We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special hotel”
Review of Hotel de Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de Rome
Ranked #9 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A very special hotel”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is a good hotel. Gracious, friendly and very competent staff, superb and quiet location in the old East Berlin, magnificent breakfasts, great bar...lovely spa! I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyDoodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear SysneyDoodah,

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate us here on TripAdvisor!

We would be more then delighted, to welcome you back in not to distant time.

Until then all the best!

Best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    918
    236
    55
    19
    4
See reviews for
213
416
76
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I had very high expectations of this hotel as the rating was so high. The hotel is nice and has great spa and location. The design of the rooms took me by surprice but mainly service.
The was a very strange element behing TV set which I didn't understand why and what was its purpose. We were not escorted in the room. The service at the breakfast was unfriendly - actually the students working at reakfast were very friendly but the regular staff were just the oposite. The WiFi concept of slow connection for free and fast you have to pay is also something I didn't appreciate - it feels like we make it slow to make you to buy the fast conenction:o(. The only three good service moments were teh head od spa area, a bar waiter and breakfast students. If you search for excellent service and great rooms you have better options in Waldorf or Das Stue.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchour1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, New York
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This was our first trip to Berlin and we were thrilled with our stay here. The most important thing about the Hotel de Rome is it's amazing location. It's within walking distance of the Brandenburg gate, the Reichtag, Museum Island, etc... Our room was very spacious and well appointed. Maid service was conscientious, including a daily turndown service. We were upgraded to free daily breakfast. European breakfasts rock, and this was no exception. A large selection of bread, cheese, fish, cold cuts, fruit, etc... with eggs, omelettes, pancakes, etc.. made to order. We had a great experience with our concierge- she was really helpful in organizing how we approached the city and recommending restaurant. She even helped us change seats for our return flight home on the uncooperative AirBerlin. The icing on the cake was that the hotel sent a car to pick us up after dinner a few nights. I would recommend this place as your Berlin vacation headquarters without hesistation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Solomander,

Thank you so much for your amazing words in regards to your experience with us! We really do hope that you remember this stay at Hotel De Rome as something very special, when you reminisce the time thinking about Berlin!

We also hope, that you will soon have the chance to visit Hotel de Rome in the near future!

With best regards to Scarsdale New York!

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Like de Russie in Rome and the beautiful Charles in Munich, this hotel is everything you can expect from Roco Forte. The style, the great beds, the location, and a perfect breakfast. Its too expensive for just a business trip but for a romantic vacation we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear ron I,

Thank you so much for fantastic evaluation here on TripAdvisor and for being so kind to mention the other Rocco Forte Hotels!

I am very pleased to read that you had a great time at Hotel de Rome!

Hopefully you will soon have the opportunity to come back to visit us in Berlin!

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

After reading several TripAdvisor reviews, I selected Hotel de Rome for 4 nights after a Baltic Sea cruise.

It is right in the center of where you want to be in East Berlin. There is some construction in the Bebelplatz but we were never disturbed. Most sites are within walking distance and there are quaint little bars and restaurants just a couple of blocks away.

Our room was located on the 2nd floor and was very spacious. The room was very clean and comfortable. My husband is over 6 feet tall and 200 pounds and he comfortably fit in the shower, which isn't always the case when we travel. Some people mentioned poor cable and internet connection, and I agree that it was not the best, but these are not top priorities when we travel for leisure and not business. Our window opened up to Bebelplatz and the room was quiet and the drapes are heavy, which helped block out the early rising sun.

The hotel was once a bank and they preserved some of the original marble flooring. One of the spa rooms in the basement is in the old vault! We did not utilize the spa and fitness center, but the spa appears to be very relaxing.

The concierge was amazing! They assisted us with restaurant recommendations and booked our museum tickets (avoiding long lines at the museums). They booked the wrong day for one of our tickets and when we got turned away, we called the concierge. He asked to speak to the museum guard. After a short phone conversation, the museum guard stated, "You have a nice hotel" and let us in. We agree. We had a nice hotel.

We enjoyed cocktails at the hotel bar. The bartender, or mixologist, was fun to watch; he made each drink as if it were a piece of art.

We visited the rooftop lounge. The view is great. We just had drinks. Others around us ordered snacks and the food looked delicious. It sprinkled a bit, but I had a rain coat and the staff did not skip a beat.

We ate at the hotel restaurant one night. They were in the middle of a remodel, but seated us in a different room. The steak was delicious.

Service was phenomenal throughout our entire experience.

We would happily stay here again if we get the opportunity to return to Berlin.


Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bpostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear bpostar,

Thank you so much for this lovely words and for taking the time to wright here on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Hotel de Rome.

Your detailed résumé about the Hotel, the staff and the food quality has been gratefully received and it has been my pleasure to pass them on to all the team. I am glad that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us.

Kindly note that it is always my pleasure to read such nice and honest appraisals!

I do hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Thies Sponholz
General Manager


With best regards from Berlin,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Hotel de Rome is a beautiful hotel that is housed in a former grand old bank. Everything went extremely smoothly. Service was superb. Room decor, while a little spare, was modern and attractive. Hotel was a critical part of a fantastic weekend break in one of Europe's best cities. Definitely recommended

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. Lower floors have higher ceilings/grander dimensions
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RegTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Reg Travellers,

Thank you so much for your nice comments here on TripAdvisor! I am very glad that you relished your stay with us and hope that this experience will remain in your memories, until you come back to visit this vibrant city!

I do hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Another excellent Rocco Forte hotel. Perfect location, staff and amenities, The bar
is very interesting, They even served a nice dinner and excellent breakfast buffet eventhough
the Parioli restaurant is closed for remodeling and will be opened in Sept. The room
was as good as it gets. We were upgraded so we also had a terrace with a good view.
Unfortunately, it rained so we couldn't have a drink at the roof top bar and grill.
As good as it gets.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Stanley R,

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate us here on TripAdvisor and for your feedback in regards to your stay at Hotel de Rome. I hope you had a save trip back home to Florida.

Your evaluation has been gratefully received and it has been my pleasure to pass them on to all the team. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,568 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#15 of 634 in Berlin
3,436 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#12 of 634 in Berlin
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 634 in Berlin
456 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Rome

Property: Hotel de Rome
Address: Behrenstr. 37, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Berlin
#5 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#24 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Rome is located on Bebelplatz, off Unter den Linden. It is a conversion of an existing building constructed in 1889 by architect Ludwig Heim (appointed master builder of the government), which housed the head office of Dresdner Bank until 1945. This is one of the few luxury hotels in Berlin located in an original building making use of its full architectural splendour and thereby offering guests an authentic Berlin experience.The ornate and classical design of the original building has been given a contemporary twist by designer Tommaso Ziffer, who also designed the Hotel de Russie in Rome. Tommaso Ziffer has been assisted by architects Aukett + Heese with Olga Polizzi and her design team at Rocco Forte Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rome Hotel
De Rome Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing