We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous, stylish hotel in a terrific location...”
Review of Melia Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Berlin
Ranked #27 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Great hotel, very stylish room with excellent facilities. Super comfortable beds (very quiet, too, so great sleeps) and a cracker bathroom - with heated floor.
And there was a safe - something really underestimated by hoteliers and in 9 months of traveling in USA and Europe, too few hotels had them...
4 nights in Berlin in one of the coldest snaps for many years and the Melia was a welcoming place to come back to after long days out sight-seeing in this wonderful city.
The staff were friendly in that formal German way and very professional and helpful.
Brilliant central location on Friedrichstrasse, near the River Spree and Unter den Linden and the best destinations. Across the road from a Bahnhof where you can hook into the excellent Berlin U-Bahn.
We also got a very good online deal which included 30 euros a day to spend on food and drink in the hotel or from room service. The first night we enjoyed a couple of glasses of wine in the very pleasant bar in the lobby and the other nights we ordered from room service. With the very cold weather (one night a record of -19C) this was a good option. We prefer to go out and don't often order from room service - not usually a fan, but the food was really excellent. A good chef and brigade at work.
Thanks Melia - we loved Berlin and a big part of that enjoyment was staying with you. Not an example of the sterility that comes with a hotel chain in any way. Spanish influence, perhaps?

Room Tip: We chose a room looking over the central courtyard for quietness. However the hotel was very quiet a...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraemeSNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,136)
There are newer reviews for Melia Berlin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,966 - 1,972 of 5,136 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

Very good business hotel with all boxes checked. Good location, new hotel, great staff and good sized room and bathroom.

Had dinner at the tapas restaurant which was also a pleasant experience. Seems to get a lot of external locals as guests. Breakfast buffet also good, missing fresh orange juice but them most hotels don't have it either. Did not check out gym on the top floor.

Great value for the price, but them most Berlin hotels seems to be affordable compared to other major European cities.

Room Tip: There was construction noise on one side of the building (apparently came from outside of hotel), I...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wireless2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

A nicely decorated modern hotel in an excellent central location on the Friederichstrasse (on the river just opposite the Berliner Ensemble). Room was very large and airy. The staff were universally charming, professional and helpful, very noticeably so. Within a short walk of the main museums and shopping districts and very convenient for all (very easy to master), transport links. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there and I commend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windowseatview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at Melia Berlin on The Level during our honeymoon. The bed is unbelievably comfortable! The hotel is incredible with views of the river. The breakfast buffet on The Level was delicious. I highly recommend The Level if it is in your price budget. We used their laundry service while we were there and the clothing was returned same day in a neat little package. We could not have been happier.

The best part of Melia Berlin is that we walked to all of the main attractions! Everything is within walking distance!

I give Melia Berlin a true 5-star! We loved the Melia brand so much that we cancelled our room reservation in Paris and booked through Melia (again, another 5-star experience).

Room Tip: If you can spend a bit extra for The Level I highly recommend it!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahG1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

From the moment we checked in we were not disappointed with our stay. The lady on the from desk was amazingly helpful and friendly, and gave us all the information we could have wanted for our stay.
Room - After a disappointing stay in Paris I even did a little dance when we got to our spacious room with a beautiful view over the river.
Breakfast - In addition to this the breakfasts were amazing. The biggest buffet I have ever seen. Naturally a huge selection of fresh bread. But also loads of hot food and even eggs cooked to order.
If I ever go back to Berlin I would not even bother looking at somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Have stayed here a few times, always for business. The hotel is very stylish, tastefully so and they have a great Spanish restaurant which doubles up as a bar. Location is excellent, rooms are comfortable and breakfast and lunches (with our meeting) were fab. Staff always friendly and professional and always try and meet your personal needs - quiet room for example .

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morts109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The location is perfect: right next to the Freidrichstrasse station on the river bank about 800 metres north of Checkpoint Charlie. The rooms are large, quiet and comfortable with well equipped bathrooms. We didn't have breakfast but did use the bar which also serves food. Bar prices are the same as the local bars which is unusual for a hotel. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Only minor drawback that I could possibly find is the lack of free wifi, but that really is being picky: very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 737av8tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#58 of 635 in Berlin
1,962 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,846 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 635 in Berlin
831 reviews
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Berlin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#22 Family Hotel in Berlin
#25 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £89 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Meliá Berlin! Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to switch off from the world and enjoy the fine detail. All 364 rooms are bright and spacious and offer a seating area as well as bidet and heated bathroom floors. At our Restaurant Café Madrid you can expect fresh products and the best creative international and regional signature cuisine with views to the river Spree. Feel Spanish passion, enjoy culinary delights and let your senses be spoiled by traditional and innovative tapas in the Meliá tapas bar. Located in the heart of the German Capital, directly at Friedrichstraße and next to the River Spree it is just a few minutes walk to monuments and major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museums Island or Alexanderplatz. The Melia Berlin is the perfect choice to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing