We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Boutique Hotel”
Review of Hotel OTTO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel OTTO
Ranked #17 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Modern, Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hotel OTTO is one of the nicer hotels we've stayed in in a long time and it was well worth it. The staff was so friendly and the perks of free mineral water and complimentary cake and coffee every afternoon was fun. Our room was large by European standards and the beds were very comfortable. They even have bikes available to rent for 10 EUR/day, which seems to be the going rate around town, but with the added convenience of being able to start your day from the hotel. The location is in a very pretty part of Charlottenburg really close to the S-bahn and just a short walk to the U-bahn. I do agree with other reviews that this may not be the right hotel for July/August because there is no A/C and it was already just a tad warm in our room at the beginning of June. Though with the window open at night, we were fine. There was also a fan provided if we had needed it.

Room Tip: Request a room on the front of the building and/or a higher floor, as the rooms on the back of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylin_Pieper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemarie O, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel OTTO, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Kylin,

I am happy you enjoyed your cycling tour through Berlin. You are right – Charlottenburg is a nice district to explore by bike, as it offers many bike lanes, e.g. through the Tiergarten. As well, you are free on where you want to go, without considering public transportation.

So I hope to see you soon again at Hotel OTTO.

Best regards,
Annemarie Ohrt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    376
    40
    13
    2
See reviews for
307
409
122
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

3 friends and myself visited Hotel Otto earlier this month and it was fantastic. The hotel it's self and it's location were perfect however the rooms were extremely hot and the fans provided didn't ease the heat. However as a whole the hotel was perfect!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bethan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Modern hotel in good location. Within walking distance of a variety of restaurants. Short walk to U2 underground line that takes you to most of the main tourist sites. Tea/coffee, cakes and fruit available free on rooftop terrace from 1600 each day. Good breakfast. Spacious room with settee, chair and walk-in wardrobe. Nice and quiet at night.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BCD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Overall thought the hotel was good, however it doesn't have air conditioning . The weather was sitting on 29 and our room was in the sun. We had to leave our balcony door open and then got the noise from the car park. The breakfast is on the top floor and at 9.00 am it's like a sauna.
Consider the weather !

Room Tip: Go for lower level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooresroncathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemarie O, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel OTTO, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear guest,

I am very sorry for the inconvenience you experienced because of the heat.

We decided consciously against air conditioning due to constructional and health reasons. As an alternative, we offer fans in the rooms, free water as much as you want, ice cubes as well as ice cream free of charge during your stay. We would be pleased to welcome you another time at Hotel OTTO, maybe in autumn?!

Best regards,

Annemarie Ohrt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

German hotels often lack a degree of pragmatism, and are run by people who fail to set the right priorities. In a very refreshing way, this happens to be not the case at the Hotel Otto. This is a rather classy and pragmatically run hotel in a good location in the West centre of Berlin. Don't expect any flying colours, but it is clear that a brain cell or two has been involved when cooking up the scheme of this place. I enjoyed my stay here (even if the hotel was slightly overpriced).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karlkoreander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemarie O, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel OTTO, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Karl,
Many thanks for your great praise on our service. We thoroughly enjoyed reading your feedback on our pragmatic feature and hope to see you soon again at Hotel OTTO.
Best regards,
Annemarie Ohrt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here in a comfort room together with our 12 year old son; the comfort room was very spacious, clean, beds very comfortable. Our room was facing the front road however noise is no problem as it's a quiet, lovely road - I would however say that the room gets the full sun from very early morning - this was fine for us at the end of May/beginning of June when outside temperatures didn't get above 20 degrees however the room was early really warm in the morning so I would fear for the summer.... The was a fan in the room but no A/C. The breakfast buffet is simply amazing and the breakfast staff was great, too - nothing was too much - moving tables, palm trees (on the lovely roof terrace!) - anything was possible! Front desk staff was also great, very helpful and friendly. The area around the hotel is a culinary heaven - you have the choice of at least 20 restaurants within 5 mintues walking. Good SBahn and UBahn connection too. So overall brilliant - not cheap but well worth it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katja23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed here in a "comfort room" for 4 nights on a first trip to not only Berlin, but Germany -- could not be more pleased. Lovely hotel with great customer service, and in a beautiful location. I would definitely stay here again and plan to! Rooms are very clean, the front desk staff is exceptional, and although expensive, the breakfast is wonderful and with a killer view. We took the bus or train everywhere! The express bus to Tegel or Hauptbahnhof is very close, and you can get your tickets here also. Walking distance to so many sights to see! Catch a boat tour at the Schloss! The French restaurant across the street is wonderful, and there are many, many options nearby. It warmed up while we were there, and we were very grateful for wide open windows and the fan! Little touches like mineral water in the room and whimsical hallway decorations seal the deal. Vielen Dank! Auf wiedersehen!!

Room Tip: There is an elevator, so pick a higher floor to get away from street noise -- not so much traffic as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteffieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,751 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Q!
Hotel Q!
#12 of 634 in Berlin
1,245 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Louisa's Place
#4 of 634 in Berlin
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel OTTO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel OTTO

Property: Hotel OTTO
Address: Knesebeckstrasse 10, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Berlin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#14 Family Hotel in Berlin
#62 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel OTTO 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our privately run Hotel OTTO is only minutes away from the famous Kurfurstendamm. Surrounded by theatres, museums, restaurant, bars and boutiques it is the ideal starting point to explore Germany's pulsating capital. For short trips as well as business. 46 Rooms and studios offer you functional design and highest comfort. Greet the day in the breakfast lounge "Etage07" with an extraordinary view over the rooftops of Berlin. Our very favourite place: the sundeck! Our Hotel OTTO is only minutes away by taxi from the Berlin convention centre. The Undergound Station (Ernst-Reuter-Platz), the S-Bahn Station (Savignyplatz) and several busses are only minutes of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel OTTO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otto Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing