We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect stay..”
Review of Hotel de Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de Rome
Ranked #11 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Everything from start to finish was pure class at this Hotel.

The staff are attentive and excellent.

The rooms are large and very tastefully decorated.

The bar staff were excellent and there knowledge of local Gins was well appreciated.

The concierge arranged a guide to take us to historical sites round Berlin. The guide was amazingly knowledgeable...

The best business Hotel in Berlin by far.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Richard E,

Thank you so much for this perfect evaluation! I am very glad that you felt comfortable from the start until the end at Hotel de Rome and that you overall enjoyed our staff.

I hope that you soon will get the chance to come and visit us again at Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome.

With best regrdas,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is definately the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Lovely, quiet, spacieux room, the friendliest staff ever, excellent food, and a roof tarrace where we spent a lot of time just enjoying the view, the sunshine and drinks. The bathroom was big and the cleaning was impeccable! A conseiller!! I cannot think of anything negative to say about this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 117. Perfect for 2 persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Kirsten B,

Thank you so much for this great rate! It has been my pleasure to read your kind words and I am more then happy that you enjoyed your stay at our property in Berlin!

I hope that we shall soon have the opportunity of welcoming you back in not to distant future!

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I'd detour to stay at the RF Hotel de Rome - one of the best properties in Europe for a variety of reasons.
1. Staff is unfailingly pleasant and competent. The Regent and Adlon teams are great, but the Hotel de Rome team is much more relaxed and informal in a good way. Only hotel in Germany that I've encountered where you could say that some of them are humorous.
2. Killer physical plant. There's nothing quite like it - you definitely feel like you've landed in a serious old bank, beautifully renovated.
3. Gorgeous, comfortable rooms. Particularly those on the lower historic floors are amazing (and the few with terraces up top). A plus that they've at least made basic web access free.
4. Great pool and spa zone. The old vault turned into 20 m pool is unlike any I've seen. Good steam, sauna, relax that's impeccably maintained.
Location is good for most cultural attractions, but the "groovy" new things are going on in the West which is a bit of a hike.
Unique, satisfying experience every time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ez2plsNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear ez2plsNYC,

Thank you for taking the time to comment here on Trip Advisor! I hope you had a save trip back home to New York City.

Your fantastic evaluation has been gratefully received and it has been my pleasure to pass them on to all the Hotel de Rome team. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I've not stayed at the hotel as I live in the city, however it is definitely worth a visit to the roof terrace to have a sundowner cocktail overlooking the humboldt university, unter den linden and the Berliner dome.

Great service, a tranquil setting and extensive cocktails to choose from - definitely a go to place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nottsgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Nottsgirl12,

Thank you very much for your nice comments about our rooftop terrace here on TripAdvisor!

I hope that you soon will have the chance to come and visit once again to enjoy a nice drink at our beautiful rooftop terrace at Hotel de Rome!

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Like other Rocco Forte hotels, the Hotel de Rome is a high-quality establishment. The reception and concierge were very efficient at check in and check out and for arranging restaurants etc. The room was very comfortable with excellent house-keeping services. We ate in the restaurant, which serves high-quality Italian food. Breakfast was a generous buffet. The hotel's location means that you can walk to most places in the mitte of Berlin, but it's also well-placed for public transport if you want to travel further afield.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Bob Harp,

Thank you so much for you kind comments here on TripAdvisor! I would also like to take the opportunity to thank you for this fantastic evaluation and for your lovely words in regards to your stay with us.

It would be my pleasure to welcome you back to Hotel de Rome in not to distant future!

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Perfectly located, beautiful hotel. We visited with our four children. Nice sized rooms, well appointed, clean. The breakfast is one of the best we've ever had. Staff could not be nicer or more helpful. Absolutely the place to stay in Berlin.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank NRMomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear NRMomof4,

Thank you very much for this very special rating and for choosing Hotel de Rome here in Berlin. I was very glad to read, that you and your family had a good time with us and enjoyed the breakfast and our staff members!

I hope that we shall soon have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel de Rome.

Best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Hotel de Rome is a beautiful and luxurious hotel, located a short distance from the Brandenburg Gate and Museum Island. Nice spacious rooms, luxurious, clean and soundproof, the bathroom had a heated floor An exceptional friendly and helpful staff. The roof terrace on the fourth floor offers a panoramic view of Berlin: a great place for lunch and drinks! One small advice for improvement: Darker curtains. Our suite was located on the eastern part of the hotel. The day began a little bit too early for us. Next time we put an eye-mask in our luggage ;-).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WHdeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear WHdeL,

Thank you very much for this fantastic evaluation! I am very glad that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and I am very thankful for your kind advice.

I really do hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel de Rome in not to distant future.

Best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#13 of 633 in Berlin
3,589 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 633 in Berlin
1,628 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#6 of 633 in Berlin
1,665 reviews
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#22 of 633 in Berlin
1,551 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 633 in Berlin
2,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Rome

Address: Behrenstr. 37, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Berlin
#7 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#9 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#24 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £241 - £620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Rome is located on Bebelplatz, off Unter den Linden. It is a conversion of an existing building constructed in 1889 by architect Ludwig Heim (appointed master builder of the government), which housed the head office of Dresdner Bank until 1945. This is one of the few luxury hotels in Berlin located in an original building making use of its full architectural splendour and thereby offering guests an authentic Berlin experience.The ornate and classical design of the original building has been given a contemporary twist by designer Tommaso Ziffer, who also designed the Hotel de Russie in Rome. Tommaso Ziffer has been assisted by architects Aukett + Heese with Olga Polizzi and her design team at Rocco Forte Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rome Hotel
De Rome Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing