We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - if the water were warm...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SensCity Hotel Albergo
Ranked #345 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is not your run of the mill franchised hotel, but the owners have succeeded in creating an unique Mediterranean atmosphere, which is very pleasant, both in the restaurant and the rooms. Located at the edge of the city, with easy connection via U3 and U7. The staff is extremely helpful and very friendly. I would have warmly recommended this hotel, if it hand't been for the fact that on my second morning, there was no warm water for the showers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

I was actually pretty shocked at how nice this place was! There is a UBahn station very close by (closer than Google suggested actually, so make sure you look at a map!). We arrived very late at night, but we let them know ahead of time so there was a key waiting for us even though nobody was at the front desk.

There was very little noise to speak of aside from normal street noise. We slept comfortably with the window open with no issues at all. Is it dead quiet like my own neighborhood? No. However, I would say it is certainly quiet enough and given its location, I was quite pleased. The temperature in early September was quite comfortable despite not having AC which had been a concern for us initially.

The rooms are GORGEOUS! Yes parts of it are a little small, but I was shocked at how elegant it was for the price. I've stayed in one star hotels that cost as much as my room did, and boy this is no 1 star hotel that's for sure! The bathroom/shower was nice, but the soaps were kind of "eh", so we ended up buying our own toiletries after we arrived. No big deal though. I actually liked going to a local shop to pick out some German shampoo and such!

We stayed for 4 nights, and every staff member we encountered was very kind and helpful! Excellent English speakers too! One of the front desk staff got us set up with a tourist metro pass that worked out great for us too. Definitely worth it!

The breakfast there was very good at the hotel, but we only ate it once. For our first morning in Berlin it hit the spot with a nice selection of breads and meats. There is a cafe nearby (ParkCafe I think it was called?) which was DIVINE that we frequented for breakfast instead on subsequent days.

We did end up at the hotel restaurant for dinner one night and it was fantastic. I wish they had a little more variety in the way of beers, but other than that I was fully satisfied with the food and the service.

I wish that WiFi service was included in the hotel, but most hotels I looked into in this price range also charged for WiFi so that seems par for the course.

I would absolutely stay here again if I ever find myself back in Berlin!

Room Tip: I read a few reviews with noise-concerns, but I didn't hear a thing from the restaurant downstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pumpahkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The hotel, although advertising free internet in its own description actually charges 6 euros/ day unless you are willing to take breakfast at 10 euro /day. Worse still it does not have the facility to print off documents ie Ryanair, which for me, involved a lengthy trek to a Internet cafe and 6 euro charge to obtain these check in documents. I would suggest that if you decide to have breakfast you visit early as there was so little left ( with no sign of replenishment) that we left and ate elsewhere

To be fair the rooms are exactly as they are pictured and are warm and comfortable and the evening restaurant offers fair/good value for money

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Having read previous reviews I was a little worried about the noise but, hey, what noise. NONE.
While a little way out it is well served by the U Bahn which is just around the corner and a short travel from the centre.
Reception was pleasant, helpful and spoke good English
The room was very clean and well presented in an Italian theme which was quite attractive. Tea and coffee in the room and all facilities which you could want. We had a problem with the safe and a noisy radiator, which both were fixed without delay.
The restaurant was like two very different establishments, breakfast was considered expensive at 10 euro. It was not well presented and scrambled eggs etc. were well past the leave out date, staff were not attentive nor checking the buffet to replace items resulting in shortages (basics like butter) and old dry food. Whereas in the evening it was fine with evening meals that represented good value for money and well presented. Obviously staff do make a difference.
One criticism was the complementary Wi fi. Apparently complementary Wi fi to the hotel means a computer in the foyer that was not working. I consider complementary Wi fi being available to use my own devise in the hotel as I wish. Reluctantly they agreed after a short discussion to give a pass for one connection.(otherwise 6 euro a day) I consider this to be extremely short sighted by the hotel as the cost to them is nil. It spoiled an otherwise overall excellent experience and left a bit of a sour taste.
We booked well in advance and obtained quite a good rate whereas just prior to flying when checking prices they had trebled to about 100 euro p.n.
Overall quite good value if you book in advance.

Room Tip: 4th floor, no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bowwow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The desk staff are very pleasant and accommodating. The room is small but clean. The restaurant waiter was very rude to my wife when she dined there by herself. The worst thing about this hotel is there is no air conditioning and if you open the window you get the very noisy street noise and the even lauder train noise... so if you are looking for a quite place, this would not be it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This hotel is a little way out of the centre of Berln but the S bahn is minutes walk and the U Bahn even closer. if you buy a BVG tourist ticket at 28 Euros per person, you can get anywhere really easily. The taxi from Schonefeld was 38 Euros (May 2012) but we got the train back which was a synch. (You need to be aware that the airport is just outside the 'B' zone so technically we should have paid a little extra for that trip but didn't realise (and the inspector was OK about it).
The hotel was clean and comfortable. We had a complimentry bottle of wine too!
Reception was helpful and breakfast plentiful and didn't disappoint. the highlight was the restaurant which we used every night. The food and service we top notch and good value for money at 50-60 euros or so for 2 including wine.
We were at the front directly above the resaurant on floor 2, and had ZERO problems with any noise from below.The traffic was noisy but didn't concern too much, however I would request a room at the rear if possible.

Room Tip: A room at the back or side would reduce the traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stayed in this hotel several times now, at different prices , but always got good value for money. The roomas are nicly decorated and the breakfast (on the top floor) is very individual. The problems are the noises from th restaurant (open until midnight). I would prefer if they would have a bathtub (only showers available) - but the botel is clean and very conveniently located. Near to the underground /bus system and not far from center.

Overall, a hotel with good athmosphere (apart from the points mentioned)

Room Tip: Try to get room with balcony (1st floor to the) or romms in 3 floor to rear (more quite)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BAC6815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Hotel Villa Konstanz
#295 of 634 in Berlin
61 reviews
Moabit
Hotel Tiergarten
Hotel Tiergarten
#187 of 634 in Berlin
295 reviews
Albergo Hotel Berlin
#390 of 634 in Berlin
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citylight Hotel
#215 of 634 in Berlin
266 reviews
Hotel Brandies
#212 of 634 in Berlin
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SensCity Hotel Albergo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SensCity Hotel Albergo

Address: Hohenzollerndamm 33, 10713 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #345 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £43 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SensCity Hotel Albergo 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small temple of luxury housed in a former cathedral in the heart of Berlin's city center west, just a few minutes from Kurfuerstendamm or Messe Berlin fair grounds.Mediterranean and romantic flair, enlivened by Florentine murals and outstanding design... life can be so sweet in the 3 stars Hotel Albergo Berlin!The charm of the Mediterranean gives Hotel Albergo its special character and can be found in every nook and cranny. Artists from Florence have transformed this unique hotel into a gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your SensCity Hotel Albergo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing