We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in berlin”
Review of Melia Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Berlin
Ranked #27 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Amazing....first time in berlin and this really was the perfect hotel. Great location for sites, tubes, trams and restaurants. Its on top of everything. We stayed for 4 nights and it was so easy making our way back each evening after all the exploring! And there was always a good atmosphere in the lobby after we had dinner and drinks out, and the cocktails were delish as a nightcap! ill definitely go back!

1  Thank trav2see
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for having chosen the Melia Berlin for your first stay in the german capital.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay and that our location was convinient for you to visit all the sites in the city.
it is also nice to hear that after a long tourist journey you could enjoy the atmosphere and drinks in our lobby bar.
as there is a lot to see in Berlin and the city is continiously changing we would be happy to welcome you for the second time !
best regards,
Felicidad Romero
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,397 - 1,403 of 5,190 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

The hotel is in the perfect location for sightseeing in Berlin. You can walk to Museum Island, river boat trips, Reichstag, Unter den Linden, Hackescher Markt, Brandenburg Gate, Gendarmenmarkt etc. The S-Bahn/U-bahn station is right outside the hotel and it is only 5 minutes walk to the bus stop for the TXL bus direct to Tegel airport. Some nice restaurants nearby - on the left once you cross the bridge over the river.

The room was nice - a typical chain hotel style. My main complaint would be that there was a waterproof mattress cover, which I hate - hot and uncomfortable. The whole hotel is very warm - needed the A/C on in the room the whole time. Breakfast was excellent, good choice on the buffet, and was included in our rate. There is free wifi in the hotel, which worked OK in my room on the 6th floor, though I did opt to pay the €4.95 per 24 hours for the hi-speed wifi on a couple of days.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your stay with us as well as for publishing your experience.
For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact our housekeeping department and they would be able to made your bed the way you feel most comfortable, and our maintenance to regulate the temperature in your room.
We would like to welcome you soon again!
best regards,
Felicidad Romero
Guest Experience Manager - Melia Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Our stay at the Melia Hotel was excellent from start to finish. The staff are so friendly, the breakfasts delicious and the location perfect for all forms of public transport. It is situated in an area that gives you a real sense of the history of Germany.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank routemaster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for letting us and the tripadvisor community know about your super stay.
we were very happy to read from the first to the last word and will be happy to welcome you soon again among us.
best regards and have a nice summer!
Felicidad Romero
Guest Experience Manager - Melia Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Since the moment we arrived the staff was ready to help us, to oferece as pavê named Level. , with Happy hours free with sacos, drinks, computer,printer and free wifi. The hotel hás an excelente spanish restaurant, is near of everything in Berlin. 100 meters from it 2 german restaurants , one french +++\4, a wine público and one irish pub. Every morning the asked what they can help us.Fantastic staff !!!!! The room was very good, you can choose the type os pillow, very clean, a good bathroom , well a place that you must stay in Berlin . And more, everyone speaks English.
NeXT time try Melia Hotel and be Happy as me and my wife

Room Tip: We stayed in a normal double room , not even a special suite.All windows have a triple glass, só the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fernando C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest ,
thank you very much for your great review as well as for having spent you stay in Berlin with us.
it is fantastic to read that you apreciated our staff, the level and our spanish restaurant Melia tapas. we would be gratefull to welcome you soon again.
best regards from all of us.
Felicidad Romero
Guest Experience Manager - Melia Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My girlfriend and I just spent 5 nights at the Melia Berlin. The location is amazing and once you step out the front doors you are in the heart of the city. We had a room facing the river that had 2 windows which fully opened and offered an incredible view of the city. From our room we could even see the top of the Reichstag. Wifi wasn't included, which is ridiculous, and they charge 4 Euro per day to use it. There is free wifi available in the lobby but it is horrible. I understand they're not in business to provide travellers with free wifi but you'd think that in 2014 it would be included in the price (over 300 Euro per night). Breakfast also wasn't included and costs around 25 Euro per person. There are much better places to eat down the street if you want to save money. The room was huge, the bed was comfortable, and there was plenty of space for activities. The hotel also has a gym, spa, a rooftop deck with awesome views of the TV tower, and even a tanning bed. The bathroom had heated floors and the shower was huge. Unfortunately the service we received at the end of the trip was enough for us to avoid staying at this property again. When we checked out there seemed to be an issue with the amount we owed and it took over an hour and a half for it to be settled. This caused us a huge delay and we subsequently missed our train. Had we not experienced this issue the stay would have been quite nice. Overall if you're visiting Berlin this hotel is not much different than many other chain hotels in the area and the service you will receive here is nothing special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river. The windows have a small locking mechanism but can be opened entire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dario P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your 5 days stay with us as well as for your review which we have read very carefully.
We very much regret the inconvieniences you have experienced upon check out which damaged the image of your whole stay.
We can assure that this is not our standard and that we try to solve unexpectable issues as soon as possible and trying not to harm the confort of our guests.
We would like to have the oportunity to welcome you again at the Melia Berlin and convince your from our services from reservation to check out.
Best regards,
Felicidad Romero
Guest Experience Manager - Melia Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I thought the location was A+, the room was a solid B (carpet was a bit worn and the room was warm and I had the thermostat cranked as low as it would go) and the price was right. I'd definitely stay there again. Nice bar too. I had a slight problem with the wifi (it could have been my fault) but the manager was very nice about it and gave me the benefit of the doubt which he didn't have to do so it was a pleasant experience and an example of how nice the staff was.

Room Tip: Don't buy the breakfast...lots of great cafes within a very short walk of the hotel and much che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan57rank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your stay with us, as well as for sharing your experience in Tripadvisor.
we are glad that our staff was helpfull and that you apreciated our service standards.
We regret the inconvienices you have had with the thermostadt. Please do not hesitate to contact our maintenance team at any time during your stay.
we wish you a nice sommer holiday.
best regards,
Felicidad Romero
Guest Experience Manager - Melia Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Loved the location, the room and the restaurant. Excellent package offered if you want to go to see the PALAST theatre show ( the first course is served before the show and then when you come back, they serve the rest. Perfect!!)
What I liked is the Class of this 4star hotel that is more like a 5 star one:-)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very nice for your stay as well as for your nice comment recomending not only the hotel and its location but also the package Restaurant + Friedrichstadtpalast.
we are very happy to know that you have enjoyed and it will be great to welcome you soon for your next stay and the new show!
best regards,
Felicidad Romero
Guest Experience Manager - Melia Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#57 of 635 in Berlin
1,970 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,883 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#12 of 635 in Berlin
841 reviews
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Berlin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#22 Family Hotel in Berlin
#24 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £83 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Meliá Berlin! Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to switch off from the world and enjoy the fine detail. All 364 rooms are bright and spacious and offer a seating area as well as bidet and heated bathroom floors. At our Restaurant Café Madrid you can expect fresh products and the best creative international and regional signature cuisine with views to the river Spree. Feel Spanish passion, enjoy culinary delights and let your senses be spoiled by traditional and innovative tapas in the Meliá tapas bar. Located in the heart of the German Capital, directly at Friedrichstraße and next to the River Spree it is just a few minutes walk to monuments and major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museums Island or Alexanderplatz. The Melia Berlin is the perfect choice to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Melia, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing