We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good and the bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #147 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Fallbrook, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The good and the bad”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Although I was not happy with the hotel I will still describe the positives as well as the negatives.

The good:

Location is very close to great shopping, historical interests and good dining
Free parking if you can find it is available on the street (I was fortunate to find) paid parking is reasonable (10 euro/day)
The hotel and rooms were clean
If it had been a 4 star the prices was reasonable

The bad:

Clearly not a four star as advertised.
The breakfast quality was mediocre.
The rooms were very small and the bathrooms were so small it was uncomfortable to use.
The shower doors leaked due to poor installation.
The beds were not comfortable.
The wi-fi in the rooms was poor (they did inform you of this when you checked-in) although it still was not acceptable for a listed 4 star hotel.
Must have the room key plugged in for the outlets to work. This prevented phones,iPad etc. from being charged while in town. Not a big deal just annoying
The staff was not friendly, not rude but certainly not welcoming

Overall I would not recommend

Room Tip: Look for this area just not this hotel :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Manager at Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Good day Steven,
first off we would like to thank you for your detailed review. We are very well aware that this takes a considerable effort from your side and we thank you very much for your time.
Of course we are particularly pleased about the positive comments. Although we take those that are not so considerably for our hotel very serious. Rest assured that after thorough internal research, we take the necessary steps to correct the issue whenever possible!
We would, however be very pleased to welcome you again upon your next visit in Berlin so that we could deliver the service that you expect
thank you again

the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    568
    201
    37
    25
See reviews for
135
570
75
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is a really nice hotel in an ok location. The staff were all very helpful and they were always willing to offer advice on the local area. I found the location a little disappointing as reviews of Berlin said it was a good area to stay in and although many historical sites were within walking distance, there wasn't much to do in the immediate area in the evening, especially if you prefer a lively atmosphere. There are a few good places to eat, but not many bars. The Topography of Terror is close by and so is the Jewish Museum, both are really interesting and quite moving, but be prepared to read A LOT! The Hotel is near to the underground and the trains are really easy to get around on and cheap for a day ticket (you can also use the trams with some tickets). If you don't need a buzzing area this hotel would be just right, not too busy and easy to get to the sights and don't be put off by looks, it doesn't look like the nicest area but it's really quiet and just seems to have more locals around. By the way there is a great late night café around the corner on the main walk up to Checkpoint Charlie that does the best hot chocolate, well worth a visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShuH74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Every day a new crime! Today three minutes late for breakfast the unsmiling blonde manager tried to bar us then grudgingly allowed us to stay. A frozen faced waitress put coffee down. Not a smile or a good morning. After a few minutes the manager told us to leave, my daughter mid cereal. When I replied no problem, her look was of utter hatred. I suggested she smile - cheeky I know - and she banged plates and pots.

The beds are clean. The area sad. But nothing can beat the awful misery of the staff. Poor them, poor us.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dorolou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Clean and staff very helpful but not worth the money.the district was not the best Alexander platz had much more to offer.more things to see and do, the only bug there was we went on a tour bus and was told it was in English as well as German but it wasn't and was awful so we complained and was told to get off, we did and took another tour that was far better the first one was the white bus tours.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Would like to rate it higher, but there was somekind of misunderstanding which led to only 1 set of towels, pillows etc.... which I had to collect myself at the front desk... Great service otherwise and the breakfast buffet was great!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed four nights at the Winters Hotel Berlin. Our experience was largely positive, but that is mostly due to only using the room for its excellent shower and beds.

When we arrived, albeit around midnight, there was no one at the reception desk to greet us, and eventually we were checked in by the bartender. The room was spacious and comfortable, but lacked the little details that I find essential - for example, a kettle and tea, as well as wifi. There wasn't even paid wifi in the rooms, only high speed via cable.

It was, however, completely spotless, and immaculate. There was little noise from other rooms, and as we were on a sidestreet, only occasional traffic, even during the busy May Day weekend.

Breakfast was too expensive to bother with, as there are so many bakeries and cafes in the area.

This review may sound generally mixed, but I would come here again - reliable, clean and central - just don't expect any extras, even with the 'four star' rating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yuenling9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brescia, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked a standard double room (about 21 mq from the site) and we were given a single room badly adapted, much smaller (about 15 mq). Despite protests to the front desk we could not get the room we booked and place, simply was granted a discount of 10 €. We were both disappointed by the behavior of the hotel (overbooked?), both by Booking who did nothing to compensate for our inconvenience.
Andrea G. - Italy

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndreaGue2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Kreuzberg
GOLD INN Angleterre
GOLD INN Angleterre
#146 of 634 in Berlin
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
NH Berlin Potsdamer Platz
NH Berlin Potsdamer Platz
#117 of 634 in Berlin
664 reviews
Kreuzberg
Relexa Hotel Stuttgarter Hof
Kreuzberg
ibis budget Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Property: Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Address: Hedemannstr. 11 - 12, 10969 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Novum Winters Hotel Checkpoint Charlie)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#122 Family Hotel in Berlin
#132 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#144 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berlin's new and old centre mixes history and future: At Checkpoint Charlie history was written for decades. It is located in the direct neighborhood of the Potsdamer Platz, which is a symbol of Berlin's future and its new centre with political, media, cultural- and lifestyle institutions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winters Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing