We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pension Columbus
Ranked #242 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel!”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This hotel was truly such a wonderful surprise. My boyfriend and I arrived here in the afternoon after a truly miserable night train experience. We were definitely looking for something good. On first look you wonder where the actual Hotel is in the big building, but you find it on the 3rd floor and are immediately welcomed by it. The rooms are cozy and the beds are amazing. Coming from a week in a half in Italy, we were surprised and excited at how comfortable the mattresses were.

Chris and her husband Klaus, run this almost bed and breakfast. It is clean, warm, very spacious and a little bit funky (in a very good way, none of the towels match and I love that). They serve breakfast each morning which is an impressive spread of meats, breads, homemade yogurt, cereal, cheese, coffee, and soft boiled eggs. I could not believe it when Chris brought out the soft boiled eggs!! I was so excited. Apparently that is a German thing because we found it in the next two cities we visited, but they were prepared the best here.

Originally we had only booked 3 nights at Hotel Columbus, but Berlin has so much to see and do that we wanted to stay another night. On the morning we were supposed to check out, we checked and it said they had another room available for the night. Chris was so accommodating and helped us switch rooms. They even moved our luggage for us. This night we spengt in a room that did not include a bathroom and it was still absolutely perfect and we were so excited to be staying there again. I will recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Berlin. It was located close to public transport and easy to walk to close attractions. We loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    43
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
40
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I have just returned from Berlin and my third stay at the Columbus so beautifully run by Chrissie and Klauss Konig . This small hotel is just perfect , the hosts are always glad to be of help with advice on transport or directions etc. the breakfast is amazingly good with wide choice of cereals and fresh fruits , home made yoghurt , freshly boiled eggs , a wide variety of bread and cold meat and cheeses and endless supply of coffee and tea etc.The position of the hotel is excellent just off Kurferstandam ,very handy for all the best shops ,lots of local restaurants and a metro and buses two minutes away . There is nowhere in Berlin that I would rather stay . Heres to the next time !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fred l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Warm personal hospitality by Chris, the sweet and devoted manager.
Located close to public transportation.
Home like breakfast.
Big rooms and cracky wooden floor - what else can you ask in a successful holiday in Berlin?

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matiep11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed at the Pension Columbus for a second time in May 2012 and enjoyed it very much. The rooms are comfortable and the building is situated on a sidestreet off the Ku'damn, which is a great location for shopping. Also, there is a u-bahn stop very close to the hotel for easy access to the other areas of Berlin. Breakfast is plentiful and is served until 11:00, which works great for those of us who don't get up incredibly early. The bottomless pot of coffee is a plus. The couple who operate the hotel, Klaus and Chris, are friendly and helpful. All in all, for the price I would be surprised if one could find a better deal along the Ku'damn.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I stayed two nights at the end of a business trip.
Very friendly staff and a fantastic location just off the Ku'Damm.
I had read all the reviews and everything stacks up.
However I did have a feeling of uneasiness about the place - a bit like staying with your granny or aunt. I do not like the over familiarity, and prefer a 'keep your distance' approach. I am probably in the minority here, but this would not be my place of choice in Berlin. There is much better value available locally, without the overt 'friendliness'

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santiagowalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

Simply perfect! In 6 weeks of travel across europe this was the best place we stayed and the most affordable!!!! Such beautiful owners, waited up for us as our flight was delayed, gave us a gorgeous room with beautiful chandilier and a honey moon gift of champagne in our room when we arrived!! Rooms are very clean (& cleaned every day) beds are super comfortable with quilts for each person, wifi is awesome, deco is beautiful - vintage & knickknacks, Just beautiful things placed around ramdomly and it works so well! Natural plants in the breakfast room on the window sill are super cute. It truely feels like a home away from home, building is gorgeous and secure and in a central location close to excellent food, shopping, zoo and transport. Home made breakfast every morning is included and again the owners Chris & Klouse are super friendly, kind and welcoming, helpful and just such beautiful happy service given in a perfect atmosphere! Berlin is incredible and we wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy both the incredible city itself as well as the amazing service and beautiful space of Pensione Columbus!!! I would recommend staying here to everyone and any one looking for the best in value & experience in Europe! Noni & Gez

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngmc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthaethwy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I had read glowing reports of this hotel before booking it, and can only agree wholeheartedly with them. I had such a warm welcome and this same warmth was evident throughout my stay. The place was spotless and very comfortable but it was the little extras that made it outstanding. I had forgotten my adapter but it was no problem - I was lent one for the duration. My room had a hairdryer but although this is not true of all rooms, one only has to ask and it will be provided. The breakfast was very good indeed and the home made yogurt excellent as was the homegrown fruit. Being able to help oneself to the fruit during the day was an added bonus, as was the chocolate wafer left on the pillow at night.
Of course, if you like your run of the mill hotel with a lounge and a bar this is not the place for you, but if you are a more discerning visitor then book it.

Room Tip: Not all rooms come with private bath so book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glandwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Pension Funk
Pension Funk
#285 of 634 in Berlin
119 reviews
Charlottenburg
Augusta Hotel
Augusta Hotel
#262 of 634 in Berlin
259 reviews
Charlottenburg
Upper Room Hotel
Upper Room Hotel
#534 of 634 in Berlin
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Kima Hotel
Kima Hotel
#288 of 634 in Berlin
236 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Pension Fasanenhaus
Hotel Pension Fasanenhaus
#358 of 634 in Berlin
77 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel-Pension Savoy near Kurfurstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Columbus

Property: Hotel Pension Columbus
Address: Meinekestr. 5 | Near the Ku'damm, 10719 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Pension Columbus 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pension Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing