We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking a service culture”
Review of Melia Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Berlin
Ranked #28 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 August 2014

When you are checking in and the person serving you answers the phone and spends the next 10 minutes on the call, you do get concerned. The person who eventually came to take over our checkin was so abrupt and talked I a robotic fashion, our opinion of the Amelia was tainted from the beginning
On the positive side! The room was good - clean, comfortable, great bathroom, and the location for seeing the sights is really good
Unfortunately that does not make up for the staff attitude. Everyone has their eyes down when you walk in the door - not a smile or a hello to be found - this will not win repeat customers If it were not for this I would have rated a 4

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaBerlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melia Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your open words regarding your experience, which we have read very carefully.
We regret your impresions you have had, and we can assure that we train all of our team with our "Passion for service" service culture. Natural friendliness, proactive guest needs anticipation, being helpfull and professional are very important for us, as we know that this makes a huge difference.

We would like to have the oportunity to welcome you again and convince you about our high service standards, friendliness and proffesionalism.

Felicidad Romero
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,125)
There are newer reviews for Melia Berlin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,239 - 1,245 of 5,125 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

The hotel is right at the heart of the city, stone's throw away from Friedrichstrasse station and next to the river. Great restaurants nearby, including steakhouses and German bars. There are major stores along the road, as well well as convenience stores selling all essentials. Hotel's breakfast was wonderful, as was the service by staff. The hotel wears a smart look and feel, and is very clean. The room and bathroom are both very spacious and comfortable. The free wi-fi however, was practically useless. I had to take paid option which was quite fast.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank Sabir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaBerlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melia Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed the hotel, its location and our team, and that you found that we wear a nice look and feel. it is a pleasure to read you and it would be even better to welcome you soon again and delight you with our services.
Best regards,
Felicidad Romero
Guest Experience Manager - Melia Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

After hearing so many positive things about this hotel,we were really looking forward to our stay here. What a massive let down, we obviously were unlucky enough to catch them on a bad week

Whilst our room was large and clean and the buffet breakfast a delight each morning,that is about where the positives ended.

The day we arrived we asked if we could pay extra to extend our stay by half a day due to having a very late night flight and therefore a late transfer to the airport. We were told, after they checked with a supervisor we could have a 2pm checkout.The night before we were due to leave,upon checking again, we were informed we would have to leave at the usual time as they had now booked other guests into the room. Obviously the extra money was more important than an existing guest's comfort,however it would have been nice if they had notified us about this instead of saying nothing until we asked. One wonders what would have happened if we had gone out for the day,believing we had the late checkout as we had been told?

We were advised we were welcome to sit in the lobby until our transfer to the airport arrived(6 hours later)
At least we were allowed to store our suitcases in their luggage room.

Earlier the same day they sent 3 different people saying they wanted to do a full clean of the room AFTER being told we would only like the towels changed.(obviously in preparation was the new guests, so again they had an opportunity to make us aware they were no long going to honour the late check out)

We booked a tour via the front desk but they did'nt tell us we would not be brought back to the hotel afterwards leaving us to make our own way back without any knowledge of the language or area.Had we been made aware of this we would have not booked the tour at all .

The charge of 5 Euro a day for the wi-fi might not have been so bad had it not been so achingly slow, every other hotel I stayed at during my trip offered free wi-fi and, with all but one exception, it was far superior.


There was also a fire alarm due to a 'technical' malfunction. These things happen but turning the lights of in the stairwell during whilst people are re-entering is rather dangerous (as is being shoved in the back by another guest whilst trying to walk down the stairs)

After all this,it would have been nice to have a hot coffee, but,of course, no tea/coffee making facilities so the local cafes must love this place.

We also made them aware,twice,of items missing from the mini bar, whilst we did not 'want' these items,nor did we want to be charged for them when they were never there in the first place. Upon check out, they were reading the total charges and tried to add in the items from the mini bar

We were certainly not left with a good impression and will not be returning

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Finngirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This hotel on the corner of busy Friedrichstrasse and the river Spree is only a 10 minutes walk from both Museum Island as well as from the Brandenburg Gate. There is a boat landing right in front of the hotel from where you can take various types of river cruises. All the river bank restaurants across the bridge from the hotel have open air seating. Rather than have the expensive hotel breakfast we enjoyed waking across the bridge to the "Wiener Kaffeehaus an der Spree" which has a great variety of breakfast options.
Our room was very quiet - you wouldn't believe you are in a big city. The bath room was spacious and well equipped with amenities; toilet and bath tub were neatly separated.
Special mention to the excellent concierge service which provided very helpful tips and solved all our problems/questions.The hotel has a parking garage but as a tourist you really don't need a car as long as you stay within the city. Everything is easily accessible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the court yard. Street facing rooms might be noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AhasverSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This hotel is perfect for travelers, in groups or family. The rooms are clean, new and very spacious. It have different areas that you can use all time. The employees are very friendly and always available for help you. We Knew Karina Acosta who served us as special guest. The location is perfect, near to the historic places and the modern center of Berlin.

Room Tip: Seven floor have a exclusive service.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank José Odalis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

Dear The Level Guest,

thank you very much for your stay, the kind review and your special mention to Mrs. Acosta.
we are all very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay and we would like to be able to pamper you soon again.
best regards,
Felicidad Romero
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Hotel is in a really great location, excellent large rooms which are nicely furnished with huge bathrooms, breakfast is all you could ever need to eat and overall a great stay with very friendly service. Gym is very ordinary which was the only negative of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank chookie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your stay with us.
We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and regret taht you did not like our small fitness area.
We would like to welcome you soon again.
Best regards,
Felicidad Romero
Guest Experience Manager- Melia Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Our base for a ladies weekend in Berlin. Booked as a package on a great value for money deal. Lovely hotel, really well located - exited Friedrichstrasse Station and saw the hotel across the road. Amazingly quiet, no noise from neighbours, corridors or traffic. Smart room and bathroom with underfloor heating. Nice facilities, helpful staff, windows to watch the world go by. We pounded the pavements visiting an enormous range of sights - Checkpoint Charlie, the Holocaust Memorial, Barndeburg Gate, the Reichstag (free - book in advance), walked through the Tiergarten to KaDeWe via the Victory Column, popped over to Museum Insel (less than half a mile). Found good value for money food just over the bridge (StaV and Brasserie Freidrichstrasse). Would recommend this hotel without reservation.

Room Tip: I think you will be fine whichever room you have but some do have a river view
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chinkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest and lady friends,
we are very happy to read your positive review and to know that you have enjoyed your weekend in Berlin. We thank you for recomending us to the tripadvisor community.
Berlin is always worth coming back! and... if not again a ladys weekend... why not a family weekend?
Anyhow we would like to welcome you all soon again!
Best regards,
Felicidad Romero
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#59 of 635 in Berlin
1,962 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,840 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 635 in Berlin
830 reviews
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Berlin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#22 Family Hotel in Berlin
#25 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £90 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Meliá Berlin! Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to switch off from the world and enjoy the fine detail. All 364 rooms are bright and spacious and offer a seating area as well as bidet and heated bathroom floors. At our Restaurant Café Madrid you can expect fresh products and the best creative international and regional signature cuisine with views to the river Spree. Feel Spanish passion, enjoy culinary delights and let your senses be spoiled by traditional and innovative tapas in the Meliá tapas bar. Located in the heart of the German Capital, directly at Friedrichstraße and next to the River Spree it is just a few minutes walk to monuments and major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museums Island or Alexanderplatz. The Melia Berlin is the perfect choice to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing