We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay in Berlin”
Review of Hotel Carmer 16

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Carmer 16
Ranked #385 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Have stayed at this hotel many times, it is in an excellent area, easy to get around Berlin, clean and comfortable. The breakfast is a bit pricey, there are so many wonderful cafes around, try them instead,

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vlp50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions over the last ten years on my business trips to Berlin. While the hotel rooms vary in size and comfort, generally I have stayed in spacious rooms with high ceilings, overlooking the tree-lined Carmerstrasse. With breakfast, the nightly costs are approximately EUR 90.00, which may vary when a large fair is taking place. INTERNET access in the rooms is free (Ask at the front desk for the connecting details). Staff are very helpful, including ordering taxis, which generally arrive within two minutes of being contacted.The hotel has a spa in its top floor.
Another reason for liking this hotel is beacuse of its location near Savigny Platz, which has excellent restaurants. Jazz clubs and the Deutsche Oper are within walking distance. The S-Bahn station, which is no more than 10 minutes walk provides excellent connections with Berlin-Mitte, the old heart of Berlin and other tourist attractions in this extraordinary city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Carmerstrasse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Wow, I have been in hotels with thin walls but this takes the cake. I could literally hear what kind and how many wheels my neighbours suitcases had. The high ceilings are not well insolated so the tip toeing neighbours upstairs do not escape your attention either.

The tiny TV is not very helpful being across the room. You have to pay 10 euros extra to use the sauna facility, which only operates between 11am and 7pm (so this is not a real selling point for the hotel). WiFi was good but they don't change the password so you can actually get away with only paying for one day (:

The location is very convenient and the hotel offers fair value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ferdivh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Very convenient to transport, for walking & eating. Decor a llittle dated but consistently a good & friendly stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlp50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

The last time I was at this hotel was two years ago. It remains a favorite of mine, as I like the KuDamm zone very much - much more than Berlin-Mitte. Here there are a lot of trees and flowers, and restaurants and shops are all around you and the S-Bahn at Savigny-Platz or the U-Bahn or Buses at Bahnohof Zoo are only eight minutes away by foot.
This time we stayed for five nights and rooms and service are of the same good quality. Now you have good WiFi connection in your room - free. The only handicap worth mentioning is that the elevator stops only between two floors - you have always to go a flight of stairs up or down to your room, what can be a nuisance if you have any mobility problems.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjalmar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

My son and I stayed at Hotel Carmer 16 for 4 nights in July, 2010, as part of a 3-week vacation in Europe celebrating his high school graduation. This hotel was one of the best places we stayed during that 3 weeks. The rooms were large, well-furnished and comfortable. Ours looked out onto Carmerstrasse, which was nice in itself. The neighborhood is quiet and pleasant, but with easy access to the Zoo/Tiergarten U-bahn, S-bahn and bus station, so all of Berlin was easily and quickly accessible to us.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful. We found them knowledgeable and interesting as people as well. Everyone was highly fluent in English, very helpful since my German is what I remember from 4 years in high school 35 years ago. The staff loaded us up with information, maps, brochures, and when needed could sell us transit cards, making it easy to use Berlin's excellent public transit.

A special word about breakfast: it's great. Smoked salmon on rolls, fresh fruit and vegetables, but American eggs and bacon too for those who need them. Several mornings I took my pot of coffee out to the sidewalk while my son slept late, and sipped there as the world passed by.

The hotel is not air conditioned. It was hot while we were there. We received fans when we checked in, and used them in the room. The heat was the only drawback of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank U8138FMjeffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Wonderful hotel within walking distance of the main bahnhof, Only 5 minute walk to Savignyplatz passing several great cafes a long the way. Great breakfast with a few tables outside.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
arcona LIVING GOETHE87
arcona LIVING GOETHE87
#280 of 634 in Berlin
189 reviews
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#125 of 634 in Berlin
797 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#68 of 634 in Berlin
4,794 reviews
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmer 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmer 16

Address: Carmerstr. 16 | Charlottenburg, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #385 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £65 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carmer 16 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Carmer 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing