We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel, great location, lovely staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Ranked #30 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We booked 7 nights in this hotel through Expedia for a very good rate, we checked the Trip Advisor rating before we booked, and although most of the reviews were for the hotel's previous incarnation as the Concorde, most regulars still recommended.

Although this is more a business hotel, there were plenty of holidaymakers including us, and the staff know that the 2 sets of customers have different needs.

On arrival, the concierge took out bags, we checked in a little bit early without any hassle, with a friendly introduction to the hotel and it's services, and given the cards to our room.

We were given room 921, which is at the end of a long corridor, but had an amazing view of the Kaiser Wilhelm church.

The room is a very good size, is serviced at least twice a day, the evening turn down for bed is a really nice touch, laying out slippers, closing curtains, chocolates etc.

A few reviewers mentioned about the air-con being loud, you het used to it, but when it clicks on/off, it is noticeable, but if you open the window a bit, it turns off completely, so as long as it's not too warm in the room, this shuts it up.

The only real thing that I didn't like was the lack of storage space.
There's hangers and a small amount of places to lay clothes, but no drawers or particular space for socks and underwear.
This isn't a big problem, but a bit inconvenient.

We asked for the hotel to remove the contents of the mini bar, as we didn't plan to have anything, and brought our own beer, drinks and sweets from the nearby Ullrich supermarket near the Zoo station.
If you need food it essentials, I would go to Ullrich, as it's open 7 days, very cheap and close to the hotel, although use the entrance near the sports store, as the entrance by Burger King seems to attract the city's homeless.

The staff at the hotel are really helpful, although the use of English, French and German to greet and say goodbye can get a bit confusing, it's rather endearing.
The concierge service is really helpful, although we rarely used it, they allowed us to borrow a small set of luggage scales to weigh out bags, which saved a lot of embarrassment at the airport later on.

Because Berlin is a constantly changing city, we will be back, and will almost certainly stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Berlin_KD, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Bonjour Ben K,

Thank you so much for your very detailed and positive review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your time here. I already passed the compliments to my entire team.

It was a pleasure to have you here and we are looking forward to welcome you back.
Berlin in the Christmas Time is beautiful :-)

Kindest regards

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

851 - 857 of 2,911 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during a short visit to Berlin. The location is very central and there are many restaurants and shops close by. The room was very large as well as the bathroom. Very nice decor inside with excellent attention to detail. The staff were very friendly in helping us to get our bearings as well as giving us tips on what to visit around the city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Berlin_KD, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Bonjour Lana K,

I am really happy to read that you enjoyed your time here and that you liked the
décor so much. Thanks for all the nice compliments.

We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Kindest regards

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm in June 2014. The hotel is conveniently located 1 min from Kurfustendamm U Bahn (underground) station (2 lines , U1 and U9) and also a short walk away from S-Bahn Berlin Zoologischer Garten station.
Getting there from Tegel was straighforward taking the 109 or the X9 buses (both buses go to S+U Zoologischer Garten station, however the 109 has a stop closer on Kurfustendamm and we took it when leaving by crossing a couple of roads exiting the hotel, just 5 min)
Hotel location is really central in West Berlin and you will have no issue in travelling from there to any place. Also, Kurfustendamm is a commercial street and shops are really round the corner.
The hotel is a nice building and I understand was transferred to the Sofitel brand only recently (previously known as Concorde). Staff and service were excellent during our stay. An initial problem with our booking not on the system was solved quickly and professionally by the reception lady who also offered us an upgrade. Our room was large and very comfortable and had really everything needed including a modern open wardrobe. One special note deserves the breakfast. Though a bit expensive (however we were offered a special package), this is probably the best breakfast I ever had in a hotel (and in general!). I was simply amazed by the quality and choice of everything that was available, I could not try everything as the buffet was simply too much. Everything was really excellent and I could not recommend more to try the breakfast with only one advice. You need to be hungry otherwise not worthwhile as you will miss something! The staff was very courteous and professional. I would recommend strongly this hotel, even to visit east Berlin as being close to different U Bahn lines and the S Bahn, it's convenient also as a base to travel everywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Meteoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Berlin_KD, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Bonjour meteoman,

Wow - thanks for this very positive review and the wonderful compliments
about the breakfast, the service and especially the staff.
I am very happy to read that really had a great time here at the Sofitel Berlin Kurfürstendamm.

We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Kindest regards

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for eight days during the very hot and warm July/August of 2014. Everyday our room had a comfortable temperatude, because the Aircon worked and almost so you could not hear it. Breaqkfast was great in the lounge, and all the staff we met vere helpful.

Only minus was that some of the English speaking TV Channels did not work. Othervise the hotel is right in the centre. It is extremely silent - I have never experienced so heavy Windows before - makes you Wonder if they were bullit proof since they weighed a ton.

Best beds ever.

We can definately recommend the hotel. Nice spa - great massage.

Room Tip: Get a room with access to the lounge. Eating Breakfast overlooking Berlin is so great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SpiffDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Berlin_KD, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Bonjour SpiffDK,

Thank you so much for your positive review and your compliments. I am
very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us.

I am sorry that the English TV channels did not work properly but we will check
on that.

We are looking forward to welcome you back!

Kindest regards

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very elegant property in great location - just off the Kudamm and a short walk to Zoo for trains and buses. Large room, but small TV and not the Sofitel Mybed (this hotel was transformed into a Sofitel in February 2014 after being the Concorde Hotel in the past.) Stayed 8 nights as a Le Club Platinum member - members do get recognized here. Nice club lounge with excellent food & beverage selections and great breakfast. Friendly and professional staff around the hotel. Due to renovations / transformation into the Sofitel brand, most of the the lobby as well as the original bar and one of the restaurants were closed during our stay, what a shame that they don't warn you about this fact at the time of booking. Now, with no lobby space, it does not look like a 5 star property when you enter the main entrance. Also on the negative side, I got a feeling that this is a hotel with no soul/atmosphere - more a nice place to sleep rather than a place to hang out and having a good time - I guess much because of the layout and architecture of the property. Would probably stay there again, but only because I am a Le Club member - there are many nice hotels to choose from in Berlin!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Berlin_KD, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Bonjour OsloGlobetrotter2013,

Thank you very much for your review and the compliments about the staff.

Due to the switch to Sofitel in February 2014 we did some re-decoration according to the
Sofitel guidelines. The bar and the restaurant were moved to the second floor as a temporary solution so we were able to offer the full service to our guests.
These days they we be re-open new and modern brightness.

The hotel and the interior is designed by the famous architect Jan Kleihues who had is focus on clean lines. I am very sorry that we did not exactly meet your taste.

Thanks again for your feedback and for staying with us. We are looking forward to welcome you
back to Berlin.

Kindest regards

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Very nice hotel with a very nice location close to communications easy access from airport.
We came to schönfeld and took the train to zoo short walk from there ( or even closer) kurfurstdam.

Nice staff nice room to be recommended.

Room Tip: Breakfast was quite expensive. We took our breakfast at kadewe at half the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Thco40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Berlin_KD, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Bonjour Thco40,

Thank your very much for your compliments - looking forward to see you soon again!

Best wishes & Take care

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank Tommy N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel_Berlin_KD, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Swissotel Berlin
Swissotel Berlin
#38 of 634 in Berlin
3,073 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#32 of 634 in Berlin
2,044 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#22 of 634 in Berlin
1,596 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Charlottenburg
InterContinental Berlin
InterContinental Berlin
#34 of 634 in Berlin
2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm

Address: Augsburger Strasse 41, 10789 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Hotel Concorde Berlin)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £79 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm 5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Sofitel Berlin Kurfurstendamm is situated right in the heart of the City West area, within striking distance of the renowned Kurfurstendamm shopping quarter. A showcase for a unique fusion of art, architecture and design. The impressive 17-storey stone facade constructed from Kirchheim shell limestone is a real eyecatcher. Breathtaking views can be enjoyed from the Sofitel Berlin Kurfurstendamm right across the vibrant city of Berlin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing