We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next time, we stay here”
Review of Hotel de Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de Rome
Ranked #10 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Next time, we stay here”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We were stuck in crowds in the midst of Berlin's fabulous "Festival of Lights" in October and found ourselves having a glass of champagne in Hotel de Rome's elegant bar. Champagne turned into a superb dinner, and we vowed that next time we're in Berlin we stay in this sumptuous, stylish hotel. It's perfectly situated and overlooks Bebelplatz, where the Nazi's symbolic burning of books in 1933 heralded what was to come...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spinoccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Spinoccio,

I hopre you had a safe trip back to London. I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your fantastic evaluation and for enjoying dinner at our Restaurant Parioli.

It would be my pleasure to welcome you to Hotel de Rome next time you visit Berlin!

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    229
    53
    19
    4
See reviews for
210
402
75
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karlovy Vary, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Perfect location, beautiful building and almost perfect staff!
- reservation, confirmation, additional change - perfect and fast, all done by Marlen
- check-in, concierge, check-out - perfect
- all reception team is PERFECT
- Bebel Bar and Parioli for dinner - great service, great food, nice music and an amazing waiter wearing glasses
- room - was really spacious, super comfortable bed, all amenities fine
Even the design is too modern for my taste I did enjoy my stay. The warmth missing in design was given to me plus twice by staff. I guess other clients will be amazed how an ex bank building can be rebuilt into a hotel!
The only minuses I noticed and disappointed me:
- breakfast - food is nice but I had to wait for my coffee 10 minutes or even more (after ordering it I had to wait and the same waiter without bringing me the ordered coffee offered me tea or coffee again)
- doorman - during check out the doorman parked my car in front of the hotel and forgot to lock it a
But these two moments didnt destroy my general experience and I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 1st and 2nd floor are the original bank floors with higher ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maaze70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear maaze70,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate us here on TripAdvisor! I was more then happy to forward your great comments, about the two special staff members you wrote about.

I would also like to take the opportunity to apologise about the lack of service you had to suffer, regarding the breakfast and the doorman sitaution. You may rest assured that I have talked to the responsible Head of Departments.

With best regards from Berlin,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We chose to stay at this hotel for a 3 night stayed and chose a junior suite that had a view of the city with a balcony and given that it was 3 nights it was well worth the little extra money for the space and extra comfort. We received a warm greeting from the staff and were escorted to our room. we had a lovely food in the bar, we ate out under recommendations from the concierge mostly.- all good.
staying centrally was great as we walked everywhere and took in most of the sights.
the amenities at the hotel are very clean. The website photos are pretty much what you get no clever photography. what i thought was very nice was that if you decided to order room service rather than eat downstairs there was no additional room service fee. If i was to be picky i would have thought they might have a nespresso machine and ice facilities in the room. The turn down service i thought should have left a little treat on the pillow such as cookie or a chocolate.
but again these are small thing but our overall experience is great, we would definitely stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elitedining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Elitedining,

Thank you so much for your evaluation here on TripAdvisor and for your lovely comments which have been gratefully received. I am very glad that your enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time in Berlin.

With best regards from Berlin,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

THe Hotel is in a great location with excellent facilities. We visited for a short trip and were really taken care of during our stay. We have visited several other "Rocco Forte" Hotels and this did not disappoint. The room was lovely, with views across the city and our own terrace. We had breakfast and lunch in the Hotel Restaurant. The food is excellent and the service is so attentive. The bar is relaxing and very good for catching up on work. The concierge gave us amazing recommendations and planned all our lunches and dinners. The spa is excellent. We had a massage, which was one of the best I have had in Europe. Loved it and would stay there again.

Room Tip: With light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katepadgetkoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Katepadgetkoh ,

Thank you so much for your great comments here on TripAdvisor! I hope you had a safe trip back to Hong Kong.

I was so glad to read, that you really loved & enjoyed your time at Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in not to distant future.

With best regrads from Berlin,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

From the view outside our hotel, while we stepped out of the cab, we were really amazed of the stone built building that stood before us with actual cobblestone flooring. When we went inside we really felt like being in a whole new world. It was a lot different from what I was used to. We were housed here during a Europe conference and my office mates really had fun just moping around during our leisure time in the hotel. This is the place to relax and just lounge around when you have free time. Very nice place, very elegant bathrooms and bedrooms. The room service staff and food were both delightful. After every session, we would always head to the bar and have some fun just chatting away the night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenaLindaLerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear LenaLindaLerry,

Thank you so much for this fantastic evaluation! I was so glad to read that you remember your stay with us as something very special! It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests that they overall enjoyed their time in Berlin and at Hotel de Rome.

I hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel de Rome.

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
225 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel in the middle of the city, near the Brandburger Tor and the Friedrichstrasse, Gendarmeriemarkt etc. The hotel is housed in a coverted bank building. Large rooms (with a lot of height), corridors are a maze as it is a converted building. Modern interior design, tastefully done, nice Spa and Gym (Technogym, not too big but fine). Well designed luxerious bathroom. Very helpful and nice staff. Free wifi in the rooms for 24h, only negative point is the speed at 512kb, you can upgrade at a price). Good price / quality. Italian restaurant inside the hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ML-NL-Amf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrte(r) ML-NL-Amf,

vielen Dank für Ihre tolle Bewertung! Ich freu mich sehr zu lesen, dass es Ihnen bei uns im Hotel de Rome gefallen hat, Sie dass Ambiente genossen haben und Sie sich von unseren Mitarbeitern wohl umsorgt gefühlt haben.

Ich hoffe sehr Sie bald wieder in unserem Hause begrüßen zu können.

Einen herzlichen Gruß vom Bebelplatz,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My stay in Germany was made special by the people I was with and the places that we visited. A memorable trip with wild weekends. One of our hotel stops was the Hotel de Rome in Berlin. The staff were mild mannered and practiced what it was to me was "a great sense of attention" because they were expecting what I needed at a certain moment. Like when I went into my room the guy who assisted asked me if I would need a wakeup call since I told him I was on a business trip. Nice place to stay in with a nice location. Very clean room and accessible to the places that I needed to go. The exterior looked like an early 1900 construction that I love very much because it looked like a mini castle. Very nice welcome amenities in the room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJakeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear TJakeL,

Thank you very much for your comment here on TripAdvisor. I hope you had a safe trip back to Italy. I am very glad that you enjoyed Berlin and the Hotel de Rome and hope that we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the German capital.

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,531 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#15 of 634 in Berlin
3,316 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 634 in Berlin
2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 634 in Berlin
813 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#6 of 634 in Berlin
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Rome

Property: Hotel de Rome
Address: Behrenstr. 37, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Berlin
#6 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#9 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#24 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Rome is located on Bebelplatz, off Unter den Linden. It is a conversion of an existing building constructed in 1889 by architect Ludwig Heim (appointed master builder of the government), which housed the head office of Dresdner Bank until 1945. This is one of the few luxury hotels in Berlin located in an original building making use of its full architectural splendour and thereby offering guests an authentic Berlin experience.The ornate and classical design of the original building has been given a contemporary twist by designer Tommaso Ziffer, who also designed the Hotel de Russie in Rome. Tommaso Ziffer has been assisted by architects Aukett + Heese with Olga Polizzi and her design team at Rocco Forte Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rome Hotel
De Rome Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing