in a heritage buidling dating back to 1894.The spacious rooms feature large windows, oak parquet and high ceilings. We have rooms for up to eight people, some with shared bathrooms and some ensuite. The entire hostel is 100% non-smoking and rooms are cleaned daily.Citystay Hostel Berlin's onsite bar is open 23hrs a day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Citystay Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citystay Mitte Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing