We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for childs as well”
Review of Hotel OTTO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel OTTO
Ranked #16 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We spent two nights in this hotel during beginning of July and we're very pleased so I decided to share my experience to others.

Also we're not able to find such hotel like this without Tripadvisor (especially mobile version with geo-location support), which truly saved our holiday in Berlin!! Thanks for that. Five stars goes to Tripadvisor.

Actual hotel was renewed only one year ago and it was visible everywhere. All furnitures and WC were shiny new in superior room we visited. Downsides were known since there was already good amount of information available e.g. in Tripadvisor about the place. For instance we knew that there was no air condition in rooms which was one reason for not giving full fives.

Reception was small but practical and we didn't face any issues there. One may need to take into account that reception is not always manned but for us it was not any issue. When ever service was required there was people available for us.

Restaurant is on seventh floor and it was very nice with balcony where one was able to sit and relax having view over the roofs of west Berlin.
Also refreshments were told to be free even we didn't try those for reason or another.
Special note goes for breakfast that was fabulous indeed. It costs 15 € / person but it was totally worth it. It is hard to find such good breakfast nowadays containing: fresh berries, fruits, normal bread & butter but then also good sortiment of juices and sweets. All was perfect.
Also another special thanks goes to personnel working in restaurant. Those were very kind especially towards childs.
For record there are also lots of Italian restaurants nearby which offer very good food with decent price tag. Also breakfast is served by local coffee shops so hotel one is not only option.

For some reason building has lift that travel to mid-floors and one need to carry luggages to either 1/2 floor up or down. Maybe it was because the building is normal apartment house?

Very good hotel and very much recommended one for all kind of traveling. For sure we will consider this also for our next trip to Berlin.

Room Tip: Book superior room having good amount of living space and "french" balcony towards street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_Rock_FIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 1,259 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

For our first trip to Berlin, Otto epitomized all the spirit of this cool, vibrant, modern city. Located on a quiet street in a popular neighborhood, close to the famous Ku'damm shopping area, with a variety of restaurants, cafes and bars, within easy access of Berlin landmarks. Design is fun, modern, contemporary. Lovely terrace for breakfast or relaxation after a long day. One thing worth mentioning though is the lack of air conditioning, which, on hot summer days/nights, could make the rooms quite stuffy, even with open windows.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1001night
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Having read TripAdvisor reviews, we changed our 2-night booking from a more expensive luxury hotel in Berlin to the Otto which was a more convenient location for our purposes and were not in the least disappointed. Our room was spacious, well-appointed and with a fresh contemporary ambience, and the quality of the breakfast (taken on the rooftop terrace) was exceptional with a full range of really healthy options. An added convenience was that coffee, tea, juice, and snacks were always available at any time of the day for no added charge in the restaurant. All in all, a quality hotel offering excellent value for money in a convenient and relaxing location in Charlottenburg. We found no difficulty walking from the hotel to all the venues we had planned to see (including an evening opera performance at the Deutsche Oper, and a day at the zoo and the Tiergarten), although I would add that we are keen walkers and prefer to see cities on foot. Nearby or relatively close there are some excellent restaurants, including the famous Marjellchen for authentic Prussian cuisine (also recommended!).

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed for 6 nights . Liked the location very much as we were close to the ubahn and the
Sbahn. Many nice places to eat near by. The first night we found the standard double just
too small. We moved to a larger room and were much happier. One negative was when
we found out that they don't have anyone on the front desk after 11PM. It made us a little nervous. Also, the beds were slightly narrow, particularly when set up as singles. We had laundry done there and the service was very satisfactory.

Room Tip: Recommend a front room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarthaAshland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Very pleasant and helpful staff (e.g., I managed to mess up the lock to the in-room safe after hours: help was on the way in less than 10 minutes).

The lack of A/C was not an issue as the weather was not hot - and A/Cs don't seem to be as prevalent in small German hotels as elsewhere.

We stayed for three nights in a ground floor room, had no problems with soundproofing. In the corner there is an excellent bakery where we had breakfast every day.

The neighborhood - Savignyplatz - is extremely pleasant, full of restaurants, and very well connected to other points in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2_out_of_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in June 2012 in a basic room at the first floor. Plus: very friendly service, clean and comfortable room, excellent breakfast, nice neighbourhood, good public transport connections. Minus: no airconditoning (ventilator was available), not very good sound insulation. Summary: very good value for your money. I will definetely stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mr1darcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Gerd M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,887 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Q!
Hotel Q!
#10 of 635 in Berlin
1,268 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Louisa's Place
#4 of 635 in Berlin
630 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 635 in Berlin
2,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel OTTO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel OTTO

Address: Knesebeckstrasse 10, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Berlin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#14 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £78 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel OTTO 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our privately run Hotel OTTO is only minutes away from the famous Kurfurstendamm. Surrounded by theatres, museums, restaurant, bars and boutiques it is the ideal starting point to explore Germany's pulsating capital. For short trips as well as business. 46 Rooms and studios offer you functional design and highest comfort. Greet the day in the breakfast lounge "Etage07" with an extraordinary view over the rooftops of Berlin. Our very favourite place: the sundeck! Our Hotel OTTO is only minutes away by taxi from the Berlin convention centre. The Undergound Station (Ernst-Reuter-Platz), the S-Bahn Station (Savignyplatz) and several busses are only minutes of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel OTTO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otto Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing