We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Hotel de Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de Rome
Ranked #11 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at Hotel de Rome during the Easter time. The hotel is very classy, well-situated and the service is excellent. We had a classic twin room, and it was very spacious, and even had a balcony. Will be back when next time in Berlin!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esa_K_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Esa_K_Traveler,

Thank you so much for your comment here on TripAdvisor! I hope you enjoyed your time in Berlin and had a safe trip back to Helsinki!

I would also like to thank you for this great rating and I do hope that next time you visit Berlin, it will once again be Hotel the Rome!

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
Genral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    913
    234
    55
    19
    4
See reviews for
212
411
76
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico df
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed There for 4 nights the ro is realy nice,breakfast is a bufet with egos lo oled in the Kitchen averall abobe abrage un quality dinner is Also superb but best of all great I mean grat the best Service an hotel can provide from concierfe to friomt desk all just great

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doc1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Doc1201,

Thank you so much for this fantastic rating! I would like to thank you for taking the time to evaluate us here on TripAdvisor and for highlighting our service at Hotel de Rome.

I do hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Berlin in not to distant future!

Best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Simply perfect. The hotel has good rates, the location can't be beat, the design - well, I personally did not delight in it too much, too dark for my taste in public areas - yet I could see that some thought and work went into it. I managed to reserve a room during the Berlin film festival, despite the (I assume) intense pressure due to an overwhelming amount of activities in and around the hotel, the hotel staff were helpful, friendly and effective. I would like to especially comment on the service provided by Anne Raber in the concierge office - cheerful, correct, effective and friendly. Would definitely come back to this hotel in Berlin.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Gregory D,

Thank you very much for your nice evaluation. I am hope you enjoyed your stay with us here in Berlin! I was dilighted to read that you were very pleased with our staff members and their service. I would also like to take the opportunity to thank you for emphasizing Anne Raber´s effective service. It was my pleasure to pass this compliment onto her.

With best regards from Hotel de Rome ,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay at hotel de Rome. Was very pleased. First off - location in mitte is stellar. 10 minute walk to museum island, 5 min to great restaurants and to u Bahn. Many great sites in walking distance. Room was very nice and spacious. Fabulous bathroom w awesome heated floors. Amazing breakfast. Really great health club, sauna and small indoor poor. Maid service and room service incredibly efficient. Front desk and concierge can't do enough for you. Hotel arranged for a 3 hour tour with their favorite taxi driver named Presley Antoine. He is so great and I definitely recommend him. Eat at Augustiner if you love German food. All and all a great experience. Only critisism is that the lobby is really dark and you feel like you're entering a night club which is just weird during the day. Definitely recommend hotel de Rome!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are very quiet but no view. Rooms in the front will have a small view although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCGal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear NYCGal2010,

Thank you so much for taking the time to evaluate us here on TripAdvisor. I hope you had a safe trip to NYC!

It was a delight to read your comments, I am very pleased that you overall experience a great time at Hotel de Rome and Berlin.

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We were stuck in crowds in the midst of Berlin's fabulous "Festival of Lights" in October and found ourselves having a glass of champagne in Hotel de Rome's elegant bar. Champagne turned into a superb dinner, and we vowed that next time we're in Berlin we stay in this sumptuous, stylish hotel. It's perfectly situated and overlooks Bebelplatz, where the Nazi's symbolic burning of books in 1933 heralded what was to come...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spinoccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Spinoccio,

I hopre you had a safe trip back to London. I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your fantastic evaluation and for enjoying dinner at our Restaurant Parioli.

It would be my pleasure to welcome you to Hotel de Rome next time you visit Berlin!

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlovy Vary, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Perfect location, beautiful building and almost perfect staff!
- reservation, confirmation, additional change - perfect and fast, all done by Marlen
- check-in, concierge, check-out - perfect
- all reception team is PERFECT
- Bebel Bar and Parioli for dinner - great service, great food, nice music and an amazing waiter wearing glasses
- room - was really spacious, super comfortable bed, all amenities fine
Even the design is too modern for my taste I did enjoy my stay. The warmth missing in design was given to me plus twice by staff. I guess other clients will be amazed how an ex bank building can be rebuilt into a hotel!
The only minuses I noticed and disappointed me:
- breakfast - food is nice but I had to wait for my coffee 10 minutes or even more (after ordering it I had to wait and the same waiter without bringing me the ordered coffee offered me tea or coffee again)
- doorman - during check out the doorman parked my car in front of the hotel and forgot to lock it a
But these two moments didnt destroy my general experience and I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 1st and 2nd floor are the original bank floors with higher ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maaze70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear maaze70,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate us here on TripAdvisor! I was more then happy to forward your great comments, about the two special staff members you wrote about.

I would also like to take the opportunity to apologise about the lack of service you had to suffer, regarding the breakfast and the doorman sitaution. You may rest assured that I have talked to the responsible Head of Departments.

With best regards from Berlin,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We chose to stay at this hotel for a 3 night stayed and chose a junior suite that had a view of the city with a balcony and given that it was 3 nights it was well worth the little extra money for the space and extra comfort. We received a warm greeting from the staff and were escorted to our room. we had a lovely food in the bar, we ate out under recommendations from the concierge mostly.- all good.
staying centrally was great as we walked everywhere and took in most of the sights.
the amenities at the hotel are very clean. The website photos are pretty much what you get no clever photography. what i thought was very nice was that if you decided to order room service rather than eat downstairs there was no additional room service fee. If i was to be picky i would have thought they might have a nespresso machine and ice facilities in the room. The turn down service i thought should have left a little treat on the pillow such as cookie or a chocolate.
but again these are small thing but our overall experience is great, we would definitely stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elitedining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Elitedining,

Thank you so much for your evaluation here on TripAdvisor and for your lovely comments which have been gratefully received. I am very glad that your enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time in Berlin.

With best regards from Berlin,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,562 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#15 of 634 in Berlin
3,421 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#9 of 634 in Berlin
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 634 in Berlin
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Rome

Property: Hotel de Rome
Address: Behrenstr. 37, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Berlin
#7 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#24 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Rome is located on Bebelplatz, off Unter den Linden. It is a conversion of an existing building constructed in 1889 by architect Ludwig Heim (appointed master builder of the government), which housed the head office of Dresdner Bank until 1945. This is one of the few luxury hotels in Berlin located in an original building making use of its full architectural splendour and thereby offering guests an authentic Berlin experience.The ornate and classical design of the original building has been given a contemporary twist by designer Tommaso Ziffer, who also designed the Hotel de Russie in Rome. Tommaso Ziffer has been assisted by architects Aukett + Heese with Olga Polizzi and her design team at Rocco Forte Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rome Hotel
De Rome Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing