We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de Rome
Nearby Hotels
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Melia Berlin(Berlin)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
i31 Hotel(Berlin)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,434)
Filter reviews
1,434 results
Traveller rating
1,067
271
66
24
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,067
271
66
24
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrocco forterooftop barbank buildingla bancaconcierge teamhumboldt universitygreat hotelheated floorsfour seasonsgreat spaunter den lindenmuseum islandluxury hotelturn down servicebrandenburg gatefavorite hoteljunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
629 - 634 of 1,434 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This should have been a very nice stylish hotel. The staff was friendly, the food good, and the location impeccable. Try the rooftop terrace: good vista, surprisingly good burgers. The rooms are rather large. The pool is rather large for a city hotel and tastefully designed. And the location is perfect - within walking distance to most attractions and i.e. museums.
However, there are some issues: the TV is small and the picture grainy (watching the soccer championship was to feasible); the furniture looks worn and chipped; internet was included in our rate but abysmally slow, making it only acceptable for occasionally checking my mailbox.
Generally, housekeeping could do a better job: We asked for foam-pillows (Elsa/Tempur) and were initially told that there were no more available - an answer I do simply not want to hear in a hotel of this category. After check-in, we went through three rooms until we've found one without hair in the cupboards. And do not inspect the mirrors in the pool area, they look as if they have not been cleaned for a long time.
Please note also that the baths are stylish but not very practically designed - there is little decent storage space and one sink only. Also the lighting is not perfect, rather dim.

Room Tip: The opera nearby is undergoing renovation. Most of the noisy work seems to be already done, but I do still recommend that you chose one of the rooms facing to the side.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molar67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear molar67,

I hope you had a safe trip back home to Luzern.

I am glad that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and have noted the points for possible improvement, which you mentioned regarding the cleaning service (which is unacceptable) and the technology. These have been addressed to all involved departments to ensure improvement.

I hope this isolated issues will not deter you from returning to Hotel de Rome and I do hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back in not too distant future.


With best regards from Berlin,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is a very nice and modern hotel right in the heart of Berlin. The rooms are A+ - clean, modern, very nice shower and quiet. The lobby is gorgeous and the food is fantastic. It is also in the perfect location - in 'East Berlin' but within walking distance to Brandenburg Gate and the various things you would want to see as a tourist. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamLoewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear AdamLoewy,

Thank you so much for recommending Hotel de Rome here on TripAdvisor! I hope you had a safe trip back to Texas. Your evaluation showed me that you overall had a nice time and you relished our facilities and our food.

Once again thank you very much for taking the time to right about Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome!

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is very charming, small and elegant. The rooms are very nice with a fabulous bathroom. It has an excellent rooftop bar/lounge that overlooks a lovely square with a great view over part of the city. It is walking distance from the museum area and there are many great restaurants also within walking distance. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southernmell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Croeh,

Thank you so much for your superb evaluation here on TripAdvisor! I am very glad that you had a fantastic time in Berlin and at Hotel de Rome!

I really hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome!

With best wishes,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed 3 nights in July. Excellent hotel. Very friendly staff. Rooms well equipped and in great shape. The only thing I missed: Tea/Coffee makeing facilities in room. Very enjoyable roof top terrace. The building is full of nice surprises. Great breakfast with healthy choices. Easy 5 minute stroll to next subway station, therefore well connected. Easy walink distance to Brandenburg Gate.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robbie46117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Robbie 46117,

Thank you so much for your comment here on TripAdvisor! I hope you had a safe trip back to Oberhausen.

It was fantastic to read that you very much enjoyed the facilities and everything our hotel has to offer.

It would be my pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future at Hotel de Rome!

With best regards from Berlin,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is the third Rocco Forte hotel my wife and I have visited and it is stellar in every category. The hotel is well situated -- an easy walk to a couple of major train stations, some interesting neighborhoods, the major museums and tourist sites. A converted bank, the interior is very different -- very high ceilings, wide hallways -- and extraordinarily quiet. The public areas are very stylish, the bar was a fun venue for watching some World Cup games. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooftop lounge area was a great location for late afternoon drinks, very relaxed, great views. The fitness center was moderately well equipped, but enough for a good workout. There are both dry and wet saunas and an attractive indoor pool. The entire spa area was clean, well appointed and uncrowded. Our room was spacious, lots of electrical outlets for our devices, great bathroom, and extraordinarily quiet. The room was serviced twice daily by what seemed to be an invisible cleaning staff; we couldn't figure out how we never manager to see any cleaning personnel for five days. The concierge was extraordinarily helpful. Two minor things: the bed was fairly stiff and the basic free internet was slow; the hotel should provide a faster service at no charge. Overall, this was one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in and a great choice.

Room Tip: Our room faced in interior courtyard; no view, but very quiet all the time.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Michael J,

Thank you for taking the time to comment here on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Hotel de Rome. I hope you had a save trip back home to California.

Your evaluation has been gratefully received and it has been my pleasure to pass them on to all the team. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With best regards from Berlin,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews