We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY”
Review of Hotel de Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Rome
Ranked #12 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Although a very big hotel is the service very friendly and helpful. Lovely decorated and comfortable rooms. Infact the whole hotel is tastfully decorated. Nice situated en convienient parking. Do not forget to viseted Gendarmeplatz

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vangreun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear vangreun,

Thank you so much for your fantastic evaluation here on TripAdvisor! I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that next time you will come to Berlin you will visit us again!

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

We think that is the best hotel in berlin , excellent service and decor . We can truly recommend to anybody .the rooms are beautiful.Hotel is well located.
Thank you for a great holiday .we will see you next year . we hope so .

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear HelBr,

Thank you very much for this nice compliment! I am very happy to read, that you believe that Hotel de Rome is the best Hotel in the capital!

I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon to Hotel de Rome.

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This place has everything in the,making for the best hotel in berlin. It is in a beautiful period bank building with grand space; it is in the most convenient location while at the same time also quaint and quiet; service is mostly impeccable and the huge rooms have extra high ceiling especially in the 1st or 2nd floor, bath is the size of a small bedroom.

However, even though the rooms are relatively new, they somehow feel tired. The color scheme and the lighting does not help, it just feels a little down beat. It is a shame, the space is just spectacular, it just needs to be freshen up.

Room Tip: 1st or 2nd floor in the original wing for the high ceiling, top floor for the view. For 20 euro ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wkcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear wkcity,

Thank you for sharing your experiences here on TripAdvisor. We hope you had a safe trip back home to Hong Kong.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel de Rome and considered the staff and the room sizes to be excellent. Even though you were not fond of the ilumination and color scheme, I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for the constructive criticism.

We very much hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

With best regards from Berlin,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Very nice hotel. Top class service, surroundings, rooms. Centrally located. Very good breakfast buffet, nice roof top bar, beautiful (inside) pool. Less stuffy then some of the other "grand" hotels in Berlin ( Regent, Adlon).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Nicolas T,

Thank very much for this fantastic evaluation here on TripAdvisor.

I was very glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel de Rome!

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We spent six nights at the Hotel de Rome and the only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. The hotel is very well located, within easy walking distance of many of Berlin's iconic sites. It combines the best of old and new. The original building was a late 19th century bank and many of the rooms and hallways retain the high ceilings and ornate tile floors but the stylishly decorated rooms have every high tech convenience, high-end amenities, and the best air conditioning we have found in our extensive travels through Europe (as Americans, we realize that the ability to turn one's room into a refrigerator is not a universal value, but nonetheless we do find most European air conditioning to be a problem).

The public spaces, including the lobby, dining room and the ground floor bar are tastefully decorated in a modified art deco style. Very calming and evocative. The rooftop bar provides a wonderful panorama of Berlin, yes, including all of the cranes and construction against the background of historic Bebelplatz, the State Opera House, and Museum Island in the distance. Service was simply first rate, from the front desk staff, the concierge staff, to the breakfast and bar staff. High priced, as some others have noted? A bargain given the level of accommodations and service. Simply one of the best urban hotels we have visited in years.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear oldboomer,

Thank you so much for this fantastic evaluation here on TripAdvisor! I am very glad that you had a great time here at Hotel de Rome. It is fantastic that you were delighted with the atmosphere and all the staff members of the hotel.

It would be my pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future.

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
general Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Recently stayed here on a business trip. Great location within walking distance to major sites – Checkpoint Charlie, Brandenburg Gate, Holocaust Memorial - and the metro. The staff, from the front desk, to the bar to housekeeping could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Similar in quality to the W chain in the US. Very comfortable bed, modern furnishing, well appointed bathroom. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear jkinnyc,

Thank you very much for your comments. I hope you had a save trip back to the U.S.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us .Your nice evaluation in regrads to our staff and the quality of the hotel has been gratefully received. I do hape to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in not to distant future in Berlin.

With best regrads,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

stayed there for a conference we were hosting so price not a factor. stylish décor, nice small bar. service for breakfast on the slow side so if you are there for business, factor that in. rooms were comfortable however the counter space in the bathroom was very limited which made the bathroom seem somewhat uncomfortable. hotel very well kept up. hotel itself is beautiful and walking distance to museum island and major tourist attractions like the Brandenburg Gate, Reichstag, Gestapo headquarters, Berlin wall, etc. there is also a nice roof deck for drinks. my view was nothing special ( I think of a another side of the building). but for the right price would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heavybiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear vilija v,

Thank you very much for your comment here on TripAdvisor. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Hopefully there will be no constructions left to see on your next visit to Hotel de Rome.

With best regrads,

Thies Spongolz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#14 of 634 in Berlin
3,612 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,636 reviews
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#22 of 634 in Berlin
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#6 of 634 in Berlin
1,697 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 634 in Berlin
2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Rome

Address: Behrenstr. 37, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Berlin
#7 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#24 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £240 - £644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Rome is located on Bebelplatz, off Unter den Linden. It is a conversion of an existing building constructed in 1889 by architect Ludwig Heim (appointed master builder of the government), which housed the head office of Dresdner Bank until 1945. This is one of the few luxury hotels in Berlin located in an original building making use of its full architectural splendour and thereby offering guests an authentic Berlin experience.The ornate and classical design of the original building has been given a contemporary twist by designer Tommaso Ziffer, who also designed the Hotel de Russie in Rome. Tommaso Ziffer has been assisted by architects Aukett + Heese with Olga Polizzi and her design team at Rocco Forte Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rome Hotel
De Rome Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing