We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay and stunning breakfast...”
Review of Melia Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Berlin
Ranked #34 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent stay and stunning breakfast...”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here right before Christmas 2013 to visit the markets.

Staff were very helpful and completely fluent in English. Rooms were clean and quiet.

Breakfast here is particularly good and the choice is vast - get down there early to avoid it being really busy.

We had wi-fi and a $15/day credit allowance included as part of the melia members club so that made the whole stay even better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoOfficialComment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review about the Melia Berlin.
Christmas is soon and we would like to welcome you back at our Hotel.
Best regards,
Felicidad Romero
Guest Experience Manager - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,908
    1,551
    240
    56
    26
See reviews for
773
2,315
232
716
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I really can't fault this hotel. Massive rooms, which are immaculately clean; similarly spotless bathroom. Friendly, helpful staff. We elected to pay for the premium internet (about €5 per day for three devices) and it was incredibly fast. The location is great, being very close to the river, the Brandenburg Gate and a tube station (Friedrichstrasse). I'd definitely stay here again.

My partner had one minor gripe, and that is that the gym was tiny and of the limited equipment there, one machine was broken and wasn't fixed during our stay, despite the hotel's assurance that maintenance would remedy it straight away. Still, I don't much care about the hotel's gym and I thought the hotel was brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CLHScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your stay as well as for sharing your experience with the tripadvisor community.
We are glad you have enjoyed your stay and the city and regret the "gripe" from your partner.
We regret to hear that she could not use one of the machines in our gym and we can assure that our technicians did all the best to repair it the quickest posible.
We would like to welcome you soon again among us at the Melia Berlin.
Best regards,
Felicidad Romero
Guest Experience Manager -Meliá Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is first-rate in every way! It is kept in pristine condition and it is obvious that the hotel employees take pride in their work. Maximilian, the Concierge, is second to none and was enormously helpful to my wife and me. Important, too, was the hotel's accommodation of my gluten-free diet and the availability of smoking rooms. The Level is terrific, breakfast outstanding and the location of the hotel can't be beat! Bravo Melia Berlin!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear First-Rate Guests !

thank you very much for your stay at THE LEVEL as well as for your review which is a fantastic dose of motivation for all of us!

Come to visit us soon again at let us take care of you!
best regards and have a fantastic summer!

Felicidad Romero
Guest Experience Manager - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My last visit to this hotel was not good (rude staff) and I swore never to return, but had no choice. Not the best start, but this trip was much better though the place is a bit odd. The staff were polite this time, which was a big improvement, though they rarely smile and check out was very slow. Several members of staff were busy on the computers and determined to ignore the growing queue of customers. My room was fine, but had some strange features - for example, a lovely walk in shower area with a really cheap plastic shower curtain. Why? The room offered free wifi for a limited period, which was good and better than most hotels manage, but there was no information on how to access it. If you ring reception and wait 20 mins, someone comes up with some scraps of paper that have a wifi code on them. No idea why this is so difficult. Or why guests can't be given the codes on check in. The location is great, providing you don't get a room next to the railway line, very central, near shops and the Brandenburg gate, and right on the river. Several of my colleagues really love this hotel. I wouldn't worry about staying here again, but it's a shame the service lets down what could be a great hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the side near the railway station
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller_constant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for coming back to the Melia Berlin and given us a second oportunity.
we are very glad to know that your stay this time was more pleasant.
we can assure you once again that for us it is extremly important the friendliness and proffesionality of our collaborators and that non of them ignore the customers.
we always plan our staff depending on the hotel occupancy and unfortunatly sometimes it is impossible for us to avoid the qeues.
Regarding the shower curtain we can inform you that this is due to security reasons, as these rooms are suitable for dissable guests.
For your next visit in which we want to convince you a 100% please do not hesitate to contact us and express your room preferences.
we look forward to welcome you again,
best regards,
Felicidad Romero
Guest Experience Manager - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BG
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel in the heart of Berlin, and wonderful service from end to end! Our room had superb view to the city across the river, amazing for watching or walking around. Very eazy acess from the airport. Great place to stay and my sure choice for next visit of Berlin! :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maya_BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your excellent review which makes us very proud of our product and services. We look forward to welcome you soon in the german capital.
best regards,
Felicidad Romero
Guest Experience Manager - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

To be fair this hotel is nice, and rooms facing courtyard is quiet. You can get more wifi vouchers if needed. Big issue was on checkout. If you book through the website you get 15 euro credit per day. Receptionist charged me for the items consumed. Took a long time to sort out. If I hadn't been assertive i would have paid they were clearly trying to defraud people as the lady next to me was also arguing with them about it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank wtcmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your stay with us.
We very much regret the impression you have had upon check out, and we can guarantie that there was no bad intention hidden behind. We have been offering those guests who book through our channel this advantage since about two years; and only have very happy guests and good feedback.
Though the discount is not done automatically through the sistem but manually though our front office team upon check out. It can happen that if we do not receive the voucher upon check in or there is a misscomunitaction we do not apply the discount as we can not see it directly.
We very much regret the inconvienices and once again assure you that we are very proud of being able to offer this advantage to our precious guests.

we would like to welcome you again at the melia Berlin and convince you about our services and honesty.

best regards,

Felicidad Romero
Guest Experience Manager - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salerno, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Apart from the check in (done by a very rude & unfriendly person, Mr. F. Garros Rivas who made us very unwelcome people) all the other aspects of the Hotel were ok.
The room was very quite facing the courtyard and the breakfast was very good.
The location is perfect beeing on the FriedrichStrasse and next to the metro station.
The Tapas bar was good at reasonable prices.
A bit overpriced the Minibar in the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
2 Thank Arcobaleno71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your stay as well as for your open words which we have read very carefully and helps us to sensibilise our team.
We very much regret the impression you have had from the check in and we can assure that there was not a bad intention.
We all chose the hospitality to develop our professional careers and we have to show our natural friendliness and proffesionalism at all the times.
we would be very glad to welcome you soon and convince you from our friendliness.
Best regards,
Felicidad Romero
Guest Experience Manager - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#52 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#12 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Property: Melia Berlin
Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Berlin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#22 Family Hotel in Berlin
#31 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Meliá Berlin! Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to switch off from the world and enjoy the fine detail. All 364 rooms are bright and spacious and the exclusive DreaMax mattress allow you to relax and to dream pleasantly. At our Restaurant Café Madrid you are awaited by fresh products and the best creative international and regional signature cuisine with views to the river Spree. Feel Spanish passion, enjoy culinary delights and let your senses be spoiled by traditional and innovative tapas in the Meliá tapas bar. Located in the heart of the German Capital, directly at Friedrichstraße and next to the River Spree it is just a few minutes walk to monuments and major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museums Island or Alexanderplatz. The Melia Berlin is the perfect choice to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Melia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing