We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Melia Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Berlin
Ranked #27 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We were completely surprised by our experience. We were welcomed to the Level by Thomas who could not do enough to help us. The hotel is very well located and is very modern. Museum island is a stroll away. It was hard to believe that we were actually in what used to be East Berlin. Each day Thomas greeted us personally to enquire about our experiences for the day. Our room was superb and the daily servicing was second to none. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Berlin. In particular, the Palace of Tears Museum, behind the office block opposite the hotel, is wonderful. We will be back to berlin in the future and will be staying here again. Jon Williams, Toowoomba, Australia

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,136)
There are newer reviews for Melia Berlin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,422 - 1,428 of 5,136 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Just returned from a four day stay, was excellent. Hotel very clean, room was great, huge bed and we had a balcony. Staff very nice and efficient. Didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment on food.
Location of hotel to all tourist attractions excellent and within walking distance if you don't mind walking. Public transport excellent and hotel right next to Friedrichstraße train station with the underground beneath. Excellent train/underground station.
Berlin was fantastic, really clean city but with a lot of building works being done. Potsdam is also well worth a visit and only takes about 25 mins from Friedrichstraße train station.

All in all Melia hotel excellent value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 630, great with a balcony, even although it looked out over the main Friedrichstra...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiemartinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

friendly staff, good location, nice rooms, clean. we all enjoyed our stay. we only faced one small problem in the room but they solved it in a very nice way. but the main problem is the Wi-Fi signal was very weak in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Hazem B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I spent seven days here while in Berlin. The hotel is a good central location for walking to most sights. The rooms were clean and staff friendly. I would recommend to join the Melia club with that you are given internet access cards for free. There is a Tapas bar inside the hotel where I thought the food was very good. I would stay here on my next visit to Berlin

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHUCKV702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We were happy with most things. clean room etc. BUT no breakfast and no free internet in this category is absolutely unacceptable! Breakfast you can find in 100 meters range a very good one. But internet is really unacceptable not to be provided. Hotels all over Europe have this facility for free but Germans are stingy in everything. anyway I think that in a 4star hotel both above mentioned facilities are a MUST! Even when we asked to make a local phone call we were told that is so expensive that is better to use our Greek mobile phones.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
2  Thank papasouzas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We choose this hotel because of its location. It really didn't disappoint. Walking distance to all the sights but if you want to go further afield the u and s are very very close.
We has a premium room which was very big. The beds are very comfy. Two big singles pushed together but that really doesn't bother us. We had a pillow menus that had a vast choice! Our room faced the Spree and was well worth it. We had a great view of the river and Reichstag, room649. Housekeeping kept the room and bathroom spotless.
Breakfast was great. My husband is a vegetarian and had plenty of choice. I eat meat so had even more.
We didn't try the restaurant so can't comment but we did try the tapas bar. It was good value for money and delicious.
The bar was not open every day when we were there but you could get a drink in the tapas bar.
Main bar does a nice range of cocktails for about €12 depending on what you had. We had a couple at the tapas bar and at main bar - lovely.
Concierge service great - efficient and helpful.
All the staff, no matter what department, were friendly and helpful.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cardiffcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We spent eight nights at Melia Berlin during December 2013/January 2014. The location of the hotel is perfect - you can easily walk to Unter den Linden, or take the U-Bahn or S-Bahn to Alexanderplatz or to the west. There were also several nice restaurants in the neighbourhood.

We really enjoyed our Level room, which was on the 8th floor and had a fantastic view! The room was spacious, nicely decorated and very clean. Since we had a Level room, we had access to the Level lounge, where we had delicious breakfast. The lounge also offers complimentary drinks and tapas in the evenings. The free drinks and food were a nice bonus, but we would have hoped for a larger and healthier variety of food in the evenings. The breakfast, though, was excellent!

The staff at the Level lounge was helpful and friendly, apart from one Spanish speaking waitress who worked on several mornings during our stay. This waitress was friendly to Spanish or German speaking guests, but she was very rude to those who spoke English - sometimes she ignored us completely, and we never saw a smile on her face when she spoke to us. Luckily the other members of staff made us feel welcome, since this particular waitress surely did not.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel due to its great location, beautiful and clean rooms and great breakfast, and would recommend it to everyone wanting to explore Berlin!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#58 of 635 in Berlin
1,962 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,847 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 635 in Berlin
831 reviews
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Berlin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#22 Family Hotel in Berlin
#25 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £89 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Meliá Berlin! Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to switch off from the world and enjoy the fine detail. All 364 rooms are bright and spacious and offer a seating area as well as bidet and heated bathroom floors. At our Restaurant Café Madrid you can expect fresh products and the best creative international and regional signature cuisine with views to the river Spree. Feel Spanish passion, enjoy culinary delights and let your senses be spoiled by traditional and innovative tapas in the Meliá tapas bar. Located in the heart of the German Capital, directly at Friedrichstraße and next to the River Spree it is just a few minutes walk to monuments and major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museums Island or Alexanderplatz. The Melia Berlin is the perfect choice to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing