We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money”
Review of Hotel Majestic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Majestic
Ranked #556 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
London, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The hotel was a great two star hotel. The room was clean and fresh (not old, stale and manky). They had a newly remodelled bathroom which was pleasant to be In. The breakfast in the morning was fair. Overall, I thought it was a good stay for the money. Don't come expecting a boutique hotel and you'll like it too!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0bbieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    49
    44
    19
    41
See reviews for
21
71
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We were given a weekend in Berlin that had a choice between this hotel and another in Mitte. After researching, I booked this hotel on the basis of the TripAdvisor reviews believing that between those and the pictures on both TripAdvisor and the travel agency website we would be ok staying here. We thought we would be staying at a hotel that was a basic pension style hotel - clean and simple, but customer friendly. The proximity to the metro eventually sold us on the hotel and we made a booking. What a mistake!

On arrival our first misgivings set in when we were greeted with what seemed like a Fawlty Towers sketch from the receptionist, except he wasn't joking and it wasn't a sketch! He seemed incredibly eager to return to the computer in the backroom behind the reception to whatever he may have been doing and after a rudimentary explanation of the breakfast and where our room was he left us to it. The overwhelming impression was that we were wasting his time.

We had a room on the fourth floor. Other than having a bleak, bare and miserable aspect, our room was dirty, the lights didn't work, the tap in the bathroom didn't work, there were wires hanging from the ceiling light fitting, the cupboard was broken (shelves laying in the bottom of the cupboard) the bath was dirty and the laminate flooring was peeling. The taps hadn't been run for a very long time and the water when it finally exited the tap was deep brown and full of muck. To say that the room had an Eastern Bloc ambiance about it would be complimentary.

The breakfast was very disappointing. I hadn't known it was possible to completely mess up a breakfast until I stayed here. Curled up frankfurters, weak warm coffee, dried out cold bread, sad looking fruit, the whole works! The lady serving the breakfast was also incredibly unhelpful.

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, including in the Third World and my boyfriend rates it as his personal worst, including from his extensive experience of hostels all over Europe and in Eastern Europe.

We checked out after one night and moved elsewhere, abandoning the extra nights we had paid for. A 88 euros per night I didn't think this was a cheap hotel and especially not for what we got. This is not a hotel, it is a low grade hostel. The nightly rate should be about 10 euros a night.

Do yourself a favour and DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AshinAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We arrived not expecting much (given the price) but were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are very basic but large and clean, and the bed and pillows were comfortable. With restaurants along the street, a laundromat and supermarket behind and the train station across the road it was well located. The hotel staff are friendly with a bar downstairs. Breakfast was ok but coffee lovely. The lift only goes to the fourth floor so if you are on the fifth, prepare to carry bags up stairs.

Room Tip: Try to get 4th floor down
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shilo-ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

This place was good for us. The breakfast was great with a selection of meat, cheese, bread, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, eggs, bacon, tea, coffee & delicious hot chocolate. Its close to the Underground, which will get you anywhere you wish to go easily. The beds were uncomfortable, but after moving the slats into the right place, they were ok. Some of the staff we spoke to at the reception desk, didn't understand english very well, but we got by ok.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Hotel Majestic is located well for Kurfurstendamm (a posh shopping district with top class brands). Walking distance to "The Story of Berlin" museum - a must! (on Kurfurstendamm)
Very near to Xantener Eck, which is an authentic German restaurant and pub (we ate here alot - good food, staff and beer).
It is steps away from the underground (U-Bahn) which gives good access to all of Berlin.
The hotel has a bar that serves late and is popular (cannot be heard from your room though).
There is a good choice of food at breakfast, hot and cold.
Contrary to other reviews there are shower screens.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheQuailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Basic hotel but it wasnt bad. I got on with the English guy who worked behind the desk but not really with the Germans. Sometimes you can hear the traffic in the early morning but it wasnt really a problem... Great location, underground station right by the hotel.. drinks are pretty cheap there aswell, 4 Euro for vodka and coke, 3 Euro for lager i think.. I would go there again in a few years.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Location perfect but... We found the staff very unhelpful and unfriendly. The shower curtain was too short so the floor was flooded. Breakfast was good but again staff were not very welcoming,clearing the table while we were finishing our coffee.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank usus12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Europa City Hotel
#397 of 635 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Charlottenburg
Kima Hotel
Kima Hotel
#285 of 635 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel-Pension Rheingold
#469 of 635 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Mitte
Arte Luise Kunsthotel
Arte Luise Kunsthotel
#200 of 635 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Louisa's Place
#5 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic

Property: Hotel Majestic
Address: Brandenburgische Str. 47, 10707 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #556 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Majestic 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing