We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adele Designhotel Berlin
Ranked #336 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Northern California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Charming hotel with a fabulous staff. We had one of those complicated trips and communicated with the hotel before our arrival. They were very responsive and accommodating, addressing every one of our unusual issues. The room was very nice and the bathroom was simply luxurious. The hotel offered internet and a full breakfast. We enjoyed the breakfast very much, the selection is large enough to please everyone. The hotel is very close to a tram stop and only 2 stops away from Alexanderplatz.

This is a hotel in the former east and--as with so many hotels in that area--there are a few quirks: there is no air conditioning, there is no elevator, and the reception area is not open at all hours. We were able to work around the reception hours, such as flight arrival and departure times, and did not really have issues with it. We were provided with a key to a separate entrance, so it was like staying in an apartment when we came home at night. When we stayed it was warm but a set of earplugs worked wonders and we were able to open the windows. In cooler weather the absence of air conditioning would not be an issue. The rooms are all on the first floor (in the European sense, 2nd floor to Americans), so one must be prepared to carry luggage (and selves) up and down one set of stairs.

We would definitely stay here again, the only reason for the 4 stars rather than 5 are the quirks I mentioned; none of them deal breakers. Actually, the air conditioning is only a seasonal issue and the reception hours turned out to be no problem at all. But I would definitely add another star for an elevator!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kvmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine N, Manager at Adele Designhotel Berlin, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we're looking forward to welcoming you as our guest again. We're always available via phone if the reception is closed late evening, but it worked out perfectly with you.
Please let us know about your luggage next time, we can help you carry it to the first floor :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    28
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
19
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roskilde, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed in room number 13 which is an apartment. Lovely large bedroom. Nice bathroom and large family room with good beds for the kids. The family room also includes a full kitchen. The only drawback is their WiFi did not work in our room and never got to it. Worked fine in the lobby. The breakfast is nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilienJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine N, Manager at Adele Designhotel Berlin, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear FamilienJ,

thank you for your nice review of our hotel.
We have worked on our Wifi and it should run again in the rooms without any problems. The breakfast has anything to start the day and we've worked on adding any time something special such as homemade, yummy cake. Maybe you can taste it the next time...
Warmly welcome you for another Berlin trip.
Sunny greetings from Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a nice and friendly hotel in one of the cooler areas of Berlin - Prenzlauer Berg. If you want to explore this part of town it`s a good location, ten minute walk from Kollwitz St and Kastanienallee. I had a huge room and asked for a quiet one as I was working. It was. Service was great, the breakfast guy is very nice and friendly and had some great tips for things to see and restaurants. Wifi didn`t work in my room, so they set me up in the restaurant which was ok. But not optimal for work. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flaatten79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine N, Manager at Adele Designhotel Berlin, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi to Norway,

thank you so much for your positive comment. We're happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We worked on the WLAN and if you'll visit us again it'll work again perfectly in your room too.

Kind regards
Hotel Adele Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Adele hotel and we're booked in the 'suite'. This turns out to be a refurbished shop around the corner of the actual hotel with the door opening directly in the street. At 6 am we were woken up by the noise of bins being filled in the back. At €438 I could have stayed in a true 4 star hotel!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank halbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Albany, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Small "boutique" hotel. We had one room for our two teenagers and one room for the parents, both of which were good-sized with beautiful wooden floors and stylish bathrooms. Also we thought the breakfast was good and the staff were nice. Unfortunately the kids' room fronted on a very busy and loud street, so they could not keep their windows open due to the noise and cigarette smoke that wafted in from the tables below. The room was suffocatingly hot: no A/C and an ineffective fan, and this was not during the heat wave. The high temps were only in the low 70s each day but the rooms were uncomfortably hot, even with the windows open. The adult room fronted the courtyard, which was intermittently filled with neighbors' crying babies, construction noise, music, and occasional yelling. The earplugs helped with that but not with the oppressive room heat - they were kind enought to supply a fan on the second night (not available night one) which helped, but not enough. (After two nights we moved to another hotel nearby - Myers - that had AC on a quiet street at the same cost). One other important feature we did not like was the fact that there was no staff person on site at night, and you were limited to your room after they left - no access to any common area of the hotel. Not so much a safety issue, but if you want to leave your room and make a phone call not to disturb your family, you've got nowhere to go. The internet was also spotty while we were there, but they appeared to fix it the next day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyO-1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Although the location is a little stark, this is an interesting area in former East Berlin and closer to everywhere than you might think. The hotel is opposite a tram line which is a bonus not a disadvantage as access to everywhere is easy and it's a quick hop into the centre of Berlin.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the room was clean and contemporary. We booked a 3 bed family room as our 19 year old daughter was travelling with us and 2 rooms in any city is an expensive option! We've done this before in other cities but this layout was a little strange as the shower is open plan, between the bedroom and sitting area - just obscure glass separating you from the rest of your family. Not ideal and not really appropriate in a family room. The loo was a little cupboard next to the wardrobe so not as private as it could have been.
Our room was accessible from the street so we could come and go as we pleased which was helpful as the hotel is not open in the evening - a real shame as it would have been nice to pop into the bar in the evening. There is a number to call if you need assistance outside of opening hours.
Although not as expensive as the larger hotels, this wasn't cheap either and we feel we paid a little more than the hotel facilities deserved.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisySueCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my 2 teeagers in a 3 person room. A lot of space, nice design decoration, entrance to the room directly from the quiet side street (not through lobby). Excellent breakfast. Free wifi. Near to many nice neighbourhood restaurants but a bit far by foot from the main sightseeing areas.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Catharina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#72 of 634 in Berlin
251 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
#254 of 634 in Berlin
211 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Feng Shui Hotel Melarose
Feng Shui Hotel Melarose
#365 of 634 in Berlin
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Transit Loft
Hotel Transit Loft
#246 of 634 in Berlin
249 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Vienna House Easy Berlin
Vienna House Easy Berlin
#194 of 634 in Berlin
52 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Victor's Residenz Hotel Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adele Designhotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adele Designhotel Berlin

Property: Adele Designhotel Berlin
Address: Greifswalder Str. 227, 10405 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#117 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adele Designhotel Berlin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're warmly welcome: Our Adele Design Hotel Berlin is a small, exclusive hotel with charm in the heart of Berlin, in the trendy Prenzlauer Berg district. Only 5 minutes from the shopping and transport hub Alexanderplatz, our neighborhood offers charming cafes, restaurants and shops, theaters, cinemas and parks such as the 50-acre public park Friedrichshain. Feel like at home, we are there to make your stay in Berlin as pleasant as possible. Elegant forms, exclusive materials, strong, bright colors and a touch of modern sensibility: Our 16 rooms have been designed by the Berlin interior designer Thomas Herrendorf in the Art-Deco style, its philosophy fitting just perfectly to ours: cosmopolitan, timeless and with passion for chic interior design and service for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adele Designhotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adele Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing