We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Berlin
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
i31 Hotel(Berlin)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Swissotel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$532
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$392
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (5,543)
Filter reviews
5,544 results
Traveller rating
3,394
1,773
277
68
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,394
1,773
277
68
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstapas barmelia hotellevel loungemuseum islandfriedrichstrasse stationgreat locationriver viewbrandenburg gatespree riverper daywithin walking distancepillow menuunter den lindenfree wifiexcellent hotelmajor sitesmini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,424 - 1,429 of 5,544 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 days with work. I had a very good experience. I asked for a non smoking quiet room and got a quiet room on the 4th floor far away from elevators. The room was quiet didn't hear anyone really. Big and clean. With a small bathtub. Small flat screen TV with 2 English news channels. I also tried their pillow service and got a pillow filled with seeds, not really what I expected but I liked it and its a nice service to have.

The breakfast was good, no complaints, you can select your own omelette, get fried eggs the way you like it and all the normal features. There was also sparkling wine at the breakfast buffet.

I wanted to use the treadmill in the fitness centre on the 8th floor but it was always busy and it was rather cold up there anyway so I went out for my runs instead. You can get a 5k run just to the beginning of Tiergarten and back by the river. The fitness centre is small but has some free weights, cycle and a cross trainer. There is a door out to the roof from the area as well you can get a view over the front street.

I took the 128 bus from Tegel to Kurt-Schumacher station and the s-bahn from there to Fredrichstrasse station, just by the hotel, took about 25min cost €2.6. Took a taxi back to Tegel which the hotel arranged for me for €26.

The hotel is located very good, took me about 30min to walk to Alexander platz. 20min to Checkpoint Charlie. There is a supermarket in the Fredrichstrasse station. Shops and restaurants just by the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soffis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear bussines Guest,

thank you very much for having chosen the Melia Berlin for your 3 day "work trip" to the german capital. we are very glad that you have had a nice stay and would love to be your second home when you come to this city.
we look forward to welcome you soon again.
best regards and have nice rest of the summer,

Felicidad Romero
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

It's our 6th or 7th time at this hotel,and it's one of the best to stay at if you vitis Berlin.
Great location near FriedrichStrasse station,with most of the attraction near by.
Good service,great breakfast!(even if it became more expensive).
Quite and clean rooms ,LED TV with CNN and BBC news and free Wi-Fi.
If you need a kettle to make your own coffee or tea,just ask for it at the reception.
One more importent thing, if it's your first time there i will reccomend you to be a member at Melia hotels,you'll get many benefits on your staying (such as newspaper at the door in the morning,possibility to a late check out,Wi-Fi, extra voucher to use at the hotel plus extra points that you'll might use later.
Another great benefit with membership is that on your birthday you'll get the opportunity to get one free night if you book 2,3.or 4 night!
Good luck.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank amnonvekill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Regular Guest.
thank you very much for your faith to the Melia Berlin as well as for recomending our hotel, and its loyalty program Melia Rewards to the tripadvisor community.
We are very glad to have you among us every year and look forward to welcome you soon again.
best regards from Berlin to Norway!
Felicidad Romero
Guest Experience Manager - Melia Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Very central. Walking distance to "Brandenburger Tor", "Reichstag" and "Checkpoint Charly". A great choice of restaurants in the proximity of the hotel. Very large and quite room. Very polite staff. Standard of the room was very good. The wifi is sluggish.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JanCux2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your stay with us as well as for your review which is nice to read.
we would like to welcome you soon again at the Melia Berlin.
best regards from Berlin,
Felicidad Romero
Guest Experience Manager - Melia Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I usually travel to Berlin twice a year on business and this is the only hotel I will stay at. The hotel is only a short cab ride from the airport and is walking distance to many attractions. The subway system is also very close to the hotel. The staff is nice and helpful. The rooms are a good size and clean. Breakfast is very plentiful. Will continue to stay here when visiting Berlin.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vangelli9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your nice comment. We are glad to know that you will stay with us everytime you come on bussines to Berlin and we are very thankfull for recomendind us.
Please do not hesitate to contact us every time you need anything to organise your travell to Berlin.
We look forward to welcome you soon in your 2nd home in the german capital.
best regards to the other side of the ocean!
Felicidad Romero
Guest Experience Manager - Melia Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

As others have indicated this is an ideal location to explore the most important Berlin museums on Museum island, close walk to the Brandenburg gate, neighborhood has a variety of affordable restaurants, and the rooms are modern and clean. I booked this through European Destinations with breakfast and I am glad I did because the morning buffets were exceptionally good and fueled us through the day. They were accommodating for vegetarian and gluten free items in the buffet. The train, tram, and buses are a few feet away from the hotel entrance so very convenient for public transportation.

How to get there- Taxis with tip is around 20 euros from Tegel if you have a lot of luggage or take the 128 bus from the airport to Kurt-Schumacher plaza on the u-Bahn and it is a direct shot to Friedrichstrasse station (use north exit) and the hotel will be right across the street.

Best value-- if you plan to visit lots of sights and museums, Berlin pass is well worth it. We saved a lot of money buying the 3 day pass. It also gives you one public transport pass per day which you can use during the days you are using the berlin pass or other days. Remember that the time in the berlin pass starts the first time the museum or attraction pass is scanned. We spent the first day going to the Hard Rock Cafe to pick up our berlin pass and walk around the Ku'Damn which is a good shopping area.

Best nearby food to the hotel that is vegetarian and gluten free (or you just need a break from German food) : Vietnam, Bombay, Tex-Mex Cantina, and DaVinci. Best fast food-- the Donner Kebap right outside the hotel.

Room tip: Email in advance asking for your desired floor. We were in 444 and had good views and quiet. Rooms facing the street are ok, the windows are thick so no problem. But best to stay on the higher floors.

Wifi tip: if connectivity is important to you, pay the daily 4.95 euros to have the high speed wifi. It it good for 24 hours and you will need to get the password and sign up for it daily.

Getting around: Public transport is awesome. Just be sure whether you are taking the s-Bahn, u-Bahn or the bus. Ask at least two people for directions so you increase your chances that they are right.

Timing: best to go to the Pergammon and line up by 915 am or so for a 10 o'clock opening because lines get long very fast. Or go around 330 or 4 pm which we did and the line was relatively short. Go to the Bundestag and reserve for breakfast in advance-- allows you to skip lines and the views are breathtaking and you get to take the tour using the audio guide even if the tours are full.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank scarlett h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews