We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sheer perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hommage a Magritte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hommage a Magritte
Ranked #2 of 187 Berlin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cracow Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sheer perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

The few days spent at Hommage a Magritte, convinced me that if a host really respects his guests and his wholeheartedly committed to his ideals, success will come his way. This is not luxury, this is art with a friendly face, simplicity, tranquility and imagination under one roof close to anywhere and everywhere is acessible in a european metropolis. There is also this feeling of a willingness to help at all cost from the owners. I travell a lot, I,ve been to North America, the Caribbean, Amsterdam, the Hague in the last 12 mths. And the winner is Berlin, why ? because of Magritte. By the way, for jogging enthusiasts, it's a stones throw from Tiergarten. Thanks for the breakfast, everthing sooo fresh. I'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    51
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
154
29
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Back to the old good times.

A hidden gem at the best possible location: just two steps away from the famous Kurfuerstendamm. Definitely one of the most charming hotels that I've ever stayed in. For me it was like a journey in the lost past times, when guests were still guests and not only marketing targets of travel industry. Situated in an old building but completely refurbished and moderinzed inside. Everything - the design, the location, the breakfast - everything was in my opinion perfect and I couldn't have wished to make a better choice.

Hommage is a family operated business so you can expect that the owner will take care of you and your needs. The hotel is very clean and suitable for people with allergies: there are no carpets in guest rooms and the pets are not allowed.

The room itself was bright, had stucco ceiling and surrealistic artwork painted directly on the the wall (Hommage is a Magritte-themed hotel), My bed was large and comfortable, the modern bathroom was smaller, but sufficient.

In summary: a very good value for the money. I can recommend this hotel to individual travellers looking for unforgettable moments and convenient location.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piotr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznań
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

We were absolutely charmed by this place. A delight for any art lover - every room is beautifully decorated with frescos based on Rene Magritte's paintings. The atmosphere was very friendly, the service efficient and flawless, the breakfast tasty and generous. The location is perfect, in a quiet street right next to Kurfursterdamm. Fast and reliable free Wifi connection in the whole hotel. Good value for money. Convenient car park nearby. Great shopping and dining opportunities within walking distance. We strongly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Berlin.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michal_Babilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmagritte, Owner at Hommage a Magritte, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear Michal Babilas,

thank you for your kind review - my wife and me really appreciate it. We are looking forward for your next visit! And do not forget: Deutsche Oper is in spring only a walk away, the next time there will be no need to take a cab to get there.
Yours Sincerely
Roman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Superb service, the owners are extremely welcoming and friendly. The hotel is situated right in the heart of Berlin, with many galleries and restaurants around the area. Beautiful mural illustrations add artistic value to the hotel. The place provided quiet, peaceful atmosphere that let us relax and get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmagritte, Owner at Hommage a Magritte, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hommage à Magritte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Mid November I stayed in this really nice small boutique hotel, room 11, that is very reasonably priced. After I recommended it to friends, I got into a weird discussion and it turned out that some pages mix up names and locations with a former place.
The bottom line is, I really recommend this new place right down town Berlin, if you want something personal, clean, neat but artistic - instead of one of these big chain hotels. Its lovely, and gives a unique and special experience to the Berlin trip.

I moved from Berlin to Pittsburgh, PA around 10 years ago and my job brings me 2-4 times a year to Berlin. I really prefer the private atmosphere of family operated boutique hotels and I found my new space in Berlin in the Hommage a Magritte. They just opened that place. Centrally located, with perfect public transportation and in the heart of former West Berlin restaurants, shops coffee places, movie theaters and bars.

For reservations, I found their number under www.hommage-a-magritte.com and just called them for arrangements (from the US 011 - 49.30.89567087, follow up communication was via e mail info@hommage-a-magritte.com

After digging into reports of friends on bad critiques ... the confusion was related to a change of ownership and travelers found reviews that relate to the previous owner and a really different p[lace. The new owner, Aurelia and Roman, renovated from the scratch: new electric, new plumbing, new bathrooms, floors, furnitures, and so on. Tastefully reconstructing the end of 1800's stucko and wood trimmings, while adding new wall paintings and sculptures from an artist. When I was there, they just finished everything and it was a nice crew and atmosphere.

Room Tip: ask for the room with the extra winter garden terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jorg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

We absolutely loved our stay here while we were in Berlin three weeks ago! The location is great, the hotel is located in an old
bourgeois building situated in a quiet side street of Kurfuerstendamm, two steps from well-known Keiser-Wilhelm Memorial
Church and Zoo Railway Station. We exchanged mails with the owner and made our reservation two weeks before our arrival,
so when we came, it was like visiting old friends. What a wonderful recovery from an impersonal world of atomically processed
online bookings!

It's evident that the owners put a lot of love and passion into every detail of this small and charming guest house. I never saw
an hotel like that, not in this moderate price category. Custom made furniture, surrealistic murals in every room, impressive
breakfast with organic food. It is not allowed to smoke in the rooms, but if you have to, you can ask for a room with a balcony.
The next time I certainly will!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel Q!
Hotel Q!
#13 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#5 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#8 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hommage a Magritte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hommage a Magritte

Property: Hommage a Magritte
Address: Grolmanstr. 32-33, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hommage a Magritte 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A serene and small hotel dedicated to the spirit of René Magritte and the poetic aesthetics of surrealism. Family-run, assessable and welcoming. Located in a side street of the well-known Kurfürstendamm, just a few steps away from the legendary Savignyplatz, in a quiet area with many small cafes, art galleries and family-run shops. Every room has its own bathroom, comfortable box-spring bed and a TV set. The rooms are designed differently, but equally well equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hommage a Magritte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing