We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional property”
Review of Hotel de Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel de Rome
Ranked #8 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Exceptional property”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I'd detour to stay at the RF Hotel de Rome - one of the best properties in Europe for a variety of reasons.
1. Staff is unfailingly pleasant and competent. The Regent and Adlon teams are great, but the Hotel de Rome team is much more relaxed and informal in a good way. Only hotel in Germany that I've encountered where you could say that some of them are humorous.
2. Killer physical plant. There's nothing quite like it - you definitely feel like you've landed in a serious old bank, beautifully renovated.
3. Gorgeous, comfortable rooms. Particularly those on the lower historic floors are amazing (and the few with terraces up top). A plus that they've at least made basic web access free.
4. Great pool and spa zone. The old vault turned into 20 m pool is unlike any I've seen. Good steam, sauna, relax that's impeccably maintained.
Location is good for most cultural attractions, but the "groovy" new things are going on in the West which is a bit of a hike.
Unique, satisfying experience every time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ez2plsNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear ez2plsNYC,

Thank you for taking the time to comment here on Trip Advisor! I hope you had a save trip back home to New York City.

Your fantastic evaluation has been gratefully received and it has been my pleasure to pass them on to all the Hotel de Rome team. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    226
    50
    19
    4
See reviews for
205
396
75
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I've not stayed at the hotel as I live in the city, however it is definitely worth a visit to the roof terrace to have a sundowner cocktail overlooking the humboldt university, unter den linden and the Berliner dome.

Great service, a tranquil setting and extensive cocktails to choose from - definitely a go to place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nottsgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Nottsgirl12,

Thank you very much for your nice comments about our rooftop terrace here on TripAdvisor!

I hope that you soon will have the chance to come and visit once again to enjoy a nice drink at our beautiful rooftop terrace at Hotel de Rome!

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Like other Rocco Forte hotels, the Hotel de Rome is a high-quality establishment. The reception and concierge were very efficient at check in and check out and for arranging restaurants etc. The room was very comfortable with excellent house-keeping services. We ate in the restaurant, which serves high-quality Italian food. Breakfast was a generous buffet. The hotel's location means that you can walk to most places in the mitte of Berlin, but it's also well-placed for public transport if you want to travel further afield.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Bob Harp,

Thank you so much for you kind comments here on TripAdvisor! I would also like to take the opportunity to thank you for this fantastic evaluation and for your lovely words in regards to your stay with us.

It would be my pleasure to welcome you back to Hotel de Rome in not to distant future!

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
152 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Perfectly located, beautiful hotel. We visited with our four children. Nice sized rooms, well appointed, clean. The breakfast is one of the best we've ever had. Staff could not be nicer or more helpful. Absolutely the place to stay in Berlin.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NRMomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear NRMomof4,

Thank you very much for this very special rating and for choosing Hotel de Rome here in Berlin. I was very glad to read, that you and your family had a good time with us and enjoyed the breakfast and our staff members!

I hope that we shall soon have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel de Rome.

Best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Hotel de Rome is a beautiful and luxurious hotel, located a short distance from the Brandenburg Gate and Museum Island. Nice spacious rooms, luxurious, clean and soundproof, the bathroom had a heated floor An exceptional friendly and helpful staff. The roof terrace on the fourth floor offers a panoramic view of Berlin: a great place for lunch and drinks! One small advice for improvement: Darker curtains. Our suite was located on the eastern part of the hotel. The day began a little bit too early for us. Next time we put an eye-mask in our luggage ;-).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WHdeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear WHdeL,

Thank you very much for this fantastic evaluation! I am very glad that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and I am very thankful for your kind advice.

I really do hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel de Rome in not to distant future.

Best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Upon our arrival to Berlin and our first hotel on this German adventure we were so pleasantly surprised with the location of the hotel and the ambiance of our new surroundings. We felt totally at ease with ALL of the staff. Everyone was helpful and receptive to any requests that we presented such as a quiet room, making and discussing dinner reservations, to making breakfast a pleasant and welcoming experience. The lap pool is very quiet and beautiful too.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room. It did not have any outside view and it was in a courtyard area. The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs4gosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear mrs4gosh,

Thank you for taking the time to comment here on TripAdvisor! I hope you had a save trip back home to Manchester.

Your evaluation has been gratefully received and it has been my pleasure to pass them on to all the team. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel de Rome.

Best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

As a member of the leading hotels we expected a top quality hotel and service. On arrival we needed to unload the taxi ourselves. The lobby was partially closed. The room, although our early arrival (12.30 pm) was mentioned a few days earlier, not ready. We had to wait till 4 pm until it was ready (they offered us a drink for free). A big room, junior suite, at the backside of the hotel. The look outside on a building under construction is terrible and has a lack of privacy. No day curtains so you stand with your body literally nude (people from outside can look into the room and bathroom). The furniture is a mix of ‘modern design’ without any harmony or soul. In the afternoon we tried to get some fresh squeezed orange juice at the bar. Not possible, they have no squeezing possibilities. For a sandwich at noon we had to wait more than 45 minutes. The positives are the very good location in the middle of East Berlin close to all the interesting places as Unter den Linden, the museum Insel, Gendarmenmarkt ... and very interesting, two U-Bahn stations. The beautiful terrace overlooking Bebel Platz is fantastic although not always available for the hotel guests (parties). Breakfast is excellent and you can sit outside. A calm place to start your day in peace. Perfect quality, variety and service. A five star superior hotel? Probably we had some bad luck.

Room Tip: Don't take a room at the backside (street) of the hotel. Ask for a view to Bebel Platz. Don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELJMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear ELJMG,

Thank you for staying at Hotel de Rome. I hope you had a good journey back to Antwerp.

First of all I would like to thank you for highlighting your feedback here on TripAdvisor!

I was very distressed to learn about the incident you experienced at the check in (the misscommunication regarding the early arrival, waiting time for your room and the service).

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the lack of attention. Be assured that this has been taken in a serious light and I have spoken to the according Front Desk Manager to avoid any similar reoccurrence.

I do hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back in not too distant future.

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#15 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#6 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#12 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Rome

Property: Hotel de Rome
Address: Behrenstr. 37, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Berlin
#5 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#24 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Rome is located on Bebelplatz, off Unter den Linden. It is a conversion of an existing building constructed in 1889 by architect Ludwig Heim (appointed master builder of the government), which housed the head office of Dresdner Bank until 1945. This is one of the few luxury hotels in Berlin located in an original building making use of its full architectural splendour and thereby offering guests an authentic Berlin experience.The ornate and classical design of the original building has been given a contemporary twist by designer Tommaso Ziffer, who also designed the Hotel de Russie in Rome. Tommaso Ziffer has been assisted by architects Aukett + Heese with Olga Polizzi and her design team at Rocco Forte Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rome Hotel
De Rome Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing