We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hommage a Magritte
Ranked #2 of 193 Berlin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Dear Roman & Aurelia !

Thank you so much for the lovely accommodation at the Hommage a Magritte! I enjoyed my stay for 6 nights in your beautiful city during the Berlin fashion week and appreciate all the help and advise you provided each day to make it count.

Thanks to Aurelia for taking me on the tour of her beautiful B&B the 2nd day morning and allowing me to upgrade to a larger room (no 17) which was great for my business visit intended.

It is a great base to explore Berlin with both S and U line stations within 5 minutes walk from the B&B and an abundance of great cafes and restaurants in the immediate vicinity.

The stay was made extra special by Roman suggesting me patiently in the evenings to go and explore the world cuisine from German/ Italian / Austrian & Vietnamese joints.

After my long days at the fair, the evenings were made pleasant by his suggestions with a round of coffee at his dining place.

A very nice touch of Hospitality and the treatment as a family member, do makes me feel like returning to them ever and staying at their beautiful B&B.

I wish you much success with the B&B. If i ever come to Berlin, i will love to stay with you again.

Cheers !

Very Warm Rgds,

Mukesh Berry

Room Tip: I stayed at Room 17 and its a great room. However all rooms are at the same floor, and the entire pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MukeshSurabhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

This place is the best. The location is perfect. The art on the walls is incredible, it makes your stay perfectly relaxing. The rooms are perfect, yes the showers are interesting, but thats what makes good memories…Roman and his wife, the owners, treat you like a close family friend. All hotels- B&B's should be run with the same manner of professionalism, friendliness, and helpfulness as you will find here. My wife and I will never forget our time in Berlin because of Roman and his wonderful B&B. If you find yourself in Berlin you owe it to yourself to stay here…Look no further……..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Where2Nowtogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I am an avid Trip Advisor researcher and spend weeks surfing the site before I decide on a hotel that best suits myself and my husband. Even with all of this research I normally have something that could have been better but not this time and these are the reasons why:
1. Booking easy such prompt replies from Roman. He answered all of my questions and booked my restaurants for me. Also recommended New Year dinner and organised this.
2. Location absolutely superb, so near the S Bahn at Savignyplast, bus to and from airport bottom of the street. We used s bahn all week just so efficient, safe and clean. The area is a mix of upmarket beautiful shops, mixed with quirky little boutiques, pubs and family restaurants. We had excellent food and all within five minutes walking.
3. Owners always friendly and helpful but leave you to just explore their lovely city.
4. Room beautifully decorated, comfortable bed and quality bedding. Sparkling water lovely each day.
5. Breakfast - we looked forward to each day as coffee high quality and I am fussy. Lovely breads, cheeses, fruit, smoked salmon. A ll very good quality.
Art was lovely too. If like me you want very high quality accommodation that is friendly in a gorgeous setting, close to sights and availability of delicious food and beer close by choose Hommage de Magritte. Please look at my other contributions for restaurant reviews.

Room Tip: Room 8 excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We had a fabulous stay at Hommage a Magritte. It is located on quiet street in a very nice neighborhood. Roman was extremely helpful with suggestions on what to do and where to go. He recommended really good restaurants within walking distance, too.
The bedrooms are spotless and the paintings are fabulous! Roman and Aurelia serve a nice breakfast daily.
We are so glad that we found this 'piece of art' on TripAdvisor!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tietjens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I traveled to Berlin in Nov to attend a conference. i decided to stay at Hommage after seeing the amazing reviews on trip advisor. and I must say that Hommage did not disappoint. One of the best things among many about Hommage is the location. it is located very close to S bahn station (savgnyplatz) and also the U bahn. so very centrally located. lots of cafe's and places to eat all around.
the B and B is very clean and tastefully done. although my room could have been slightly bigger but the tall ceiling and the lovely windows made up for it. i did miss a cupboard at times but I managed.
the hosts are very warm and help full. they do their best to make the stay comfortable.
All in all a very good experience. would recommend very highly if you get a bigger room. the small rooms are slightly small, especially if you are fond of enjoying your room.

Room Tip: Try and stay in the larger rooms if you are fond of spending time in your room. The room facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hemant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This is a great small quiet boutique hotel located in the Charlottenburg area of Berlin.
The hotel is clean, smart and artistic --with Magritte painting on the walls as well as examples of his work on the walls, doors and corridors
The hotel has very helpful staff and the breakfasts are superb -typically German
The staff gave us excellent advice on where to eat and where to visit
The bedroom, overlooked the garden area behind the building and was very comfortable and quiet
The main shopping area for Kurfurstendamm with the famous KaDeWe store is at the end of the street on which the hotel is located.
At the other end of Grolmanstrasse is the S-Bahn station which takes you into the city in 5 mins (purchase the tourist travel pass)
There are many restaurants in the vicinity within a 5 minute walk and the ones which we visited were really first class
Our visit to Berlin was made so much more enjoyable by staying at the Hommage a Magritte

Room Tip: We chose room 12 which is at the back and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayEmploymentEnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Hommage a Magritte – Bed and breakfast hotel in Berlin.

Neighborhood: Charlottenberg



We stayed at Hotel Magritte the last week of September in 2013.

The hotel is conveniently located to the U-Bahn, S-Bahn and buses.

The breakfast is excellent – yogurt, fresh fruit and cereal every morning,
croissants and tasty whole grain breads, smoked salmon and other meats, sliced cheeses, and tomatoes and cucumbers, which enabled us to fuel our days of sightseeing.

The staff, especially Roman, was always helpful in answering all kinds of questions regarding how to get places, good restaurants and more. Our rooms were quiet and comfortable, and beautifully decorated with original surrealist paintings.

After returning from Berlin I visited the Magritte exhibit at New York’s Museum of Modern Art (MOMA) and realized that the paintings at Hotel Magritte were authentically in the spirit of Magritte – the whimsical and lyrical side of Magritte, without the darker side. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay – and if we could have, we would have stayed longer.


Cecile and Tony Rohling

NYC residents

Room Tip: Ask about the shower in the room. Some bathrooms were designed with a barrier that only covers a por...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,938 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Charlottenburg
Goodman's Living
Goodman's Living
#5 of 193 in Berlin
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
mittendrin
mittendrin
#4 of 193 in Berlin
321 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pension Peters
Pension Peters
#7 of 193 in Berlin
309 reviews
Mitte
CALMA Berlin Mitte
CALMA Berlin Mitte
#6 of 193 in Berlin
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hommage a Magritte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hommage a Magritte

Address: Grolmanstr. 32-33, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range: £69 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hommage a Magritte 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A serene and small hotel dedicated to the spirit of René Magritte and the poetic aesthetics of surrealism. Family-run, assessable and welcoming. Located in a side street of the well-known Kurfürstendamm, just a few steps away from the legendary Savignyplatz, in a quiet area with many small cafes, art galleries and family-run shops. Every room has its own bathroom, comfortable box-spring bed and a TV set. The rooms are designed differently, but equally well equipped. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing