We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location for Three Day Sights Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #151 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location for Three Day Sights Visit”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, a twin room on the third floor. View was to the inner courtyard, very effective A/C in the room which was needed as it was 37 degrees outside. Modern clean shower room, very clean room, tidied and refreshed each day. Good WIFI access in the room plus minibar. Excellent breakfast, with fresh bakery items, usual cereals, a good range of fresh meats, cheeses etc.
Good location 2 minutes from Checkpoint Charlie, the GDR museum, Topography of Terror. Nearest underground about 5 minutes walk and easy to get to Tegel airport from here (one change). Very friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleredtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Leiter Front Office at Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear littleredtraveller,

thank you very much for your review. We appreciate it very much that you took the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you found the hotel very well located, the rooms clean and the staff friendly!
We hope to welcome you again in the future.

best regards
Marcus Korintha
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    556
    199
    36
    24
See reviews for
134
560
73
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Spent four nights (five days) at the Winters at the start of July. The hotel has excellent transport links - the nearest U-bahn station is 250m from the hotel (U Kochstraße), with that line providing transport links to both Berlin Schönefeld Airport (with one change) and S+U Friedrichstraße meaning that getting around the city is simple.

After having arrived at 10am, the hotel staff allowed us to check in five hours early, providing us with a twin room on the fourth floor. The hotel rooms are secured, as one must use their room key to pass through a door to the lift lobby. The room itself was simple and more than sufficient for resting, and had a great bathroom, including a large shower. An ethernet cable is provided in the room for accessing the internet, but there is no wireless in the room (if I were to return to the hotel, and I definitely would I would bring a netbook or laptop to utilise the internet connection). Wireless connectivity in the lobby is fast and reliable, and there is a small bank of PCs to use as well.

During our stay we didn't use the restaurant but the breakfast looked good through the window. There are plenty of coffee shops at Checkpoint Charlie, which was 400 metres up the street.

The staff were friendly and spoke good English, and nothing was too much hassle. Housekeeping staff were active daily, providing us with fresh bed linen and towels daily.

Thoroughly enjoyed staying at this hotel and definitely would return. Thanks Winters!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the roadside are quieter, but all rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ollie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Manager at Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Ollie S,

thank you for your great review. We are really happy that you took the time to write such a detailed review. It is great to hear that you thought our hotel was very well located, the rooms clean and the staff friendly.
We hope to welcome you again in Berlin or any other Winters Hotel Destination.
Best regards from Berlin
Alexandra Pickowski
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

On arrival we checked in early with no problems. The room was quiet and compact with the shower in the room itself, designed in a boutique hotel style. The room internet is on cat5 cable, so not useful for anything other than a computer, but there was wireless in the lobby. Staff gave us helpful travel information. Hotel is located in a clean, quiet and safe area, close to useful transport links. You can walk to lots of tourist sites from there. Ideal for a short break.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chaseacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Leiter Front Office at Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Good day Adfabby,

thanks alot for your detailed review. We are very happy that you felt at home at the Winters Hotel Berlin Mitte am Checkpoint Charlie. It is always great to hear when someone enjoyed our good location, he clean rooms and our breakfast offer.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.

best regards
Marcus Korintha
Front Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
341 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We got a great deal for a 3 night, 4 day stay, GBP60 b&b double per night. They gave us a quiet room at the back. Being a standard room it was compact but the only problem was getting past if someone was sitting at the desk. The bathroom was good, there was (just) enough storage space and the minibar was big enough to keep our drinks cool. Quite a big TV. The wifi worked well once you were logged in but it would make us log in again and again each day on our tablets which was annoying. The bed was comfortable and it was good being able to leave the window open and the a/c off at night (we discarded the duvets and slept under double sheets). The breakfasts were excellent - plenty of cereals, fruit, breads, cheeses and cold meats etc. There was also scrambled egg with bacon and a variety of other hot things, eg tomatoes one morning. Finally, the location is perfect, near two U stations and with plenty of restaurants, supermarkets etc around. There's also the very useful M29 bus one block South. That goes to the New National Gallery to the West and some good Turkish restaurants to the East (Adalbertstr).

Room Tip: Zimmerstrasse is fairly quiet but rooms at the back are ever so quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Manager at Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Eric_P_B,

thank you very much for your detailed review. We are very well aware that this takes a considerable effort from your side and we thank you very much for your time. We are very pleased about all the positive comments you made, of course we also read the comment about our internet-login process, we are working on a solution. It is always great to hear when guests found our hotel to be located very well.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
best regards
Sven Fischer
Electronic Distribution Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Except for the perfect location, which was near the city center, Winters Hotel wasn't what we were expecting. First of all, we ordered for wi-fi in the room, but they gave us a room where there was no wireless internet. They told us that we could use only the pc at loby. Secondly, the room was really narrow, that we couldn't put our luggage anywhere (we where 3 people in a room for 2). Not to mention the rude staff. The only advantages were the location and the clean rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ιωάννα Σ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Geschäftsführer at Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Ιωάννα Σ,

first off we would like to thank you for your detailed review. We are very well aware that this takes a considerable effort from your side and we thank you very much for your time.
Of course we are particularly pleased about the positive comments. Although we take those that are not so considerably for our hotel very serious. Rest assured that after thorough internal research, we take the necessary steps to correct the issue whenever possible!
We would, however be very pleased to welcome you again upon your next visit in Berlin so that we could deliver the service that you expect

thank you again
the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel was very clean, modern, staff are very attentive and helpful, breakfast was adequate, you can have as much as you like, easy to get to check point charlie, the hotel is rated as 4 star, however i cant really see how they achieved this, i would say its a solid. 3 star, however I have no complaints and would highly recommend this hotel to all.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sgdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Geschäftsführer at Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We thank you very much for your time and effort to rate our Winters Hotel Berlin Mitte at Checkpoint Charlie in such great detail. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff friendly and helpful and the rooms to be clean.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
best regards
the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Although I was not happy with the hotel I will still describe the positives as well as the negatives.

The good:

Location is very close to great shopping, historical interests and good dining
Free parking if you can find it is available on the street (I was fortunate to find) paid parking is reasonable (10 euro/day)
The hotel and rooms were clean
If it had been a 4 star the prices was reasonable

The bad:

Clearly not a four star as advertised.
The breakfast quality was mediocre.
The rooms were very small and the bathrooms were so small it was uncomfortable to use.
The shower doors leaked due to poor installation.
The beds were not comfortable.
The wi-fi in the rooms was poor (they did inform you of this when you checked-in) although it still was not acceptable for a listed 4 star hotel.
Must have the room key plugged in for the outlets to work. This prevented phones,iPad etc. from being charged while in town. Not a big deal just annoying
The staff was not friendly, not rude but certainly not welcoming

Overall I would not recommend

Room Tip: Look for this area just not this hotel :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Manager at Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Good day Steven,
first off we would like to thank you for your detailed review. We are very well aware that this takes a considerable effort from your side and we thank you very much for your time.
Of course we are particularly pleased about the positive comments. Although we take those that are not so considerably for our hotel very serious. Rest assured that after thorough internal research, we take the necessary steps to correct the issue whenever possible!
We would, however be very pleased to welcome you again upon your next visit in Berlin so that we could deliver the service that you expect
thank you again

the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Kreuzberg
GOLD INN Angleterre
GOLD INN Angleterre
#146 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Ostbahnhof
Kreuzberg
Relexa Hotel Stuttgarter Hof
Friedrichshain
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Property: Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Address: Hedemannstr. 11 - 12, 10969 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Novum Winters Hotel Checkpoint Charlie)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#108 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#122 Family Hotel in Berlin
#132 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#144 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berlin's new and old centre mixes history and future: At Checkpoint Charlie history was written for decades. It is located in the direct neighborhood of the Potsdamer Platz, which is a symbol of Berlin's future and its new centre with political, media, cultural- and lifestyle institutions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winters Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing