We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and central location but with a few cons” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melia Berlin
Ranked #29 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and central location but with a few cons”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is really well placed in a central part of Berlin, easily found be turning left out of the station and it is across the road on the right hand side.

Check in was quick and helpful-we forgot a European plug converter so they sold us one for 5 euros.

The room is laid out like a premier inn. The beds are very comfy and as well as the normal shampoo, etc, there was also a mini sewing kit in a small amenities box-a nice touch. Mini bar was well stocked but very expensive as usual. I was hoping for a kettle/tea making facilities in the room (I'm use to British rooms!) but there wasn't one.

The bathroom was comfortable with a low power hair dryer and BD, bath and powerful shower.

The room was well cleaned every day with fresh bedding and towels when requested which was great.

Lift to rooms is operated by the key card. You can get 50mb free wifi a day in the lobby which I used in 10 mins and was quite slow- so I am not sure it was 50mb as this usually lasts me for days.

Cons:
The fan in the bathroom runs all night and day, I have quite sensitive hearing and it kept me awake at times. Also we were at the front of the building and I could hear the trains roar in and out of the station-but I guess that's just part of the central location! Also there was a light on a temperature box on the wall which lit up the room all night making it hard to sleep at times.

I had read about the brilliant 'The Level' and looked forward to having a drink up there and looking over the city. But it is only for guests paying for breakfast/dinner, so we couldn't use it unfortunately.

Also, I had read in a review that there was a swimming pool but there isn't, a bit disappointing as I will looking forward to that. There is a gym and sauna which I can't use as pregnant but I'm sure it's good for other guests.

Overall, it's a good place for seeing Berlin as very central and comfortable, but was a bit noisy and bright at night and not all facilities are available for all guests.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shinealways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review as well as for having chosen the Melia Berlin for your recent stay in the german capital.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and regret the cons you have experienced.
if you plan to come to Berlin again we would be happy to offer you a quiet room in the level area.

This higher room category includes access to the exclusive THE LEVEL lounge for a very competitive suppliment. Among the services included you can find an exclusive breakfast, drinks during the day, fruit and cakes, an evening apperitiv buffet with fingerfood and alcoholic drinks, internet service, separate reception ...
Regarding the green light please do not hesitate to contact us regarding this issue and we will be happy to help you to hide it.

we wish you all the best with your pregnancy and we look forward to meet you as well as the baby in a future visit Berlin.

best regards,

Felicidad Romero
Guest Experience Manager - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,780
    1,464
    231
    55
    25
See reviews for
725
2,201
224
693
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Perfectly located, modern and comfortable hotel. The staff at reception desk was really friendly and helpful. They even offered us their garage to keep our bicicles. Rental of bikes a bit expensive comparing with other rent a bikes nearby. The room was comfortable and well equiped. Fitness room and particularly sauna was ideal after a long day visiting museums. The hotel is in the city center and perfect for visiting the beautiful city of Berlin.

Room Tip: Rooms to the main street have better views to Spree river, but with opened window they could be a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maite120570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,
thank your very much for your stay and for your excellent review.
it is for us a great motivation to know that you have apreciated our staff and services and that you have enjoyed the city.
we would like to welcome you soon again!
best regards,
Felicidad Romero
Guest Experience Manager - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Melia is in a perfect position for Berlin sightseeing. The Brandenburg gate and Unter Den Linden are comfortable walks. The hotel is right next door to Friedrichstrasse U and S Bahn stations, from where you can easily access the rest of the many attractions wonderful Berlin has to offer.
As (I believe) a new hotel, the hotels decor reflects this. The rooms are a very good size and very modern. The heated tiles in the bathroom were a nice touch. There is a nice tapas bar on the ground level of this hotel which is a nice spot for an afternoon drink. We stayed for four nights, but only had breakfast in the hotel once. The buffet selection is good and the restaurant is a nice location to start the day.
While I liked this hotel, and would recommend it to other travellers, I was a little disappointed with some of the service. While the staff were professional and attended to requests quickly, nothing was done with a great deal of friendliness or enthusiasm. With so many hotels to pick from in Berlin, it is the small "customer service touches" that can make the difference and I think perhaps this is where the Melia fell down somewhat.
As far as value for money goes, this hotel was sensational value. As ever, book as far ahead as possible for the best rates.
Overall, a great hotel, in a really great location. While some finishing touches from a service point of view would have been nice, you won't be disappointed if you base yourself at this hotel for your next Berlin trip!

Room Tip: Like much of Europe, the air-con is a little average. The door in the room can also be opened as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CraigJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your stay as well as for your comment and your open words about the service you have experienced. We are glad that you liked the hotel and that you recomend us.
We can assure that the service that you describe is not our standard and we can promise that your words will help us to sensibilise our team in showing our passion for service everytime as, as you mention, makes a big difference.
We would like to welcome you soon again and convince you of our natural friendliness and enthusiasm.
Best regards and have a great summer,
Felicidad Romero
Guest Experience Manager - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

About a 10 minute walk to the Brandenburg Gate and just round the corner from Unter den Linden, sits the Melia Berlin.
Staying here for business meant that I didn't see an awful lot of the hotel but impressions were that it was very clean, fresh and the staff were helpful with whatever query I had of them.
The free wifi was slow but you can pay to upgrade to a faster connection, the free one was fine for checking emails however.
The breakfast was impressive, not expecting much beyond a bread roll at 6am in the morning, it was great to find a whole host of cooked items, cold meats and cheeses, pastries etc - the bircher museli was my favourite.
Would recommend this hotel as either a base for exploring Berlin or for business as it delivers on both.
Rooms facing the street have a view but with a bit more noise. For a quieter room ask for one facing inwards towards the courtyard.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have a view but with a bit more noise. For a quieter room ask for one facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goblin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The room was spotless and well designed, decorated and furnished. Staff where very friendly and helpful. And it was in such a convenient spot with bus route to all the tourist attractions just across the road. I would definitely return to this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mymarkymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,
we will definatly welcome you back without hesitation and show you again our passion for service and our well manteined and clean hotel! we would be really gratefull!
thank you very much from all the team!
Best regards,
Felicidad Romero
Guest Experience Manager - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Berlin, also one of my favorite cities in Germany. When we go, we stay at Melia, and look for Melia whenever we travel elsewhere. What atmosphere, and have yet to meet a staff member who is not at the top of his or her game. Visit here, become a member.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Location, location, location. Plus one of the most outstanding breakfasts I have had in a hotel make the Melia an excellent choice. I recommend a premium room to include their breakfast; take your time and savor the food and service. Overall service was fine. This is along the river in a business district that went quiet for the weekend. Yet, it is also easy walking distance to the Brandenberg Gate, Holocaust Memorial, and other sights near by. This is a large, modern hotel with very good amenities and when booked early, was a good value. Rooms at this price point were large and comfortable. Try to get a room overlooking the river. Another large office building is across the street and view to that are dull.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soljaz65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#6 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#46 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#11 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Property: Melia Berlin
Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Berlin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#22 Family Hotel in Berlin
#27 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Meliá Berlin! Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to switch off from the world and enjoy the fine detail. All 364 rooms are bright and spacious and the exclusive DreaMax mattress allow you to relax and to dream pleasantly. At our Restaurant Café Madrid you are awaited by fresh products and the best creative international and regional signature cuisine with views to the river Spree. Feel Spanish passion, enjoy culinary delights and let your senses be spoiled by traditional and innovative tapas in the Meliá tapas bar. Located in the heart of the German Capital, directly at Friedrichstraße and next to the River Spree it is just a few minutes walk to monuments and major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museums Island or Alexanderplatz. The Melia Berlin is the perfect choice to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Melia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing