We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel excellent location but lacking something” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Rome
Ranked #13 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
sydney, australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel excellent location but lacking something”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

I stayed here for a week in June 2011. The rooms are pristine and well kept with every convenience and facility. The level of service is high and the skills and helpfulness of the concierge desk superior. The doormen were fantastic in getting cabs and greeting guests and giving a great welcome. The staff in the breakfast room were extremely efficient, friendly, and helpful and the standard of cuisine excellent. The location for a tourist in Berlin is great and there are many good quality local restaurants. When the Opera House re-opens this will make the location even more attractive to those interested in this form of culture.
Prior to booking I thought about the Adlon but was talked into the De Rome by my travel agent. While not sorry for this decision, the moment I walked into the Adlon I could feel the weight of history on me and loved it. Those sink into chairs, the old fashioned lights, the woodwork, etc provided an ambience that was really lacking at the De Rome. While one can see its history (including the bullet marks on the stony exterior) somehow the Adlon seemed to devour one with its past. This was reinforced when I had dinner at the Lorenz Adlon Restaurant. I can't comment on the Adlon rooms but having a drink in the foyer prior to dinner at the Lorenz was enough to convince me to stay at the Adlon next time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    223
    49
    19
    4
See reviews for
193
378
70
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

we spent 5 days in october in an absolutely gorgeous suite. truly understated luxury, great in room amenities, quietly elegant public spaces, and the friendliest, most accommodating staff imaginable with no pretensions - all i saw were smiles, all i heard was "of course". what a refreshing take on luxury in a fascinating city.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jandsboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firenze
Level Contributor
211 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

One of the best hotel in town. A former bank with some spectacular details. Some of the rooms really nice, some less charming.
Breakfast just ok, SPA small, but nice, a good chance to relax.
Part of the decor of the hotel without style (What the sense of that big red vases???) but the building has a charme.
The location is nice, close to someof the best concept stores and restaurants

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgiornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We spent 4 days in August and had a marvellous stay in Hotel de Rome. The service was perfect, the room beautiful and the breakfast great. The concierge, a super woman who speaks French was very helpful to book nice restaurants.
The location is very convenient, it is calm and so luxurious. A fantastic stay in a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paris75017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

With 5 star hotel you get of course a beautiful room with all the trimmings, so what makes the difference is the details. There are nice touches, like a couple of books in the spacious room, but the king size bed is hard (does it have something to do with Mr Forte Italians origins? Italian beds are seldom comfy).
The room is spacious (we had 518-519) and feels 'designy' but the bed lights should be replaced with something more practical. The room has no 'Berlin' feel and you could be anywhere in the world. Bathroom has all the trimmings.
Wifi is not included in the room and it gets expensive in this day and age where people have often several smarphones, laptops and so on, but cannot get access for several devices.
The staff at check-in was friendly and we did the paperwork in the room itself, but one night we were surprised to go to the room around 10pm and find out that the turn-down service was on the way. Isn't that a bit late?

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onlyGeorgeVwilldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

Very pleasant stay. Hotel in historic building, centrally located and quiet. Upon arrival I was assigned a room that was not to my liking and the staff very kind to me has been accompanied in another room very spacious and with a view of the surrounding monuments. The rooms are very comfortable, very clean, room service is impeccable, the bed comfortable and the linens same. The modern bathroom with separate bath from shower, a large shower very comfortable. Spacious lobby, the restaurant one of the very best of Berlin, to each request concierge, spa with sauna, turkish bath and a large heated swimming pool. One of the most unusual indoor pools where he swam, very scenic and sexy:)) The bar has good drinks, very nice guy at the bar with me taste of his own accord a liquor never tried before. In your room bottle of red wine, fruit, chocolate and a welcome note. The corridors of the hotel are very spacious with high ceilings. A hotel in every respect, I visited several other hotels in Berlin, and frankly I think is the best of all.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bestmilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

Had one night in this hotel as part of a trip through Germany. I was excited to visit Berlin and see all it had to offer. We were met at the airport by the hotel car and efficiently driven straight to the hotel. It is very well located in the heart of Berlin and within walking distance of the main attractions and station.

Check-in was a slightly prolonged affair as we asked to be shown a couple of other room types other than the one we had booked. We settled on Room 101 (which from what I understand is the second best room in the hotel). It has an imposing giant double door as its entry and is in the original part of the hotel. It is interesting to think of the conversations and meetings that were held in this grand room when it was the Dresner Bank. The entry leads into a magnigicent lounge area which is covered in beautiful wood panelling everywhere, including the ceiling. This is contrasted with some funky modern lounge chairs and a dining table. The bedroom is also a generous size with a king bed, again in a modern style.

Bathroom was a good size and had a separate washroom, complete with bidet, which could also be accessed from the entry.

The highlight had to be that we dicided to host some friends for dinner in the suite. They set up a table for six people respendant with tablecloth and all the trimmings. The food orders were from the in-room dining menu (which was very reasonably priced I have to add) and served by one member of staff. They did a fantastic job and nothing was too much trouble.

We did also try the bar which was not too bad but not sensational. Perhaps this was marred by a rude member of the bar staff.

Overall an amazing property steeped in history. Would loved to have lolled around in the suite for a day or two more!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the original part of the building which used to be the Dresdner Bank
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wockinwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#17 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#3 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#11 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Rome

Property: Hotel de Rome
Address: Behrenstr. 37, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Berlin
#7 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#24 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Rome is located on Bebelplatz, off Unter den Linden. It is a conversion of an existing building constructed in 1889 by architect Ludwig Heim (appointed master builder of the government), which housed the head office of Dresdner Bank until 1945. This is one of the few luxury hotels in Berlin located in an original building making use of its full architectural splendour and thereby offering guests an authentic Berlin experience.The ornate and classical design of the original building has been given a contemporary twist by designer Tommaso Ziffer, who also designed the Hotel de Russie in Rome. Tommaso Ziffer has been assisted by architects Aukett + Heese with Olga Polizzi and her design team at Rocco Forte Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rome Hotel
De Rome Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing