We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, warm and inviting - an echo from East Berlin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garden Boutique Hotel
Ranked #240 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This gem has a rich history that hearkens back to the older days of a divided Berlin. It was a real discovery for us, and "Honeymoom" hotel lived up to its name. We enjoyed a delicious dinner at the companion hotel's restaurant and discovered how wonderful dining with the locals can really be. We enjoyed very comfortable accomodations, comparable to the luxury feel of a Westin, found our way around the safe and well-lit residential neighborhood nearby without any trouble, and enjoyed the close proximity to the U-bahn and S-bahn routes. Hotel reception was absolutely charming, and made us feel like old friends returning after a long time away. It was only a ten minute walk to the colorful pedestrian zone and a memorable stroll down Unter den Linden to the Brandenburg Gate, and we engaged a knowledgeable guide to show us the historical sights and memorials throughout the eastern sector on our second day. Perfect location for a visit to Berlin, especially if you plan to see much of the old East Berlin historical sights, the Stassi prison site, the majestic parliament (Reichstag),and stroll through the Tiergarten.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side and opposite Invalidenstrasse may be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vralitigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2011

This is a very special place. We had an apartment in the garden, which was very nice. There were steep starirs to climb, but this had been announced by the hotel on beforehand when making the reservation, so that was our own choice. We definitely liked its location: quiet and still close to the lively places. Very much the feeling of a living neigbourhood in the former East Berlin. And of course the garden is magnificent. Also very pleasant are the homely breakfast and breakfast room(s). You have definitely not the feeling of staying in a big hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights for the Berlin Marathon. The hotel is a nice mix of antique and modern, and the location is great. They have a secure parking facility, and the U-bahn and S-bahn train stations are a block away. S-bahn from here take about 10 minutes to get to Unter der Linden, Brandenburg Gate, the Reichstag, and the main downtown shopping district. If you want to go across town to Charlottenburg, the Zoo, etc. it takes about another 20 minutes with train changes.
It is also only a ten minute walk from Museum Island, as well as 2 streets (Tor strasse and ??) that were full of restaurants and bars that stayed open with great nightlife until dawn.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runningman30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

My husband and I stayed for three nights in September 2010. The gentleman at the front desk was great helping us navigate the city by public transportation. Our room was small but nice - a little out of the way - but we didn't mind and welcomed the exercise by walking.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acura3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

overall I enjoyed my stay here. quiet, close to our office, peaceful and chilled out reception. decent but not great value for Berlin, but the breakfast was very good. do spend a few minutes in the garden if you have time, for some reflection/tranquility. I had a room in the garden, which is a modern building so less charm than main building, but still quite nice. one note though - hotel was cash only, so I ended up needing to have 400 in cash to pay for 3 nights stay there! so remember to carry an extra wad of cash if you stay there. do consider dinner at their sister hotel round the corner - pretty cool vibe and good value dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jameswinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

This hotel is a little farther out of the "main" area of Berlin, but is a pleasant walk into the main tourist attractions. It's clean, the staff are friendly and happy to help. The one issue we had was no AC. They provided us with a fan - but had to use the one they had set up in the main lobby! The garden in the back is beautiful - perfect place to have breakfast and start the day. They also have a computer in the lobby for free internet. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReadyToGo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We recently stayed for 7 nights, having booked 2 suites and a single room. The rooms were clean and somewhat quirky, as previously described. The garden was a real treat, a lovely place to relax and enjoy the daily included breakfasts. The desk service was, however, minimal and begrudging at best. Requests for information or help with dinner reservations etc. were met with abruptness or incomprehension. The phone itself in the room had to be rented (although once rented there was no charge for local calls). The suites were located on the 3rd and 4th floor (actually the 4th and 5th) with no one to help us up with our bags. Although there was a coffee machine on the ground floor that was always available, there was a charge to make a cup of coffee or tea, symptomatic of a lack of graciousness or the lack of providing any extra comforts to guests. All in all, none of us would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mperse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
HONIGMOND Boutique Hotel
HONIGMOND Boutique Hotel
#205 of 634 in Berlin
187 reviews
Provocateur Berlin
#195 of 634 in Berlin
59 reviews
Moabit
ABION Villa
ABION Villa
#218 of 634 in Berlin
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#82 of 634 in Berlin
289 reviews
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#73 of 634 in Berlin
514 reviews
Charlottenburg
Henri Hotel Berlin
Henri Hotel Berlin
#207 of 634 in Berlin
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Boutique Hotel

Address: Invalidenstr. 122 | Mitte, 10115 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Honigmond Garden Hotel)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#140 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#147 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £76 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Garden Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honigmond Garden Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing