We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hommage a Magritte in Berlin gets mixed up with older place in same building”
Review of Hommage a Magritte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hommage a Magritte
Ranked #2 of 194 Berlin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Mid November I stayed in this really nice small boutique hotel, room 11, that is very reasonably priced. After I recommended it to friends, I got into a weird discussion and it turned out that some pages mix up names and locations with a former place.
The bottom line is, I really recommend this new place right down town Berlin, if you want something personal, clean, neat but artistic - instead of one of these big chain hotels. Its lovely, and gives a unique and special experience to the Berlin trip.

I moved from Berlin to Pittsburgh, PA around 10 years ago and my job brings me 2-4 times a year to Berlin. I really prefer the private atmosphere of family operated boutique hotels and I found my new space in Berlin in the Hommage a Magritte. They just opened that place. Centrally located, with perfect public transportation and in the heart of former West Berlin restaurants, shops coffee places, movie theaters and bars.

For reservations, I found their number under www.hommage-a-magritte.com and just called them for arrangements (from the US 011 - 49.30.89567087, follow up communication was via e mail info@hommage-a-magritte.com

After digging into reports of friends on bad critiques ... the confusion was related to a change of ownership and travelers found reviews that relate to the previous owner and a really different p[lace. The new owner, Aurelia and Roman, renovated from the scratch: new electric, new plumbing, new bathrooms, floors, furnitures, and so on. Tastefully reconstructing the end of 1800's stucko and wood trimmings, while adding new wall paintings and sculptures from an artist. When I was there, they just finished everything and it was a nice crew and atmosphere.

Room Tip: ask for the room with the extra winter garden terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jorg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2013

We absolutely loved our stay here while we were in Berlin three weeks ago! The location is great, the hotel is located in an old
bourgeois building situated in a quiet side street of Kurfuerstendamm, two steps from well-known Keiser-Wilhelm Memorial
Church and Zoo Railway Station. We exchanged mails with the owner and made our reservation two weeks before our arrival,
so when we came, it was like visiting old friends. What a wonderful recovery from an impersonal world of atomically processed
online bookings!

It's evident that the owners put a lot of love and passion into every detail of this small and charming guest house. I never saw
an hotel like that, not in this moderate price category. Custom made furniture, surrealistic murals in every room, impressive
breakfast with organic food. It is not allowed to smoke in the rooms, but if you have to, you can ask for a room with a balcony.
The next time I certainly will!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: ....alle Zimmer sind auf ihre Art nett aber es gibt auch Zimmer mit wunderschöne Wintergärten....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanirundumdieWelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roman S, Inhaber at Hommage a Magritte, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank reiseneugierig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roman S, Inhaber at Hommage a Magritte, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dare_bern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roman S, Owner at Hommage a Magritte, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank romildat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roman S, Inhaber at Hommage a Magritte, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mail388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roman S, Inhaber at Hommage a Magritte, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,961 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Q!
Hotel Q!
#9 of 634 in Berlin
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
mittendrin
mittendrin
#4 of 194 in Berlin
323 reviews
Mitte
CALMA Berlin Mitte
CALMA Berlin Mitte
#5 of 194 in Berlin
395 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pension Peters
Pension Peters
#7 of 194 in Berlin
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hommage a Magritte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hommage a Magritte

Address: Grolmanstr. 32-33, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range: £60 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hommage a Magritte 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A serene and small hotel dedicated to the spirit of René Magritte and the poetic aesthetics of surrealism. Family-run, assessable and welcoming. Located in a side street of the well-known Kurfürstendamm, just a few steps away from the legendary Savignyplatz, in a quiet area with many small cafes, art galleries and family-run shops. Every room has its own bathroom, comfortable box-spring bed and a TV set. The rooms are designed differently, but equally well equipped. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing