We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a pension, not a hotel.”
Review of Hotel Alte Galerie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alte Galerie
Ranked #72 of 188 Berlin B&B and Inns
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It is a pension, not a hotel.”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This is definitely a pension. So it has just a few rooms. Mine was quite big and quite clean. Towels were changed every day and breakfast was good, even if not too varied. The bad thing was the bed. I found it quite uncomfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    21
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
15
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We recently spent a weekend in Berlin, and we had booked into the Alte Galerie. On arrival our bags were carried upstairs by the propeitor and we were shown to our rooms, which were stunning! Our rooms were light , airy and incredibly clean, and were really well equipped. The breakfast was also amazing the next morning.
What makes this hotel stand out from the rest is the personal service - the propreitor couldn't have been more helpful and went out of his way to help us and go that extra mile.
The hotel is beautiful and beautifully decorated.
We would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel - if you were in London, you would pay over £100 for this hotel!
Es war wunderbar!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands - uk - Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2009

The hotel is on a floor of a building block. That was a shock to start with but then I wqas positively surpirsed with the rooms and the location. The location is really the biggest strenght of the place, very close to everything including the station and the shops. It also has free wifi and a nice breakfast included in the price which is definitely very low compared to the prices charged in that area. I would defnitely use it again as a base for work..or pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlNetherlands5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2007

I travelled to berlin on Business in Feb for One night in room 5 (there are only 8 rooms) and, needed to be close to Kurfurstendamm. I found this online for 58 Euros pernight including continental breakfast. I booked through Venere.com which I always find the to be the cheapest rates and, best before and, after customer service.

I got to the hotel quite late and, had to ring the door for quite a while as the staff leave at 10pm I was lucky that they were still there tidying up and let me in. The hotel is on the first floor of an apartment buliding just of the main stretch of Kurfurstendamm. It is easy to find and, has a hotel nameplate on the wall.

The staff were freindly and, very helpful with directions etc. The Rooms have high ceilings and, plenty of space with a small televison with cable and, limited minibar options. The Bathroom is very small if your a larger person I would not recommend staying here as the squeeze around the sink is a bit tight to get to the toilet. The shower was also small but had a power shower head and, the water pressure and, temp were fine.

Bonus is Free wireless internet you just need to get a login from reception and, it is quite fast broadband so no troubles with work. The room I had was on the street level and, traffice noise could be heard but the road is not busy over night so I was able to get to sleep.

Breakfast is taken in a small quaint room and, is a reasonable continental breakfast included in the price.

So yep thats Free breakfast, Free Wireless internet, cable tv and, accommodation in a comfortable room One Block from The main street and, boutiques. BARGAIN.

I felt quite safe too. There is a buzzer/key door to get in the the main building, then another door up the stairs to get into the hotel hallway and, then another key for the room. The builing is old and, so are the keys so get the staff to show you how the keys work just in case as I spent a little while figuring out the lock.

Nearby is a 24 hour service station and, Kurfurstendamm has a Supermarket 2 blocks away with plenty of bars and, small diners just across the road. Its a couple of blocks from the mailine rail Charlottenburg station but the busses and, Underground rail on Kurfurstendamm are very close

So for a whistlestop tour to Berlin I found it great and, would happily suggest it to anyone who wasnt looking for 5 stars or choclates on pillows but just somewhere comfortable and, close to everything.

  • Liked — Free wireless internet that worked and, the freindly staff
  • Disliked — The bathroom was quite small and, hotel is on level 1 close to the street
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Phicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Pension Majesty Berlin Hotel
Charlottenburg
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#438 of 634 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Art Nouveau
Hotel Art Nouveau
#306 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel Pension Ingeborg
Hotel Pension Ingeborg
#34 of 188 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pension Peters
Pension Peters
#8 of 188 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Pension Absolut Berlin
Pension Absolut Berlin
#21 of 188 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alte Galerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alte Galerie

Property: Hotel Alte Galerie
Address: Leibnizstr. 48, 10629 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Alte Galerie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alte Galerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing