We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel!”
Review of Melia Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Berlin
Ranked #27 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at Melia hotel during 2 days and we had a great experiance with the hotel. Our room was a Executive Suite and it was fine, it wasn´t anything extraordanary but it was spotless and bigger than your average room. You always get a complemenaty newpapper at least in spanish and you get free tapas in your room.
I can recommend "The level" which is free for the guset at the 7-8 th floor and there U get free tapas, drinks and buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molokoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,136)
There are newer reviews for Melia Berlin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,142 - 2,148 of 5,136 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2010

Have nothing but praise for this hotel, everything was just excellent. We stayed at The Level on the 7th floor, which is recommended if you care for that little extra, including a very rich breakfast and a high level of service. We enjoyed the Tapas bar on the grouind floor too.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We chose Melia Berlin based on Trip Advisor reviews and were not sorry. The location is scenic for a city hotel—right on the Spree River—and within a 15 minute walk of many major "must see" sites, such as museum island and the Reichstag. Additionally, the "S" bahn (local trains) and "U" bahn (underground) are less than a block from the hotel.
We stayed on "The Level," which is basically a "concierge" floor, offering a lounge for breakfast from 7 to 10 a.m., snacks and drinks until 10 p.m., and hors de 'oeuvres and open bar from 6 to 10 p.m. Since we do like our cocktails, this was an exceptional bargain, considering a drink in the bar downstairs was Euro 9! The breakfast offerings were excellent, ranging from pastries to smoked salmon to eggs cooked to order. The lounge is staffed with a helpful concierge who can offer restaurant suggestions and make reservations. Two computers with Internet access were available at no charge in the lounge. Otherwise there was a hefty charge for wifi in your room.
Rooms were very comfortable and clean and contained 2 easy chairs, a desk, and a flat screen TV. Our only complaint was that we couldn't adjust the AC low enough and had to open the window at night, exposing us to traffic noise—which wasn't all that bad.
We did not eat in the Tapas bar, but did try the restaurant. Our meal there was not one we would recommend, however. There are a number of restaurants within a 10 minute walk, some good, some not so. Ask the concierge.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mair1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We had high hopes that the Melia was the right hotel for us and our friends to use as our base for a 4 night stay in Berlin and it was. The position is ideal; it is near so much including the Friedrichstrasse station. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and well equipped. The breakfast was as good as many other reviewers have stated - probably better than at other Melia hotels where we have stayed previously. We booked very early and got an excellent flexible rate on both out room and the breakfast. If we go back to Berlin, I wouldn't bother to look anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Date of stay 08 October -11 October 2010

I'm currently in the hotel as I type this; it's my first day here and so the style of my review will reflect the fact I'm writing this in 'real-time' so to speak.

My friend and I arrived and waited for someone at the desk to serve us - which wasn't too long. The place wasn't overly busy but the two staff who were manning the reception desk were busy dealing with phonecalls and other hotel guests. We arrived there at circa 11am and were given rooms - so great result - no waiting around. The porter took our luggage and took it to our rooms who was a lovely Ethiopian chap who spoke excellent ... fluent English and showed us around the room and all it's functions.

We stayed in rooms on the 3rd floor. Considering we both had single rooms the rooms were very big and the the bed appeared to be two single beds pushed together we made for a very wide bed. However the the bedding was also for single beds ... so no double duvet - strange?! The single duvet aren't comfortable and kept falling off - why not have a large duvet since the room has two single beds oushed together??!!
There were footprints in the room, which I thought was odd... not my footprint. I think they ned to give the carpet a very good clean.

We wanted to go to lunch and did have designs on going to the tapas restaurant in the hotel - despite my protestations to my friend given the reviews on Trip Advisor I'd read before coming. In the foyer on the way to the tapas bar, we happened upon the porter who suggested that we go out and eat in the main shopping areas rather than eat in the tapas bar as he didn't consider it to be very good! So I was particularly pleased he said this given my initial reservations. So we ended up eating in a cafe called Boulevard Friedrichstrasse which served German food was excellent and of very high quality.
After going for a walk in the evening we had a coffee in the cafe/bar attached to the hotel, which was ok and fairly non-descript.

I then went to check out the gym which is located on the 8th Floor. The gym was less than inspired. The equipment looed like that of a hom gym rather than a professional hotel gym. The free weights consist of two dumbells - I am quite disappointed as I used a lot of suitcase space on my gym clothes!

Good points -
Location situated a few minutes walk from the river, Brandenburg Gate, Reistag
Spacious clean rooms/bathroom
24-hr gym facility and clean sauna equipped with towels, sunbed and sun-loungers

Bad Points -
Gym equipment
WiFi - not free (should be in this day and age) and costs a very pricely 17Euros per 24hrs or 10Euros for 1 hour.
Business rates are even higher 22Euro for 24-hrs and 88Euros for 7 days.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chachachingching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We showed up unannounced without a reservation in late June and the room was not only a good price, but the view of the river was outstanding. The restaurant in the hotel was a bit pricey, but the bar was reasonable and quite comfortable. We were staying during the World Cup, so the noise from the street was a little distracting (Germany won!). The location was excellent...just a few blocks from Brandenburg Gate and next to the river.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neushan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

berlin has so many hotels to choose from, very difficult to say where to stay. this place is a business hotel with a international crowd, many spanish visitors due to the chain's home. reception staff is extraordinary helpful, from airline web check in to giving directions to arranging a late breakfast. on the lower floor inner court rooms one feels a bit observed when the courtains are open, but the interior is new and modern.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lkjhgZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#58 of 635 in Berlin
1,962 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,847 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 635 in Berlin
831 reviews
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Berlin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#22 Family Hotel in Berlin
#25 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £89 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Meliá Berlin! Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to switch off from the world and enjoy the fine detail. All 364 rooms are bright and spacious and offer a seating area as well as bidet and heated bathroom floors. At our Restaurant Café Madrid you can expect fresh products and the best creative international and regional signature cuisine with views to the river Spree. Feel Spanish passion, enjoy culinary delights and let your senses be spoiled by traditional and innovative tapas in the Meliá tapas bar. Located in the heart of the German Capital, directly at Friedrichstraße and next to the River Spree it is just a few minutes walk to monuments and major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museums Island or Alexanderplatz. The Melia Berlin is the perfect choice to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing