We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent breakfasts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #143 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We got a great deal for a 3 night, 4 day stay, GBP60 b&b double per night. They gave us a quiet room at the back. Being a standard room it was compact but the only problem was getting past if someone was sitting at the desk. The bathroom was good, there was (just) enough storage space and the minibar was big enough to keep our drinks cool. Quite a big TV. The wifi worked well once you were logged in but it would make us log in again and again each day on our tablets which was annoying. The bed was comfortable and it was good being able to leave the window open and the a/c off at night (we discarded the duvets and slept under double sheets). The breakfasts were excellent - plenty of cereals, fruit, breads, cheeses and cold meats etc. There was also scrambled egg with bacon and a variety of other hot things, eg tomatoes one morning. Finally, the location is perfect, near two U stations and with plenty of restaurants, supermarkets etc around. There's also the very useful M29 bus one block South. That goes to the New National Gallery to the West and some good Turkish restaurants to the East (Adalbertstr).

Room Tip: Zimmerstrasse is fairly quiet but rooms at the back are ever so quiet
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Manager at Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Eric_P_B,

thank you very much for your detailed review. We are very well aware that this takes a considerable effort from your side and we thank you very much for your time. We are very pleased about all the positive comments you made, of course we also read the comment about our internet-login process, we are working on a solution. It is always great to hear when guests found our hotel to be located very well.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
best regards
Sven Fischer
Electronic Distribution Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,175)
There are newer reviews for Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 1,175 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Except for the perfect location, which was near the city center, Winters Hotel wasn't what we were expecting. First of all, we ordered for wi-fi in the room, but they gave us a room where there was no wireless internet. They told us that we could use only the pc at loby. Secondly, the room was really narrow, that we couldn't put our luggage anywhere (we where 3 people in a room for 2). Not to mention the rude staff. The only advantages were the location and the clean rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ιωάννα Σ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Geschäftsführer at Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Ιωάννα Σ,

first off we would like to thank you for your detailed review. We are very well aware that this takes a considerable effort from your side and we thank you very much for your time.
Of course we are particularly pleased about the positive comments. Although we take those that are not so considerably for our hotel very serious. Rest assured that after thorough internal research, we take the necessary steps to correct the issue whenever possible!
We would, however be very pleased to welcome you again upon your next visit in Berlin so that we could deliver the service that you expect

thank you again
the management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Hotel was very clean, modern, staff are very attentive and helpful, breakfast was adequate, you can have as much as you like, easy to get to check point charlie, the hotel is rated as 4 star, however i cant really see how they achieved this, i would say its a solid. 3 star, however I have no complaints and would highly recommend this hotel to all.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sgdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Geschäftsführer at Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

We thank you very much for your time and effort to rate our Winters Hotel Berlin Mitte at Checkpoint Charlie in such great detail. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff friendly and helpful and the rooms to be clean.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
best regards
the management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Although I was not happy with the hotel I will still describe the positives as well as the negatives.

The good:

Location is very close to great shopping, historical interests and good dining
Free parking if you can find it is available on the street (I was fortunate to find) paid parking is reasonable (10 euro/day)
The hotel and rooms were clean
If it had been a 4 star the prices was reasonable

The bad:

Clearly not a four star as advertised.
The breakfast quality was mediocre.
The rooms were very small and the bathrooms were so small it was uncomfortable to use.
The shower doors leaked due to poor installation.
The beds were not comfortable.
The wi-fi in the rooms was poor (they did inform you of this when you checked-in) although it still was not acceptable for a listed 4 star hotel.
Must have the room key plugged in for the outlets to work. This prevented phones,iPad etc. from being charged while in town. Not a big deal just annoying
The staff was not friendly, not rude but certainly not welcoming

Overall I would not recommend

Room Tip: Look for this area just not this hotel :)
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Manager at Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Good day Steven,
first off we would like to thank you for your detailed review. We are very well aware that this takes a considerable effort from your side and we thank you very much for your time.
Of course we are particularly pleased about the positive comments. Although we take those that are not so considerably for our hotel very serious. Rest assured that after thorough internal research, we take the necessary steps to correct the issue whenever possible!
We would, however be very pleased to welcome you again upon your next visit in Berlin so that we could deliver the service that you expect
thank you again

the management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is a really nice hotel in an ok location. The staff were all very helpful and they were always willing to offer advice on the local area. I found the location a little disappointing as reviews of Berlin said it was a good area to stay in and although many historical sites were within walking distance, there wasn't much to do in the immediate area in the evening, especially if you prefer a lively atmosphere. There are a few good places to eat, but not many bars. The Topography of Terror is close by and so is the Jewish Museum, both are really interesting and quite moving, but be prepared to read A LOT! The Hotel is near to the underground and the trains are really easy to get around on and cheap for a day ticket (you can also use the trams with some tickets). If you don't need a buzzing area this hotel would be just right, not too busy and easy to get to the sights and don't be put off by looks, it doesn't look like the nicest area but it's really quiet and just seems to have more locals around. By the way there is a great late night café around the corner on the main walk up to Checkpoint Charlie that does the best hot chocolate, well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShuH74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Every day a new crime! Today three minutes late for breakfast the unsmiling blonde manager tried to bar us then grudgingly allowed us to stay. A frozen faced waitress put coffee down. Not a smile or a good morning. After a few minutes the manager told us to leave, my daughter mid cereal. When I replied no problem, her look was of utter hatred. I suggested she smile - cheeky I know - and she banged plates and pots.

The beds are clean. The area sad. But nothing can beat the awful misery of the staff. Poor them, poor us.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank dorolou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Clean and staff very helpful but not worth the money.the district was not the best Alexander platz had much more to offer.more things to see and do, the only bug there was we went on a tour bus and was told it was in English as well as German but it wasn't and was awful so we complained and was told to get off, we did and took another tour that was far better the first one was the white bus tours.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Kreuzberg
Hotel Angleterre
Hotel Angleterre
#148 of 635 in Berlin
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
NH Berlin Potsdamer Platz
NH Berlin Potsdamer Platz
#115 of 635 in Berlin
671 reviews
Kreuzberg
ibis budget Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Kreuzberg
mondrian suites berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Hedemannstr. 11 - 12, 10969 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Novum Winters Hotel Checkpoint Charlie)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#105 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#122 Family Hotel in Berlin
#132 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#144 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £51 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berlin's new and old centre mixes history and future: At Checkpoint Charlie history was written for decades. It is located in the direct neighborhood of the Potsdamer Platz, which is a symbol of Berlin's future and its new centre with political, media, cultural- and lifestyle institutions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winters Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing