We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel'great and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pension Columbus
Ranked #247 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good hotel'great and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

centeraly and superbly located 'effective rooms bwith all necessary amenities.incredibly helpful and freindly owners'good breakfast,great prices.mattresses may be improved.but overall almost couldnt be better

Room Tip: i chose ar oom with shower and toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rozi509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    43
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
39
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed at Hotel Pension Columbus in April and Frau König , the owner of the hotel , was the friendliest host I have ever met. She was very caring and kind. Aside from this friendly environment the hotel is located in the centre of former West Berlin and Kudamm was always very lively. There were many places for shopping and dining. The Zoo station which is 5 minutes away by foot provides many S- and U-Bahns to connect you to other parts of the city. Our room was large enough for two people and quiet at night. The breakfast was great to begin the day. The price was fair. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mert y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We were intrigued by the TripAdvisor reviews of this hotel and chose it for our first visit to Berlin. The hotel is located on the 3rd floor in an old, very well preserved building from the 19th century. The entrance hall and the stairway are exquisitely decorated, do walk the stairs and enjoy the beauty. Our room had a large comfortable double bed, in the adjoining bathroom there was a bathtub with shower and a toilet. Even if the room was not that big, and besides was pretty densely furnished, it felt spacious with its 4.2 m height to the ceiling. The location of the hotel is central, close to the Kurfürstendamm, the nearest U-Bahn and bus stations being within 3-5 min. walk. Many of the rooms like ours face a private courtyard which makes for a nice and quiet environment.
Like many of the other reviewers we were struck by the old-time charm of the hotel, its small surprises in details of décor, furniture, even down to towels. We enjoyed the nice and tasty breakfast, with ingredients that were varied from one day to the next and served in a lovely bright room decorated with lots of flowers. And we felt like special guests being well received and well taken care of by the ever helpful and cheerful hostess, Chris König.
There are lots of restaurants serving good food at reasonable prices near the hotel. We found the Egyptian cuisine of Marooush in Knesebeckstrasse a tasty experience, only a 5 min. walk from the hotel. It is difficult to choose between the several places there are to visit in the neighbourhood. A definite highlight was The Story of Berlin on Ku’damm 207-208, a modern multimedia museum offering a fantastic tour through the 800-year history of Berlin. Another exceptional site is the Kaiser-Wilhelm-Gedächtniskirche, a unique experience of the destruction of war and the human will and desire for reconciliation.
If you are a bit tired of the professional hospitality and slick sameness of the common hotel world and open to a more inventive and interesting visitor environment, you should try Hotel Pension Columbus for your next stay in Berlin.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner courtyard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SolandFro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

This is a smart choice in Berlin. Service is excellent, it seems you're visiting an old friend where you feel comfortable and content. Chris and her husband do know their business : ). The breakfast is generous and you'll find the dinning room a very nice place. Location is also great, you can find all sort of food around, from fast food to local German restaurants, plus tons of shops and souvenirs. Most of the touristic buses stop half a block from the hotel. I did enjoy my stay there and really recommend Pension Columbus.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manuel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff. Staff serving breakfast at table until 11-11.30. Quiet location near uhlandstrasse u-bahn station (3-4 min walk). Room was very big for 2 persons. Big windows and nice old interieur. Slept well, not a sound from traffic or other guests. Shower is placed in the room. WC just outside (3 WC in total). For the price you get great value. I would visit again.

WLAN signal was out of range in our room but worked everywhere else. No biggie..

Helpful?
3 Thank Arvid L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
budapest
Level Contributor
214 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

First of all: I can recommend you to stay in this place.
If you like to be close to the heart of West-Berlin, the Ku'damm, where the best shops are located, good public transportation, quite street, and one of the view lovely buildings from the early of the XIXth century.
The house is kept in nice condition, and the pension (NOT A HOTEL!!) is kept clean, friendly.
I think, that Berlin is overpriced -in general. In other places I would rate this accommodation a bit too expensive - but it is OK for the center of the town here.
All the rooms are different - but not because of the interior art - but because the furnitures were purchased one by one in cheap sources.
The breakfast is as one can expect.
All together: we may stay in this place at our next visit to Berlin

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank handhungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

This is one of the most original hotels we have ever stayed, a place with wonderfully positive atmosphere, personified in the helpful owner. The hotel is small (only some twenty rooms in total) and quiet (other floors of the wonderful building being occupied mostly by offices), all rooms looking quite different. The one we stayed in was spacious - even if excluding the grandious height of four metres. This is the hotel to book we definitely try to book when travelling next time to Berlin.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaakko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel-Pension Savoy near Kurfurstendamm
Charlottenburg
Hotel Pension Fasanenhaus
Hotel Pension Fasanenhaus
#350 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Charlottenburg
Augusta Hotel
Augusta Hotel
#250 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Pension Funk
Pension Funk
#282 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Charlottenburg
Kima Hotel
Kima Hotel
#287 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Charlottenburg
Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm
Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm
#167 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Columbus

Property: Hotel Pension Columbus
Address: Meinekestr. 5 | Near the Ku'damm, 10719 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Pension Columbus 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pension Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing