We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel in an ideal location”
Review of Hotel de Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Rome
Ranked #11 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We walked into the lobby and were totally blown away by the beautiful decor, simple black velvet
seating in art decco style and breathtaking red floral arrangements at the center to complement
all the red accents in the entry.
Our arrival at 11 AM was seamless as our room was ready. It had no view but was lovely and quiet.
We had booked on Olotels so had a discount.
The room was really comfortable with loads of thoughtful amenities.
The hotel used to be a bank and the fabulous spa and pool is in what used to be the bank's vault.
It was really lovely to have a swim, steam and sauna all by my lonesome. Very Zen before a busy day of sightseeing. The location of this hotel could not be more perfect....walk to all the sites or catch the bus right out front on Bebelplatz.
We slept incredibly well and were very spoiled by the thoughtful turn down service and the extremely comfortable bed and crisp, white cotton sheets.
The breakfast,( included) was incredible.....at least 20 types of bread, rolls, croissant. Cold cuts and smoked fish galore. 20 jams and honey. 10 different fresh fruit and cereals, including real made from scratch Muesli. The eggs were free range, delicious, with orange yolks and boiled 4 minutes to perfection.
I could so live here!!!
We love, love,love this hotel.
The staff was super to by the way.
Especially the Sicilian doorman who was so kind and welcoming.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yasmine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Yasmine G,

Thank you very much for this fantastic evaluation, I was very glad to read about that you and your family felt very happy here with us and that you enjoyed all the tiny details and amenities of the Hotel de Rome.

I hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Berlin in the near future!

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

617 - 623 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

In a very central location (close to museum island and 15 minutes walk to Brandenburg gate), it is aVery good hotel with sumptuous decoration. Large room spotless, very comfortable.
Spa and swimming pool beautiful.
Service is good but not really personalized.
Breakfast too expensive.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Olivier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Olivier D,

Thank you so much for this great rating in regards to your stay at our hotel. I am delighted to read, that you enjoyed your time here in beautiful Berlin.

I hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you very soon back to Hotel de Rome!

With best regards,

Maike Beissner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Great hotel , good rooms , good service and nice staff........what more do you need ? If in Berlin look no further.location is good and quiet. Breakfast till 2.30pm at weekends and worth a visit.local area has bars and restaurants to enjoy.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsEDoubtfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear MrsEDoubtfire,

Thank you for taking the time to write here on TripAdvisor. I hope you had a save trip back home to London.

Your evaluation has been gratefully received and it has been my pleasure to pass them on to all the team. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel de Rome in not too distant future.

Best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

just got back from berlin and our amazing stay at hotel de Rome. From the gorgeous architecture of the exterior of the building, the beautiful decor of the interior and all the common spaces, the perfect location especially the quietness in the evening and the close proximity to everything you want to see and do, the comfort and chicness of the rooms, the delicious breakfast each morning, everything was fantastic. But perhaps the the biggest accolades go to the staff themselves. The doorman are kind, helpful and willing to go the extra mile to accommodate our travel needs, the front desk perfectly attuned at all times and perhaps the best concierge staff out there. Benjamin, Anne and Katia are beyond perfection. They just amplified our trip to Berlin 100 times over. I cannot stress that this is hands down the best hotel in berlin and one of my top 10 ever...I cannot wait to return as soon as possible.

Room Tip: rooms ending in 02...especially 402 as your right near the rooftop bar and have a lovely view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank romi h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear romi19,

I was delighted to learn that overall you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Hotel de Rome and considered the hotel facilities to be excellent and the staff especially the concierge, the doormen and the colleagues from the front office department to be outstanding!

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences here on TripAdvisor.

Best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This was recommended by our travel agent and we were very happy we stayed there. Rooms are large and ours had a view of the square in front. It's centrally located to shops and attractions. The concierge was very helpful. The staff is fabulous and the included breakfast, superb. Would definitely go back. Made our stay in Berlin.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windycity_773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear windcity_773,

I hope you and your family had a safe trip back home to Chicago! Thank you so much for this fantastic evaluation! I am very glad that we made your journey very special and memorable.

I believe that we soon will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Berlin and to Hotel de Rome!

Best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

For me this lovely hotel is without fault. It's in a quiet very convenient location - just off Unter den Linden and within a short walk of Museum Island and the stylish restaurants of Gendarmermarkt. But the winning factor in this delightful establishment is the staff. They are, to a man and woman, totally charming and helpful. How they can be trained to this very high standard of service is something of a mystery. A simple example: I had forgotten to bring my contact lens fluid so I asked the concierge Benjamin, where I might buy some given that it was a public holiday. Within a few minutes he had located a fresh bottle which he gave to me gratis, with his compliments.
The breakfasts are to die for. The decor throughout the hotel is beautifully co-ordinated, toned, relaxing and sophisticated and that includes the dress of the staff - all of them! Our 'standard' bedroom was totally spotless and looked as if it had been built yesterday - perhaps it had. I can't comment too much regarding the value for money because we were on a packaged flight/hotel deal from BA. I suspect that it is an expensive hotel and deservedly so.
I would unhesitatingly recommend this place and I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: There is a lot of building work going on in Berlin so it may be worth checking if your room overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watsondt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Claudiop73,


Thank you for sharing your experiences here on TripAdvisor. We hope you had a safe trip back home.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel de Rome and considered the staff to be excellent. We very much hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

With best regards from Berlin,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed at the Hotel not knowing what to expect. They could not do enough for us as we asked questions and the concierge always gave great recommendations. The service, the rooms the facilities and wow the most fabulous breakfasts.

There was never too much to ask. the staff were always on hand.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank U4340FWms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear jaegy,


Thank you so much for your kind comments and you fantastic evaluation here on TripAdvisor. I am very happy that you had a lovely stay with us at Hotel de Rome and I do hope to welcoming you back to Berlin in the near future. Only for you to enjoy the breakfast and the facilities of this nice place again.

With best regards,

Thies Spobholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#13 of 633 in Berlin
3,589 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 633 in Berlin
1,628 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#6 of 633 in Berlin
1,665 reviews
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#22 of 633 in Berlin
1,551 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 633 in Berlin
2,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Rome

Address: Behrenstr. 37, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Berlin
#7 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#9 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#24 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £241 - £620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Rome is located on Bebelplatz, off Unter den Linden. It is a conversion of an existing building constructed in 1889 by architect Ludwig Heim (appointed master builder of the government), which housed the head office of Dresdner Bank until 1945. This is one of the few luxury hotels in Berlin located in an original building making use of its full architectural splendour and thereby offering guests an authentic Berlin experience.The ornate and classical design of the original building has been given a contemporary twist by designer Tommaso Ziffer, who also designed the Hotel de Russie in Rome. Tommaso Ziffer has been assisted by architects Aukett + Heese with Olga Polizzi and her design team at Rocco Forte Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rome Hotel
De Rome Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing