We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirk, charm, quiet - all I'd ever need”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garden Boutique Hotel
Ranked #281 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Geneva
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Quirk, charm, quiet - all I'd ever need”
Reviewed 15 March 2010

I only stayed there two short nights, and in a single room, which was on the small side - but what I look for in a hotel is a comfortable and quiet sleep, and this I got in abundance.

The room was charming, and overlooking the quiet and nice garden at the back (I have no idea how quiet the rooms at the front are however.)

The location is, I think, quite good for a city the size of Berlin. Very close to the main train station, and I walked to the center very easily.

I really enjoyed the place, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank signal38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    28
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
4
39
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2010

We loved this place. It's on the northerna edge of Mitte and has great transport links (two underground stations close by and trams and buses past the door) but actually with a tiny bit of energy you can just walk into town, which is pleasant and interesting. Our beautiful room was very comfortable and we liked the historic feeling of the building and its odd layout. As well as the old building there are some newer rooms out in the very pretty (and peaceful) garden, so I suppose those in the know could choose which sort of "feel" they wanted for their stay. There's no dinner but there are some fantastic restaurants nearby, including the "other" Honigmond round a couple of corners. Breakfast at the Honigmond Garden was excellent and effectively unlimited so you could eat for the day! The reception is nice and club-like and the staff are very pleasant and helpful. If we were lucky enough to return to Berlin we'd be back at this lovely hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vogel421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We stayed four days and four nights in Berlin and were lucky enough to find this wonderful hotel. It's very centrally located on the busy Invalidenstrasse but absolutely quaint and serene. Many of the "must see sights" are walking distance-at least for someone who likes to walk. The most interesting restaurants are just around the corner and you are a stone throw away from the happening place: Prenzlauer Berg.
Berlin is always worth a trip and the Honigmond Garden Hotel makes it difficult to leave this terrific city.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missjazzcaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

This hotel is in the heart of Berlin, near the brand new Hauptbahnhof and within walking distance of many of the city's major museums, galleries, cafés and designer shops of Oranienburgerstrasse and Hackesche Höfe, the bookshops of Prenzlauer Berg, theatre and opera. It's just down the road from the magnificent old natural history museum and round the corner from the historic Dorotheenstädtischer Friedhof, the last resting place of writers, philosophers, actors, including Bertolt Brecht, Helene Weigel, Heinrich Mann, G.W.F. Hegel. From my suite of rooms on the third floor (no lift! good exercise! incredibly peaceful!) I looked down into the delightful oasis of the hotel garden: its pebble paths wind past trees and flowering bushes, a bridge crosses a small fish pond. Oskar the cat keeps an eye on fish, visiting birds and hotel guests. The rooms are bright, clean, and furnished rather theatrically, with an eclectic mix of history and humour. Falling asleep I had the choice of focussing on a large gold-framed painting of a high-seas battle between pirate ships or watching the wide-screen TV. There was a generous bathroom, a small but well-equipped kitchen, and a charming sitting area. The breakfasts were excellent, the staff extremely helpful, there's a computer for guests in the reception area, and a big bowl of chocolates. In some ways the Honigmond - the name means "honeymoon" - offers a little less than expected (rooms without telephone, and private internet access had to be purchased) but in important ways it offers much more. Its surprises and charm place it in a class of its own.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissusMagnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Honigmond Gardens for 2 weeks June-July 2008. We had a large apartment one floor above ground level overlooking the garden/courtyard. The apartment was pleasantly quaint/eclectic; the recently remodeled bathroom was first-rate.
The staff are exceptionally nice. The garden is a treat...we enjoyed breakfast outside every morning except when the weather forced us inside. Breakfast features an excellent selection of pastries, cereals, juices, fruit, breads, meats, and cheeses. The apartment was quiet...like silent...throughout the evening and night.
The Honigmond experience was nearly flawless (assuming that kind people, good food, quiet, and a beautiful garden meet your specifications for "flawless").
The clientele (during our stay, anyway) was predominantly German. This observation may relate to my only criticism of the Honigmond Gardens. No credit cards; only cash or one of several EU (only) debit cards. For an international visitor this was a pain in the behind; I wound up transferring the entire amount of a 14-night stay in advance to the Honigmond's bank (at E165 per night). I have no regrets whatsoever at having done so; it just was aggravating to manage the relationship between the Honigmond; the Honigmond's bank; and my bank. This is the only downside of staying at this privately (and excellently!) managed property.
And I should note as well...the location is just about perfect: at the north side of Mitte a short walk or tram-ride from Prenzlauer-berg. If, like us, you're not a great fan of traditional German food but thrive on inexpensive, international, fusion-type food, you can't beat Prenzlauer-berg.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirazSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2007

This hotel is worth every penny!! They've paid attention to all the details and it shows. The friendly staff makes you feel immediately welcomed. If you've got an early flight out and would otherwise miss breakfast, they'll pack a lunch for you to take along.

The location is convenient for exploring Mitte and a short walk into Prenzlauer Berg.

In response to an earlier review: there is now an elevator in the hotel.

The rooms are extremely comfortable, quite, clean and artistically furnished.

  • Liked — Beautiful building, Decor
  • Disliked — I have no complaints
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank MissKim77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2007

I reckon I needn't add to the reviews, but I want to show my support for this most charming hotel. If you don't mind climbing stairs (i don't) and you like a hotel with character, this is the right choice. The breakfast is lovely and the garden serene. Berlin is truely a spectacular city and this hotel adds to the experience.

  • Liked — Charming character, unique design
  • Disliked — I don't remember disliking anything
  • Stayed April 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 5StarBohemian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Honigmond Hotel
Honigmond Hotel
#175 of 634 in Berlin
180 reviews
Mitte
H+ Hotel Berlin Mitte
H+ Hotel Berlin Mitte
#180 of 634 in Berlin
565 reviews
Mitte
The Dude Hotel
The Dude Hotel
#278 of 634 in Berlin
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#75 of 634 in Berlin
475 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,793 reviews
Mitte
Zarenhof Berlin Mitte
Zarenhof Berlin Mitte
#325 of 634 in Berlin
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Boutique Hotel

Property: Garden Boutique Hotel
Address: Invalidenstr. 122 | Mitte, 10115 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Honigmond Garden Hotel)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#140 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#158 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Garden Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honigmond Garden Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing